ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 11:06 AM   #16
dieselcruiserhead OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Park City, Utah
Oddometer: 1,325
I've been keeping my eye on that (west marine) and the way that works is its seasonal. Will likely not not be on sale till the fall any more. I'm going to do GPS store and also get the cord through them... http://www.thegpsstore.com/Garmin-GP...GPS-P2380.aspx

the only place I've found that has Ram moutns for them is.. Ram! Therefore I guess I'll order direct through them...
__________________
andreshoumatoff.smugmug.com
Grand Staircase Escalante Road Reports

Cycles South Vintage Moto Trek Movie - check out all 7 parts
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:08 PM   #17
dieselcruiserhead OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Park City, Utah
Oddometer: 1,325
looks like use of the 78 is getting a little more wide spread...

RMATV is now carrying the mount:
http://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/...rmin-GPSMAP-78

cheapest place to get it on Amazon direct from Garmin (warranty definitely in tact):
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A3S4H3E5TUN1NP

and the cradle if you want (free shipping)

cord is a wash, they are about $17 to $20 most places.
__________________
andreshoumatoff.smugmug.com
Grand Staircase Escalante Road Reports

Cycles South Vintage Moto Trek Movie - check out all 7 parts
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:21 AM   #18
travatron
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Washoe Valley, NV
Oddometer: 30
I just got it off Amazon as well, with Prime shipping and an 8GB micro SD card the total was like $217 shipped.

Keep in mind that unless you have.... other means of acquiring maps, tack another $80 on for 24K topos in whatever region you're in. The included basemap isn't even really a map. It showed Nevada's capital city in completely the wrong spot, miles off the main highway that runs through it. It was also just a dot that said "Carson City" No streets or anything.
travatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 11:21 AM   #19
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by travatron View Post
Keep in mind that unless you have.... other means of acquiring maps, tack another $80 on for 24K topos in whatever region you're in. .
Very few people use Topo maps when riding. City Nav or better yet old Roads & Rec are much mor popular.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 03:06 PM   #20
NorthernTraveler
Long time Adventurer
 
NorthernTraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The Big Mitten
Oddometer: 419
On sale again

The base Garmin 78 is on sale again at West Marine for $200, just got an email today. No idea for how long....

So it's on again!
NorthernTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 09:55 PM   #21
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernTraveler View Post
The base Garmin 78 is on sale again at West Marine for $200, just got an email today. No idea for how long....

So it's on again!
Time to upscale for me.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:00 PM   #22
dieselcruiserhead OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Park City, Utah
Oddometer: 1,325
So I already did one trip with the 78 -- what a great GPS. Simple and effective like the old e trex but the usability, speed of loading, etc, are all so much better. And I'm pumped to still have buttons. Yay for the 78! Only thing was I couldn't get it to load more than one track at once but I'll have to work on figuring that out assuming it has that capability...
__________________
andreshoumatoff.smugmug.com
Grand Staircase Escalante Road Reports

Cycles South Vintage Moto Trek Movie - check out all 7 parts
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 04:01 AM   #23
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselcruiserhead View Post
Only thing was I couldn't get it to load more than one track at once but I'll have to work on figuring that out assuming it has that capability...
I'm not sure what you mean by "load more than one track at once" but any track can be set to "show on map" and you can do that for multiple tracks. Some people want a "Show all tracks" setting which no modern era Garmin has, though.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:53 AM   #24
dieselcruiserhead OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Park City, Utah
Oddometer: 1,325
whenever I leave my current map and move to a new map to "show on screen" it removes the previously displayed one. I'm pretty sure this is just a setting somewhere, I just have to find it. It's probably in the control panel under "display more than 1 track" or something like that..
__________________
andreshoumatoff.smugmug.com
Grand Staircase Escalante Road Reports

Cycles South Vintage Moto Trek Movie - check out all 7 parts
dieselcruiserhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:56 AM   #25
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselcruiserhead View Post
whenever I leave my current map and move to a new map to "show on screen" it removes the previously displayed one. I'm pretty sure this is just a setting somewhere, I just have to find it. It's probably in the control panel under "display more than 1 track" or something like that..
Go to Track manager, open each track and set to On/Off. Also reset your choice of color (another Garmin thinks they know better).

Showing tracks has nothing to do with showiing maps.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:59 PM   #26
BKMLWR
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,530
tracks may be disappearing due to zoom level settings.....
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:44 PM   #27
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKMLWR View Post
tracks may be disappearing due to zoom level settings.....
That would be a real design flaw in the 78.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:11 AM   #28
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
That would be a real design flaw in the 78.
If it was the case, but it's not. I zoomed to the 300 km level on my 62S and it still showed the tracks I had set to "Show on map".
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:24 AM   #29
BKMLWR
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
That would be a real design flaw in the 78.
in the 60csx Map Page / Map Setup / Tracks Page you can set a zoom level where tracks are not displayed....found that out the hard way...
I'm wondering if this characteristic is continued into the 62/78 series.
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:46 AM   #30
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKMLWR View Post
in the 60csx Map Page / Map Setup / Tracks Page you can set a zoom level where tracks are not displayed....found that out the hard way...
I'm wondering if this characteristic is continued into the 62/78 series.
If it is possible to turn off track display, it isn't obvious. I just spent some time trying to get a track which was set to "View on map" to not display by settings in the Map setup screens and nothing I changed made the track disappear.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014