ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-14-2013, 02:29 PM   #61
Saget
Not quite a full house
 
Saget's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere near Seattle
Oddometer: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by DakarNick View Post
The mCX is self-righting. The mQX and some others are not. The new mini Heli-Max SQ1 is self-righting also (from what I have heard). It returns to level after centering the stick. I find nose-in with my quads easier than helicopters. But that's me.
Since the topic of self-levelling came up, I thought I'd run outside and shoot a quick demo with my hexcopter.

I'm running the KK2 flight controller from Hobby King, with v1.5 of the firmware. Last I heard, the KK2 was still shipping with 1.2 installed, so you'll have to update to 1.5 to get this feature. (It's actually there in earlier versions, but seems to be just a placeholder in the code. It doesn't actually do much, if anything)

Self-Level can by turned off & on with an AUX channel. I connected mine to my landing gear. I wanted to keep my other AUX channels available for camera control. Besides, I have to be level to land, right? With the gear down, self-level is on. Gear up, it's off.

As you can see in the video, when my gear is down (self-level ON) the hex snaps back to level whenever I let go of the stick. When the gear is up (self-level OFF), it stays in whatever position I left it until I grab the stick and correct it myself.

I'm sure many other controllers have the same feature.

__________________
_______________________________
http://gbergimages.smugmug.com
Saget's Rides:
2008 Kaw Connie14
2005 Kaw KLR650

Saget screwed with this post 02-14-2013 at 02:39 PM
Saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 02:34 PM   #62
biggziff OP
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 7,687
Nice...is that a shooting range across the street from your yard?
__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 02:38 PM   #63
Saget
Not quite a full house
 
Saget's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere near Seattle
Oddometer: 466
Yes it is. They let me fly over there when they're not using it, which is most of the time.

Edit: The view from above.

__________________
_______________________________
http://gbergimages.smugmug.com
Saget's Rides:
2008 Kaw Connie14
2005 Kaw KLR650

Saget screwed with this post 02-14-2013 at 02:44 PM
Saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 02:41 PM   #64
biggziff OP
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 7,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saget View Post
Yes it is. They let me fly over there when they're not using it, which is most of the time.
I thought so. I saw a video where you were flying near it and it looked like people were shooting skeet. I kept hoping you'd fly over and get some close-up action!
__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 02:50 PM   #65
Saget
Not quite a full house
 
Saget's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere near Seattle
Oddometer: 466
Nope... They have guns. I have a flying target. "PULL"... Boom.

They seem like a pretty cool bunch of folks though. Maybe sometime I'll go over there and see if I can get some up-close aerial video of the action. From BEHIND them!!
__________________
_______________________________
http://gbergimages.smugmug.com
Saget's Rides:
2008 Kaw Connie14
2005 Kaw KLR650
Saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:50 PM   #66
Thinc2
Paciugo
 
Thinc2's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saget View Post
Since the topic of self-levelling came up, I thought I'd run outside and shoot a quick demo with my hexcopter.

I'm running the KK2 flight controller from Hobby King, with v1.5 of the firmware. Last I heard, the KK2 was still shipping with 1.2 installed, so you'll have to update to 1.5 to get this feature. (It's actually there in earlier versions, but seems to be just a placeholder in the code. It doesn't actually do much, if anything)

Self-Level can by turned off & on with an AUX channel. I connected mine to my landing gear. I wanted to keep my other AUX channels available for camera control. Besides, I have to be level to land, right? With the gear down, self-level is on. Gear up, it's off.

As you can see in the video, when my gear is down (self-level ON) the hex snaps back to level whenever I let go of the stick. When the gear is up (self-level OFF), it stays in whatever position I left it until I grab the stick and correct it myself.

I'm sure many other controllers have the same feature.

thanks, that is really useful. and tempting.
__________________
Me: You should think before you speak.
Daughter: That always backfires on me.
F800GS review.
Thinc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:08 AM   #67
DakarNick
Swabee
 
DakarNick's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Parker, Colorado
Oddometer: 6,514
Saget, do you know if I can load 1.5 via an FTDI as long as I make up a proper cable?
__________________
'06 KTM 950 Adventure S
'12 Ram 2500, Cummins, 6-speed auto, Laramie Longhorn, RamBox
Must be part of your super-secret double-naught spy work with your low-level FEMA clearance and (snicker) Texas Security License, yes?
DakarNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:19 AM   #68
ct-ktm
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: New England
Oddometer: 3,105
Sweeet.. can you guys watch what the camera is filming as it happens..??... Do they have an app for that..
could be like a drone....
ct-ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:44 AM   #69
Saget
Not quite a full house
 
Saget's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere near Seattle
Oddometer: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by DakarNick View Post
Saget, do you know if I can load 1.5 via an FTDI as long as I make up a proper cable?
All I can tell you for sure is I used one of these: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...occessors.html

There must be other ways to talk to the board if you know what you're doing (which I don't!), but for 5 bucks why bother?
__________________
_______________________________
http://gbergimages.smugmug.com
Saget's Rides:
2008 Kaw Connie14
2005 Kaw KLR650
Saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 08:57 AM   #70
biggziff OP
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 7,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by ct-ktm View Post
Sweeet.. can you guys watch what the camera is filming as it happens..??... Do they have an app for that..
could be like a drone....
That's the FPV part. First Person View. Search Fat Shark FPV
__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:15 AM   #71
Ladukebob
lost in hood river
 
Ladukebob's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Hood River, Or.
Oddometer: 1,644
Be really cool to have that H quad design built out of carbon fiber. I've talked to a friend here locally who owns a CF business about other projects and it is very expensive to do one off's. But it would be cool!!

I can't get this out of my head now
__________________
2011 990 adv
2012 wr250r
You don't know what you don't know
findLadukebob
Ladukebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:18 AM   #72
biggziff OP
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 7,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladukebob View Post
Be really cool to have that H quad design built out of carbon fiber. I've talked to a friend here locally who owns a CF business about other projects and it is very expensive to do one off's. But it would be cool!!

I can't get this out of my head now
Cool, but probably not much lighter....certainly more expensive.
__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:50 PM   #73
CousinLarry
Ridin Dirty
 
CousinLarry's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: South/Central Connecticut
Oddometer: 565
Just put some lights on mine:







Maximum neighbor freak out factor!! hahahaha
__________________
2000 KTM 200 EXC with a street plate
CousinLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:04 AM   #74
Thinc2
Paciugo
 
Thinc2's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 4,493
There seem to be multiple versions of the DX6i - see attached pics from both amazon.com and amazon.de.

The 129 euro implies it is just a"sender" but not a "receiver" (Empfänger SPMR66002)?

If what I want to do is fly an MCX, MQX and a home built H quadcopter, which version do I need?

Here is the Google translate version of the euro 99 DX6i - is this all I need?




__________________
Me: You should think before you speak.
Daughter: That always backfires on me.
F800GS review.

Thinc2 screwed with this post 02-20-2013 at 03:53 AM
Thinc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:09 AM   #75
biggziff OP
Funk Soul Bruvah
 
biggziff's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Oddometer: 7,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thinc2 View Post
There seem to be multiple versions of the DX6i - see attached pics from both amazon.com and amazon.de.

The 129 euro implies it is just a"sender" but not a "receiver" (Empfänger SPMR66002)?

If what I want to do is fly an MCX, MQX and a home built H quadcopter, which version do I need?

Here is the Google translate version of the euro 99 DX6i - is this all I need?




The $129 version doesn't include a receiver that will go in/on the model you're flying. The MQX, etc all come with built in receivers so yes..it's all you'll need.
__________________
"Fools you are. To say you learn by your experience. I prefer to profit by others' mistakes and avoid the price of my own."

- Otto von Bismarck


<><
biggziff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014