ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 08:25 AM   #31
GI_JO_NATHAN
Beastly Adventurer
 
GI_JO_NATHAN's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Middle GA.....Aparently....
Oddometer: 2,164
So silly me went to the store to get one of these, thinking they had the built in slime injector thing.
My Flex came with a compressor that does this, and it works great.

Oh well.
__________________
Jonathan
If guns are outlawed, only outlaws will have guns.
Quote:
Originally Posted by POLLOCK28 (XDTALK.com)
From what I understand from frequenting various forums you are handling this critisim completely wrong. You are supposed to get bent out of shape and start turning towards personal attacks. Get with the program!
GI_JO_NATHAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 08:38 AM   #32
8lives
Dharma Bum
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Shasta County,Calif
Oddometer: 1,848
I have a pump I gutted outta 1 of those battery jumper things,probably similar to the slime pump it works good used it the other day,but I always have a small hand pump and a regular guage with me also.
__________________
Trickster Redeemer
Robin Williams was my hero,RIP!
I used to do drugs,I still do drugs,but I used to too!Mitch Hedburg
8lives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 04:49 PM   #33
EduardoMas
Spartan Overlander
 
EduardoMas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Of No Fixed Address
Oddometer: 399
Anyone has pics of the AIRMAN stripped to the bare pump?

I had two generic pumps stripped and they lasted for a while and would not mind tweaking another one but rather do it with a good base unit. It is hard to tell the quality of the pump peeking though the plastics.

I wander what is inside the AIRMAN.

Pre thanks,
__________________
Eduardo
XR650R
KTM300


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
EduardoMas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 05:08 PM   #34
mac10
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Oddometer: 68
I have a couple.I have a small slime version for backup. I especially like the airman, but my favourite is a bigger one gutted out of its housing. I hang it off the rack or the bars when in use so I don't have to handle it. It gets quite hot.

Rotating through two small pumps means they don't overheat and need a cool down between cycles. Saves time.Keeping them out of the dirt makes them last.
mac10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 01:46 PM   #35
acejones
Beastly Adventurer
 
acejones's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: MS. Gulf Coast
Oddometer: 4,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by EduardoMas View Post
Anyone has pics of the AIRMAN stripped to the bare pump?

I had two generic pumps stripped and they lasted for a while and would not mind tweaking another one but rather do it with a good base unit. It is hard to tell the quality of the pump peeking though the plastics.

I wander what is inside the AIRMAN.

Pre thanks,
Inside the AIRMAN is air waiting to be let out
__________________
I got tired of being here, so now I'm there
acejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 10:29 PM   #36
MiteyF
Beastly Adventurer
 
MiteyF's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan... temporarily
Oddometer: 1,933
I bought one and bent up an aluminum housing for it. Fits perfectly under the seat of my Wee



__________________
People tell me I have a motorcycle problem. I tell them, I may have problems, but motorcycles are the solution.
MiteyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:26 PM   #37
thorinoakenshield
ya mo be there
 
thorinoakenshield's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: ☼
Oddometer: 446
Looks great!
You should make more and sell it for a huge markup ...oh, wait...somebody's already done that....
But srsly, I think I'll do that for my slime pump. I have a bunch of thin computer cases I could use.
Thx for the idea!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiteyF View Post
I bought one and bent up an aluminum housing for it. Fits perfectly under the seat of my Wee



thorinoakenshield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:10 AM   #38
racer1735
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Amarillo/Canyon, TX
Oddometer: 342
I recently purchased one of the Slime pumps. It plugs into the SAE connector on my Powerlet outlet. Decided to test everything out, so deflated one of my tires (street bike) down to about 32 psi, then turned on the mini-compressor. Waited 2 minutes and turned it off, checked my tire pressure and it was up to 52 psi! So the little thing can crank out the air pretty rapidly.

Just doing this experiment didn't cause the unit to get anything more than simply 'warm' to the touch. The brass outlet nozzle was extremely hot, but the unit itself...at least the case...wasn't an issue.
racer1735 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 01:54 PM   #39
Laconic
Anodyne
 
Laconic's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Moran Nation, NC
Oddometer: 16,567
Did an actual rescue with mine on Saturday

Laconic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 06:43 AM   #40
seniorasi OP
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laconic View Post
More pics?
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 08:34 AM   #41
8lives
Dharma Bum
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Shasta County,Calif
Oddometer: 1,848
Ouch that's a big 1,a plug and tiny compressor probably made quick work of that,onward to your destination!
__________________
Trickster Redeemer
Robin Williams was my hero,RIP!
I used to do drugs,I still do drugs,but I used to too!Mitch Hedburg
8lives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 09:22 PM   #42
Laconic
Anodyne
 
Laconic's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Moran Nation, NC
Oddometer: 16,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by seniorasi View Post
More pics?
See post # 493;


http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...803348&page=33


Laconic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 09:41 PM   #43
seniorasi OP
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laconic View Post
Awesome thread and thanks for sharing. How many strips of plug were required for the hole in the tire? It looked way bigger than the averade screw.
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:36 PM   #44
Laconic
Anodyne
 
Laconic's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Moran Nation, NC
Oddometer: 16,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by seniorasi View Post
Awesome thread and thanks for sharing. How many strips of plug were required for the hole in the tire? It looked way bigger than the averade screw.
It just took one plug; the screw was long but only 1/4" OD.
Laconic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:39 AM   #45
seniorasi OP
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laconic View Post
It just took one plug; the screw was long but only 1/4" OD.
Glad to hear only one took care of it. Never had a flat on a tubeless tire so just wondering what to expect if the inevitable is encountered.
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014