ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - West & PNW
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-09-2005, 10:22 AM   #1
boney OP
Ride > Post
 
boney's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Sonoma CA
Oddometer: 1,402
N38 27.759 W111 17.991

boney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 03:06 AM   #2
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,210
A beautiful place. You have the idea, but the routes or trails around it, or just the waypoint you can attach as a file and then other folks can just click on the attachment and go to town with whatever they use.

Here is your spot in Capital Reef Nat Park saved as a Waypoint in a .gpx and attached.
Attached Files
File Type: gpx CapitalReefNatPark.gpx (1.1 KB, 251 views)
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 01:09 PM   #3
Bob
Formerly H20Pumper
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Corral de Tierra CA, Ketchum ID
Oddometer: 2,487
Philspace, what/how did you convert Boneys lat-long to that location??

I can use/save locations that I have been to, but have never figured out how to get from a set of coordinates to a position on a map, without having to move across the map until I got to the point. The slow and unscientific method.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 04:13 PM   #4
boney OP
Ride > Post
 
boney's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Sonoma CA
Oddometer: 1,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
A beautiful place. You have the idea, but the routes or trails around it, or just the waypoint you can attach as a file and then other folks can just click on the attachment and go to town with whatever they use.

Here is your spot in Capital Reef Nat Park saved as a Waypoint in a .gpx and attached.
I can't find my tracks!


Hey pumper:

In Mapsource, just copy the location from this thread, select "edit-> new waypoint" and the paste the location into the location box.

You can probably put the same location info into google maps or google earth too, tho I haven't tried it.
boney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 06:33 AM   #5
Bob
Formerly H20Pumper
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Corral de Tierra CA, Ketchum ID
Oddometer: 2,487
Thanks Boney!
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014