ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 08:59 PM   #1
natapoc OP
Adventurer
 
natapoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Marysville wa
Oddometer: 17
Question topo 24k in mapsource

had my laptop repaired. had to reload mapsource city nav old topo and new topo 24k. cant view all maps in mapsource like was able to before what am I missing? all my route files were saved but cannot view in mapsource because it doesnt see the 24k maps.
please help I have been searching but cannot find any info.
mapsource ver 6.13.7
natapoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:03 AM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,877
Does 24K require an unlock code?
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:27 AM   #3
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 652
6.13.7 can't render the newer Garmin products unless they're reverse converted. Is 24K one of them? I don't think any current Garmin maps are useable without an unlock code.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:41 AM   #4
RxZ
Legal Drug Dealer
 
RxZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Tyler, TX
Oddometer: 1,856
Is the saved map data in the correct file location? I ask since it sounds like you backed it up prior to the repair, did you move the files back to the folder where Mapsource is looking?
__________________
2002 Yamaha FZ1
RxZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:25 PM   #5
natapoc OP
Adventurer
 
natapoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Marysville wa
Oddometer: 17
the 24k topo maps do not show up in the drop down menu were you select which map to display in mapsource. I was able to use the 24k topo maps before as I have lots of routes that made using mapsource and 24k maps.
natapoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:37 PM   #6
Cannonshot
Having a Nice Time
 
Cannonshot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE Wisconsin
Oddometer: 19,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
6.13.7 can't render the newer Garmin products unless they're reverse converted. Is 24K one of them? I don't think any current Garmin maps are useable without an unlock code.
I just installed Garmin Topo 2013 (100K - copyright 2012). It unlocks to one unit. It showed up fine in MapSource and in BaseCamp. Standard install from the DVD.

By the way they tuned up the roads and POIs a bit. More accurate.
__________________
Cannonshot.net
Cannonshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:14 PM   #7
97wing
Wimpy Adventurer
 
97wing's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Southeast US of A
Oddometer: 64
Did you run the install from the Topo DVD or just move the files? I would reinstall from the DVD.

In Mapsource, click Utilities, Manage Map Products. If it is not listed there, it needs to be reinstalled.

You might have to use MapSetToolKit to correct the problem.
__________________
Steve in Miss-sippy
97wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:53 PM   #8
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannonshot View Post
I just installed Garmin Topo 2013 (100K - copyright 2012). It unlocks to one unit. It showed up fine in MapSource and in BaseCamp. Standard install from the DVD.
But what version of MapSource? After 6.13.7, which the PO is using, things changed.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:12 PM   #9
Cannonshot
Having a Nice Time
 
Cannonshot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SE Wisconsin
Oddometer: 19,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
But what version of MapSource? After 6.13.7, which the PO is using, things changed.
Just double checked. Mine is 6.16.3 and works fine.
__________________
Cannonshot.net
Cannonshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:13 PM   #10
natapoc OP
Adventurer
 
natapoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Marysville wa
Oddometer: 17
thanks for all the input i installed the 24k maps from the dvd. what is mapsettoolkit?
natapoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:40 PM   #11
natapoc OP
Adventurer
 
natapoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Marysville wa
Oddometer: 17
updated mapsource to 6.16.3 now can view all my maps thanks again for all the help!
natapoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014