ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2013, 04:19 PM   #76156
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunthechip View Post
Is it necessary to remove the spark plugs when adjusting the valve clearance, and why do people take them out?
Just one. It makes it a hell of a lot easier to turn the motor over that way to get to TDC.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 05:10 PM   #76157
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 9,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Just one. It makes it a hell of a lot easier to turn the motor over that way to get to TDC.
And he should know that there are two top dead centers. Make sure to get the right one on the compression stroke.


Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD using Tapatalk
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 05:49 PM   #76158
sunthechip
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2012
Oddometer: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatChance View Post
And he should know that there are two top dead centers. Make sure to get the right one on the compression stroke.


Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD using Tapatalk
I've adjusted the valves before, I just didn't remove the spark plugs. Turn it CCW until T is visible and the rockers can wiggle, right?
sunthechip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:22 PM   #76159
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 3,998
__________________
2004 DR650: 57,097 miles of

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:01 AM   #76160
TDY
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TDY's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 179
Charging system question

I recently ran my battery down with electric vest and grip heaters set too high on a cold day so I installed an LED voltage monitor to keep me from making the same mistake again. The battery charged up fine with my battery tender and seems not to have suffered any damage. The LED monitor glows green when the charging voltage is greater than 13.2V but, curiously it changes to yellow indicating less than 13.2 when I rev the engine above idle then returns to green when the RPM returns to idle. I verified this voltage drop measured at the battery using a real volt meter. I then discovered that if I turn on my grip heaters the voltage goes up and turns the LED green and it stays green at all revs.

This all seems backwards to me. Could someone please verify if it's normal to have a load such as the grip heaters raise the voltage or explain to me the problem if it's not behaving normally. I did the alternator checks for continuity and AC output and it checks out fine.

In case it matters, I have a 60Cx GPS running off the battery and I had the controller for my vest plugged in but not turned on and the vest was not plugged in during my last test ride. The lights are all stock but the headlight is running through a relay to reduce voltage loss.
__________________
‘01 DR650 (work horse)
'08 CRF230F (fun in the trails)
'03 DERBI GPR50R (Every ride is a race)
TDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:57 AM   #76161
8gv
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: North central CT
Oddometer: 2,114
Fool tap...

I want to drain my tank and put in fresh gas.

The tap doesn't want to dispense while the bike isn't running.

Is that a vacuum line I see attached to the back of the tap?

Using a hand vacuum pump I appied vacuum.

No joy.

Is pressure used here rather than vacuum?

Do I need to open the tap and de-goo it?

Is there really no inline filter here or is it contained in the tap?

Thank you sir, may I have another...
8gv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:15 AM   #76162
Lil' Steve
PussyWagon™ Chauffer
 
Lil' Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Da Bronx, NYC
Oddometer: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8gv View Post
I want to drain my tank and put in fresh gas.

The tap doesn't want to dispense while the bike isn't running.

Is that a vacuum line I see attached to the back of the tap?

Yes.

Using a hand vacuum pump I appied vacuum.

No joy.

Is pressure used here rather than vacuum?

No.

Do I need to open the tap and de-goo it?

Maybe. Have you tried the Prime position?

Is there really no inline filter here or is it contained in the tap?

There is a screen in the tank as well as one in the stock carb inlet.

Thank you sir, may I have another...
Answered in yellow above.
__________________
Steve
07 KLX250S w/300 kit, 05 DR650SE, 04 XT225
99 VFR800 w/870 kit, 96 GPz1100
Lil' Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:35 AM   #76163
8gv
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: North central CT
Oddometer: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil' Steve View Post
Answered in yellow above.
Thanks.
I tried Prime and got a dribble. A roaring torrent is required by my level of patience. Is the screen in the tank located at the top of the fuel tubes?
8gv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:48 AM   #76164
Lil' Steve
PussyWagon™ Chauffer
 
Lil' Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Da Bronx, NYC
Oddometer: 3,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8gv View Post
Thanks.
I tried Prime and got a dribble. A roaring torrent is required by my level of patience. Is the screen in the tank located at the top of the fuel tubes?

Yes, there should be a screen on both tubes. You can take it apart and clean it, but a wise man said not long ago...
but if you do, Yamaha Raptor tap about $20, that's what I use.

The Yamaha tap bolts right on and isnt vacuum operated, you can turn it to off unlike the stock Suzuki tap.
__________________
Steve
07 KLX250S w/300 kit, 05 DR650SE, 04 XT225
99 VFR800 w/870 kit, 96 GPz1100
Lil' Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:57 AM   #76165
Bronco638
Nobody Home
 
Bronco638's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Itasca, IL
Oddometer: 3,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by thump!
Your aftermarket clutch lever may not fit as precisely as the Suzuki part. In the picture it appears that the shoulder of the lever pivot bolt is not pulled down into the lever. If that's the case it would result in a lot of free play.
I'm using the stock lever(s).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee
Both of ours line up perfectly.

Thanks M.

Not only do I have that small gap, I can't seem to get rid of it. The clutch travel is very short; that is, from unengaged to fullly engaged seems to happen very quickly. I have the clutch arm positioned properly (I think) and the cable is new.

__________________
There are some simple thruths......and dogs know what they are - Joseph Duemer

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:01 AM   #76166
Rusty Rocket
Life behind "Bars"
 
Rusty Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Northcentral CT
Oddometer: 7,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil' Steve View Post
Yes, there should be a screen on both tubes. You can take it apart and clean it, but a wise man said not long ago...
but if you do, Yamaha Raptor tap about $20, that's what I use.

The Yamaha tap bolts right on and isnt vacuum operated, you can turn it to off unlike the stock Suzuki tap.
Yamaha part # 5LP-24500-01 it comes with a gasket, so don't order one.

If you go that route, don't forget to plug the vacuum line back to the carb.
__________________
2009 DR650 ..1972 Penton Six-Days ..1971 Suzuki TS185.. 2005 KTM 400exc
Member of: AMA, NETRA, Blue Ribbon Coalition, CCCofVT, Berkshire TR, CT Ramblers
Rusty Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:35 AM   #76167
Adv Grifter
on the road o'dreams
 
Adv Grifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Passing ADV Stalkers in California
Oddometer: 6,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8gv View Post
Thanks.
I tried Prime and got a dribble. A roaring torrent is required by my level of patience. Is the screen in the tank located at the top of the fuel tubes?
Remove the tank from the bike. Dump it upside down. If you remove the stock petcock there is a filter on the petcock internally. Also, check the tiny little white plastic filter that sits in the metal fuel inlet tube going into the Carb. It's a bit hard to pry out ... go easy.
Adv Grifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:39 AM   #76168
Rusty Rocket
Life behind "Bars"
 
Rusty Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Northcentral CT
Oddometer: 7,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adv Grifter View Post
It's a bit hard to pry out ... go easy.
Why, so he can throw it out in good condition?

I advocate getting rid of it and installing an inline filter.
__________________
2009 DR650 ..1972 Penton Six-Days ..1971 Suzuki TS185.. 2005 KTM 400exc
Member of: AMA, NETRA, Blue Ribbon Coalition, CCCofVT, Berkshire TR, CT Ramblers
Rusty Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:44 AM   #76169
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 3,998
Fuel filter, partially removed.


Stock petcock on the left. (Acerbis 5.3 on the right)
__________________
2004 DR650: 57,097 miles of

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:59 AM   #76170
8gv
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: North central CT
Oddometer: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Rocket View Post
Yamaha part # 5LP-24500-01 it comes with a gasket, so don't order one.

If you go that route, don't forget to plug the vacuum line back to the carb.
So...
Does the Yamaha tap have a reserve?

Thanks for the replies guys!
8gv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014