ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 169 votes, 4.84 average. Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 03:49 PM   #6736
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drif10 View Post
Found a weird glitch, maybe emmbeedee can duplicate it.

Was east bound on the 417 out of Renfrew heading to Alexandria. So, 417E through Ottawa. Used to a Garmin giving directions to stay on 417 @ 416, and on 417 at the split.

It did that. But it also had me jumping off at Metcalfe, then back on.

Next time you're through there Mike, see what yours does.
Which map? Likely City Nav? Were you using Shorter Distance or Faster Time in your routing option?

I have to go through there on Tuesday so I'll give it a try.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:44 PM   #6737
Drif10
Accredited Jackass
 
Drif10's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Gates of Moscow
Oddometer: 45,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
Which map? Likely City Nav? Were you using Shorter Distance or Faster Time in your routing option?

I have to go through there on Tuesday so I'll give it a try.
Latest citynav, faster time.

Wasn't like I needed the navaid, was just using for eta, so I didn't really notice what it was doing until the turn directions popped up at Bronson.
__________________
I guess your get up and go needs a coffee. - Drif5
Drif10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:49 PM   #6738
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drif10 View Post
Wasn't like I needed the navaid, was just using for eta, so I didn't really notice what it was doing until the turn directions popped up at Bronson.
I do that too, navigating with the gps when I already know the best route. I find I get a better understanding of if/how it works, and if I can trust it or not.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:54 PM   #6739
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
These RAM parts might be useful to mount the Rugged Mount base on a dash where you don't have access to the other side or if your gps vibrates on your bike: RAM Mari-nuts



I just noticed them in the "New stuff from RAM" section of GPSCity.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 05:12 PM   #6740
Bli55
-
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Казань
Oddometer: 343
Try to buy well nuts.

Bli55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 05:15 PM   #6741
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bli55 View Post
Try to buy well nuts.

I knew I saw those Mari-nuts somewhere before, just didn't remember what they're called outside the RAM world.

Wellnuts. Thanks for the reminder.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:13 AM   #6742
BogeyMan
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BogeyMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Sac-o'-tomatoes, CA
Oddometer: 428
Screen calibration issue?

I noticed this weekend that my Montana 650 wasn't quite "right" - so I [tried to] perform a screen calibration [Setup/Display/Screen Calibration].

Now I get stuck in what appears to be an infinite loop, with the last step being a horizontal line across the bottom of the screen (regardless of orientation) with no dot to press, then it loops back to the start...

I've tried this both from the menu and a power-on reset.

Anyone else?
__________________
'06 BMW R1200GS - '11 Husaberg FE570S - http://photos.boggis.com
BogeyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:41 AM   #6743
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyMan View Post
I noticed this weekend that my Montana 650 wasn't quite "right" - so I [tried to] perform a screen calibration [Setup/Display/Screen Calibration].

Now I get stuck in what appears to be an infinite loop, with the last step being a horizontal line across the bottom of the screen (regardless of orientation) with no dot to press, then it loops back to the start...

I've tried this both from the menu and a power-on reset.

Anyone else?
Calibration issues have not been heard of much recently. Is yours an early unit? I'd call Garmin asap if I was you.

Phone Numbers

US: 913-397-8200
US Toll Free: 1-800-800-1020
Canada: 1-866-429-9296
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:01 AM   #6744
atlas cached
OX Ambassador
 
atlas cached's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyMan View Post
I noticed this weekend that my Montana 650 wasn't quite "right" - so I [tried to] perform a screen calibration [Setup/Display/Screen Calibration].

Now I get stuck in what appears to be an infinite loop, with the last step being a horizontal line across the bottom of the screen (regardless of orientation) with no dot to press, then it loops back to the start...

I've tried this both from the menu and a power-on reset.

Anyone else?
Yes, as MBD suggest, call Garmin!

Also, if you can, take a photo with your smartphone etc and post here so we can see what the screen look slike when this happens?

Thank You!
atlas cached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:04 AM   #6745
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_PDX View Post
What am I missing that is causing you, or anyone else, to be limited to 650 km?
Its not the mileage, but the 50 via point limit.

Check to see if your route is under 50 via points.

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:19 AM   #6746
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 665
Yeah. I just plugged in Fairbanks AK from my house and got a route after about 4 minutes of "calculating" Looks like I can be there in a tick over 64 hours.

That route is about 4100 miles. No waypoints just using "where to"
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:37 AM   #6747
Navy Chief
Beastly Adventurer
 
Navy Chief's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Oddometer: 1,351
Okay I know I have seen this someplace in this thread but the wonderful search here will not let me search for the terms I need and I don't want to re-read 450 pages of stuff....

What are the pros and cons for installing City Navigator to internal memory vs on external SD card?
Navy Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:39 AM   #6748
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 665
None that I can think of other than if your maps are loaded on the SD card and there is something hinky with the maps that causes the unit not to boot you can always remove the SD card and reboot without the hinky map data.



That's one fine run-on sentence.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:04 PM   #6749
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navy Chief View Post
What are the pros and cons for installing City Navigator to internal memory vs on external SD card?
I have a Montana 600 and a eTrex 20 and got CNNA on a uSD card so I can use it on either device without the need to purchase CNNA twice.
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:17 PM   #6750
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
Its not the mileage, but the 50 via point limit.

Check to see if your route is under 50 via points.

daryl
My unit won't even allow you to navigate the route if it has more then 50 via points. You can look at it on the map, but you don't get the GO button.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014