ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 10:44 AM   #33586
cjbiker
Nobody's Robot
 
cjbiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Southern Maine
Oddometer: 2,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by sturgeon View Post
Just cell phone pics, but you should get the general idea. Maybe if I get real ambitious one day, I'll take that peg off and grind a bit off the corner. More likely I'll just go out and ride it instead






Thanks, those do look a bit nicer than the no-brand pegs I've seen. Maybe I'll go with the 5mm lower pegs. That should help with clearance to the brake pedal when the peg folds.
cjbiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 11:33 AM   #33587
sturgeon
Studly Adventurer
 
sturgeon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Great White North
Oddometer: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbiker View Post
Thanks, those do look a bit nicer than the no-brand pegs I've seen. Maybe I'll go with the 5mm lower pegs. That should help with clearance to the brake pedal when the peg folds.
Possibly. Mine are 'regular' height. Much improved platform over the OEM pegs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Dyslexics Untie!
sturgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:47 PM   #33588
adaycj
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Oddometer: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daamud View Post
Done this. And it IS when the sprocket centers and swingarm pivot are all inline.

And the amount of slack at ride height DOES change with different sprockets.
Yep, bigger and smaller sprockets use more or less chain plus hold it closer or further from the swing arm. That further negates the factory procedure since nearly every WRR eventually gets a sprocket size change. My gage system has to be adjusted both after a sprocket size change, and after a ride height change using the shock threaded clevis. The clevis changes the drop when the arm is all the way down.

Problem is my 180# ass won't quite level (parallel?) the swingarm. Nothing is simple when you have a machine that is sensitive to chain slack.

At least these machines don't use the older style "snails'. On my KLX250s the increments were huge. Every chain I bought would wear to a point that was too loose, but tightening it up one indentation was too tight. Of course in 5 years of off road riding that machine never needed a slider. Go figure.
adaycj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:25 PM   #33589
alansz400
Studly Adventurer
 
alansz400's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Loudonville ohio
Oddometer: 837
Does anyone know what the brown wire that goes into the ign. switch is for? The dealer that rewireded my heated grips after my wreck used that brown wire to power them and I dont like it. I had a hot wire going to the battery with a fuse. The dealer has my heated grips and my 12 volt power port both wired into that brown wire with no fuse. I am going to rewire it just wanting to know what the brown wire is for?
alansz400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:05 PM   #33590
riverman
Life is great !
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Oddometer: 144
[QUOTE=Rapid Dog;20870626]...speakin' of pegs, there's a guy in Europe that makes custom pegs to order
if you're interested go here: http://wr250rforum.forumotion.com/t8...egs-for-wr250r

I had him make a set I designed that I wanted an inch rearward and 1/2" lower because I always felt I was too far forward on the lil WR.




I ordered a set from the same guy. Great service, pegs fit to a T and still fold up like OEM. Reused the spring from OEM. Took a bit less than two weeks to get them from Republic of Czech to Canada. Cost for me was less than your $100 limit.
__________________
Rory aka "Riverman"

'11 WR250R
'13 Tiger 800XC
riverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:37 PM   #33591
Scott_PDX
Leisure Engineer
 
Scott_PDX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Portland...the newer one on the left side.
Oddometer: 2,638
Tank Panniers

Anybody with the bigger IMS tank run Tank Panniers? Looking to see if there are any clever ways to mount them without being in the way too much. It's unclear to me if there is an attachment point for that tank.
__________________
2011 WR250R, 2009 KLR650, 2004 KTM 450 EXC, 2000 R1150GS

My MotovLog (Youtube Videos): http://www.youtube.com/user/scottb572/videos

Where Am I via SPOT (Code SCT): http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=719703
Scott_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:48 PM   #33592
UtahFox
Gnarly Adventurer
 
UtahFox's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Oddometer: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Anybody with the bigger IMS tank run Tank Panniers? Looking to see if there are any clever ways to mount them without being in the way too much. It's unclear to me if there is an attachment point for that tank.
Which tank? The IMS 3 gallon doesn't change the geometry other than it gets an inch or two taller. The same plastics the bike comes with fit for instance.
UtahFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:23 PM   #33593
sodapop
Caffeinated
 
sodapop's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Central Texas
Oddometer: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchizzMan View Post
Just got this '09 home yesterday. Needs the engine mods and possibly regearing. Ran good down the highway home.
I did only the flapper mod and set CO at +2. The bike is noticeably snappier. I liked that so much I'm considering a pipe and programmer.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Robb
2008 WR250R

2007 VFR800A


sodapop screwed with this post 03-05-2013 at 09:33 PM
sodapop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:47 PM   #33594
Scott_PDX
Leisure Engineer
 
Scott_PDX's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Portland...the newer one on the left side.
Oddometer: 2,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by UtahFox View Post
Which tank? The IMS 3 gallon doesn't change the geometry other than it gets an inch or two taller. The same plastics the bike comes with fit for instance.
Yeah, I meant the 4.75gal one. It looks "smoother" - not sure if that's a problem adding tank panniers to that tank or not. Tired of hauling a Rotopax with my 3.1 gallon tank on longer rides.
__________________
2011 WR250R, 2009 KLR650, 2004 KTM 450 EXC, 2000 R1150GS

My MotovLog (Youtube Videos): http://www.youtube.com/user/scottb572/videos

Where Am I via SPOT (Code SCT): http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=719703
Scott_PDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:01 AM   #33595
Rapid Dog
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 8,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Anybody with the bigger IMS tank run Tank Panniers? Looking to see if there are any clever ways to mount them without being in the way too much. It's unclear to me if there is an attachment point for that tank.
I've used my Aerostch panniers with my 3 gal tank no problemo.
I put the straps forward and aft of the tank filler cap and use the bungies where they'll best work.
Gotta pick here somewhere...

Here' tis:


__________________
'09 450 EXC Nani Roma Limited/'08 R1200R-Gone to the Hipsters/'02 Dirty lil KTM400EXC-gone to a good home/'10 WR290X/R buhbye!
'81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict


Rapid Dog screwed with this post 03-06-2013 at 07:07 AM
Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:25 AM   #33596
simmons1
Beastly Adventurer
 
simmons1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Out Riding
Oddometer: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_PDX View Post
Yeah, I meant the 4.75gal one. It looks "smoother" - not sure if that's a problem adding tank panniers to that tank or not. Tired of hauling a Rotopax with my 3.1 gallon tank on longer rides.
I have done this for easy rides. Pushes knees out when sitting, but doesn't tend to bother me standing up:



I wouldn't use this on technical trails/single track.
__________________
Goldwing, Super Tenere, WR250R, ST1300, KLR, GS1000s, GT750, H2 750, H1 500
simmons1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:47 AM   #33597
Rapid Dog
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 8,983
...you couls also use a Giant Loop Buckin' Roll

__________________
'09 450 EXC Nani Roma Limited/'08 R1200R-Gone to the Hipsters/'02 Dirty lil KTM400EXC-gone to a good home/'10 WR290X/R buhbye!
'81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:06 AM   #33598
jon_l
Beastly Adventurer
 
jon_l's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Collingwood, Ontario
Oddometer: 2,780
That looks sweet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Dog View Post
...you couls also use a Giant Loop Buckin' Roll

I guess one could also use the Wolfman Rolie as a tank pannier.

__________________
'09 Honda CBF1000; '09 Yamaha WR250R
jon_l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:53 AM   #33599
Rapid Dog
bikes, booze, broads...
 
Rapid Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Strangel Living West of Hell
Oddometer: 8,983
...one thing about the Buckin' Roll, there's not a great amount of room in the side pockets. Probably squeeze an MSR bottle in there. They're kinda hard to get gain access due to the hefty design and small space.

Not near the space and access you'll have with some Aeostich panniers.
__________________
'09 450 EXC Nani Roma Limited/'08 R1200R-Gone to the Hipsters/'02 Dirty lil KTM400EXC-gone to a good home/'10 WR290X/R buhbye!
'81 R100RS Rattlecandy Red/'06 950 ADV Orangeboom/91 R100GSPD Derelict

Rapid Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:33 AM   #33600
pfy50
Professional nOOb
 
pfy50's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Oneida, Tenn.
Oddometer: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by alansz400 View Post
Does anyone know what the brown wire that goes into the ign. switch is for? The dealer that rewireded my heated grips after my wreck used that brown wire to power them and I dont like it. I had a hot wire going to the battery with a fuse. The dealer has my heated grips and my 12 volt power port both wired into that brown wire with no fuse. I am going to rewire it just wanting to know what the brown wire is for?
He was probably looking to connect to a switched line. The brown line runs to your #55(in fuse panel) 10amp fused power line. It also connects to the starter relay,license plate light,front and rear brake switches, horn. How much power does your heated grip pull?
IMHO heated items should go thru a relay and switch of their own and not pull load off of any primary circuits for safety. At the very least take the power port off the same line as the heated grips which should have their own 5amp line.
ps. some useful info on the Hot grips faq pg.
http://www.hotgrips.com/faq.php#14

__________________
My Odyssey: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=566875
2013 TEX XC,2011 WR250R,2004 KAWA Concours,1994 BMW K1100RS
May the Lord bless you and keep you in all the Dark places you must travel

pfy50 screwed with this post 03-06-2013 at 10:48 AM
pfy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014