ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 05:29 PM   #16
Spinalcracker OP
former redriderofma
 
Spinalcracker's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Western MA
Oddometer: 1,079
It's all fixed. Once I got the DVD I removed the downloaded version and reinstalled with the DVD and all is well
__________________
Unless we change direction, we are likely to end up where we are headed.
It's county Fair time in New England
TET MA to NC
Vermont Covered Bridges
Spinalcracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 04:53 PM   #17
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinalcracker View Post
It's all fixed. Once I got the DVD I removed the downloaded version and reinstalled with the DVD and all is well
For future reference, you could have used this link to get/run the Garmin Map Updater.

http://download.garmin.com/lmu/GarminMapUpdater.exe

The Map Updater will require you to connect your GPS so it can verify what maps you have or are supposed to have, then let you reinstall the maps. You can click on Options and choose to install just to the GPS, just to your PC, or both.

In your case, you would have just needed to pick the option to install to your PC.
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 05:04 PM   #18
StuartV
Motorcyclist
 
StuartV's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Bristow, VA
Oddometer: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Glad you're getting it sorted out!

One thing, though. There is most definitely a way to have the maps end up on BOTH the unit and your PC when doing a download. I say that, because I did it for my 350LM. There's just a simple setting you have to change as you do it, and I apologize for not remembering where it is exactly.
The "normal" way to update now is to use Garmin Express. And it does not give you the option to install to the device and your PC. It just installs to the device.

But, Garmin Map Updater will let you do either or both.
__________________
- Stu
'09 R12GS, '05 GSX-R1000
Iron Butt # 4999, WERA/CCS EX # 666 (currently, expired), AMA Life Member
Racer, Drummer, Bassist, Software Engineer
StuartV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014