ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 07:36 PM   #1546
GISkev
wwfsmd?
 
GISkev's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: UT
Oddometer: 1,712
remove gpx after loading?

Loving this app! I loaded a gpx file from my gmail and I cant figure out how to unload it... anyone know?


Im runninga samsung 7 inch tab 2.0 and like it so far!
__________________
Merge w the traffic, but don't go w the flow!

--GoProHero Helmet Cam!--http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...y=utahkev&aq=f
5 deserts:http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...3#post15462553
KTM 520 (plated), Wee-Strom (commuter bike)
GISkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:20 AM   #1547
GISkev
wwfsmd?
 
GISkev's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: UT
Oddometer: 1,712
tile cache?

So.... if I use my tablet to cache a big area to disk, could I copy the osmand folder to another device and have it work correctly if I point the new device to that directory?
__________________
Merge w the traffic, but don't go w the flow!

--GoProHero Helmet Cam!--http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...y=utahkev&aq=f
5 deserts:http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...3#post15462553
KTM 520 (plated), Wee-Strom (commuter bike)
GISkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:12 AM   #1548
k1322
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Oddometer: 15
So how does this compare to ViewRanger? Anyone tested both?
k1322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:04 AM   #1549
StuInFH
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Central CA
Oddometer: 400
How to add Map Points to track

Can someone please point me to the posting or vid that explains how to add map points to an existing track that I have uploaded to site? I need to increase the res of the track and can't discover where that feature is in editing tools. thanks
StuInFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:05 AM   #1550
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuInFH View Post
Can someone please point me to the posting or vid that explains how to add map points to an existing track that I have uploaded to site? I need to increase the res of the track and can't discover where that feature is in editing tools. thanks
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list...ature=view_all
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:17 AM   #1551
StuInFH
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Central CA
Oddometer: 400
thanks

what do you make of this? I was referring to the additional map types to view in field when I said "so much more." If the base maps do not get updated, I don't know if that affects the functionality for me anyway. But curious as to know if so. thanks
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=860415&page=6
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuInFH
As far as being any better than "the free OSMand that is is coded from," wouldn't it have to be, by the simple fact that it is so much more than just that?






worwig
Lost in Georgia

Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 528






Quote:
Originally Posted by StuInFH
As far as being any better than "the free OSMand that is is coded from," wouldn't it have to be, by the simple fact that it is so much more than just that?
































OSMand has been evolving over time with a lot of nice features. It has gotten easier to use and the rendering engine can be set to produce maps that are higher contrast. As far as I know, DSM is a branch of an old version of OSMand.
And if that is so, the new version uses maps that are in a different format. It appears the old format OSM maps are no longer updated. So DSM may not get updated OSM maps.
Unless I missed something.




StuInFH screwed with this post 02-21-2013 at 11:22 AM
StuInFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:28 AM   #1552
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,245
I do not use DSM on the road. I use it off road. On road, you can use Google Navigator. Offroad, I use the rendered maps for a basemap as those do not change frequently and I do all my planning on the website and then pull the website map to my phone. It is therefore as updated as I want it. You can also link in raster maps from all the usual suspects and those are updated.

The value of DSM is the integration with the website and it's resources. If you aren't using it then skip it. If you are using the website, then you would be crazy to not use the app.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:52 AM   #1553
StuInFH
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Central CA
Oddometer: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
I do not use DSM on the road. I use it off road. .
Yes, same here. And if the base map was to be updated, I would ask for the option to not accept it. I am amazed that some obscure (and great) trails show up in my area on the base map and I find that very useful. In CA, any "updating" to these offroad areas/trails would be the removal of these trails, my guess, judging by what the forest circus has been busy doing around here. So no thanks.
StuInFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:16 PM   #1554
StuInFH
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Central CA
Oddometer: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
That is a listing of ALL vids. I've spent more time than I care to admit trying to discover how to add/increase track points to an existing track. It doesn't appear to be as easy as adding Waypoints, which IS easy to find in the Adding Waypoints vid. Does anyone have time to give me a better clue? thanks
StuInFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:16 PM   #1555
Afry
Why hike?
 
Afry's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Ramona, Ca
Oddometer: 557
DSM is the best thing since sliced bread for dual sport use but I am having an issue with my charging setup when on the bike. I use a ram X mount on the handlebars and like to leave it plugged in to the charger at all times.

The problem is the small USB port seems to chew up OEM chargers at the connection. The phone side is never effected but the charger side stops working after a few days of trail riding and has to be replaced.

I have secured the charger cable near the connection to minimize the movement but it still doesn't last more than a week of riding.

Any suggestions?
__________________
KTM 950 SE
KTM 525 EXC X2


Get on with riding or get on with dying - one or the other
Afry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:16 PM   #1556
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Not home in Tijuana
Oddometer: 7,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afry View Post
DSM is the best thing since sliced bread for dual sport use but I am having an issue with my charging setup when on the bike. I use a ram X mount on the handlebars and like to leave it plugged in to the charger at all times.

The problem is the small USB port seems to chew up OEM chargers at the connection. The phone side is never effected but the charger side stops working after a few days of trail riding and has to be replaced.

I have secured the charger cable near the connection to minimize the movement but it still doesn't last more than a week of riding.

Any suggestions?
Hey Arny!! What charger are you using, or what USB outlet. I'm using the BurnsMoto and it hasn't failed me yet.
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingdutchman177 View Post
I used to say "one day" a lot. But then I got scared I would wait one day too long. So I am doing it all now
beechum1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:47 AM   #1557
Rigalo
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Oddometer: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afry View Post
DSM is the best thing since sliced bread for dual sport use but I am having an issue with my charging setup when on the bike. I use a ram X mount on the handlebars and like to leave it plugged in to the charger at all times.

The problem is the small USB port seems to chew up OEM chargers at the connection. The phone side is never effected but the charger side stops working after a few days of trail riding and has to be replaced.

I have secured the charger cable near the connection to minimize the movement but it still doesn't last more than a week of riding.

Any suggestions?
Have the same problem and also tried to secure the cable. However, I've been looking at some 'cradle' for the phone where it kinda 'clamps' the phone with a charging socket fixed onto the cradle. Just a thought.
Rigalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:53 AM   #1558
LoneStrom
Gnarly Adventurer
 
LoneStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: ATL <--> BWI
Oddometer: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afry View Post

The problem is the small USB port seems to chew up OEM chargers at the connection. The phone side is never effected but the charger side stops working after a few days of trail riding and has to be replaced.

I have secured the charger cable near the connection to minimize the movement but it still doesn't last more than a week of riding.

Any suggestions?
Does the cable break or do you think it's the charger's electronics? I'm using a cheap USB charger for a cigarette lighter plug that I hacked to wire in to the battery, then use a 6ft micro usb cable to go to the phone. No problems yet with about 6k on this setup.
LoneStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:27 AM   #1559
ID XR600
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ID XR600's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Pay it, Idaho
Oddometer: 245
charging socket fixed onto the cradle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rigalo View Post
Have the same problem and also tried to secure the cable. However, I've been looking at some 'cradle' for the phone where it kinda 'clamps' the phone with a charging socket fixed onto the cradle. Just a thought.
Me too. If you find one, please share it here.
__________________
"Endeavor to persevere."
ID XR600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:48 AM   #1560
Oshiat
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Land of Fruits & Nuts
Oddometer: 157
Check out cases sold by Ultimate Addons. They are waterproof and the case captures their charger plug when in use. I bought the EU version for my Galaxy S2 and it works perfectly.
Oshiat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014