ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 07:04 AM   #46
seniorasi
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by troidus View Post
Here at work a lot of our fluorescent lighting is 277.

Shortly after we moved into the remodeled building, one of the overhead lights shorted with a quick blue flash, then the whole production area downstairs shut down. Seems they had GFCI on a main breaker down below, but had a low setpoint such that one shorted fluorescent light in an office killed half the building.
If the GFI popped do to a short is doing it's job. However: A run of the mill breaker would have popped anyway if you could see the "flash" from a short.

Can't imagine why lighting was on a GFI breaker as the intent is to protect an individual using receptacle powered devices in wet areas. ie: Bathrooms, kitchens, garages, and loading areas for commercial/industrial. Obviously up to the inspector approving the work...
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:57 AM   #47
the_gr8t_waldo
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: tacoma warshington
Oddometer: 2,027
gfi's are installed in larger installations. it's associated with the mains and is there to protect the equipment and would never protect a person! ( it dosen't look anything like the ones you see in bathrooms,outside, etc)..unlike the home depo gfi's, most people see, that are installed to protect people

the_gr8t_waldo screwed with this post 05-11-2013 at 11:07 AM
the_gr8t_waldo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 11:56 PM   #48
HydroDog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Mossyrock, Wa
Oddometer: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnham View Post
Snap the main breaker on and then off a few times. Do it with a little vigor. Sometimes that will correct the problem for a short time, and let you know what the problem is. Sometimes the breaker won't stay on after, so be warned. Is it a Federal Pacific brand panel?

If you have the original 1973 electric service it's probably due to be replaced anyway.
Please NOBODY take this advice. You could be severely burned or killed.

If that main breaker fails while you are snapping it back and forth with a "little vigor" and go's to ground in the back of your cabinet, you will get to witness the full current load from the transformer on the pole right before your eyes.
__________________
08 Buell Ulysses
07 GasGas 300
02 MZ Skorpion Traveller
99 KTM 640e
HydroDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:39 PM   #49
ttpete
Rectum Non Bustibus
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
Oddometer: 5,334
A few years ago I had some weird crap going on with the wiring and I finally found that I had a loose connection at the neutral bus in the breaker box. I checked all the others while I was at it. Might be a good starting point.

If you have a Square D QO panel, it's possible to install a whole house surge supressor in the space for a 240 volt double breaker. Just snap it in and connect one wire to the neutral bus.
__________________
10 Ducati 1098 Streetfighter S - "Sleipnir"
09 Kaw Versys
67 Triumph Bonneville TT Special
"The problem with Socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money" _____ Margaret Thatcher
ttpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014