ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 01:00 PM   #46
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 144
Yes it is and it arrived quickly.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 06:31 AM   #47
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 144
The new unit failed with the freezing problem yesterday while being directed to a single destination. Twice in one hour during a 250mi ride. First freeze was 9 miles from home. Certainly I'm disappointed, both with the failure and the fact that Garmin will not acknowledge their problem. When I get home I'll address the issue once and only once with them. If they fail to correct the situation to my satisfaction (full refund), the matter will be referred to Governmental and civil consumer bureaus. Enough is enough.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 06:57 AM   #48
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travex View Post
The new unit failed with the freezing problem yesterday while being directed to a single destination. Twice in one hour during a 250mi ride. First freeze was 9 miles from home. Certainly I'm disappointed, both with the failure and the fact that Garmin will not acknowledge their problem. When I get home I'll address the issue once and only once with them. If they fail to correct the situation to my satisfaction (full refund), the matter will be referred to Governmental and civil consumer bureaus. Enough is enough.

If this is happening on several 350's, I'm sure you won't be alone on this "conversation" with Garmin.
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 04:43 PM   #49
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 144
Twice in the first forty miles today.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 06:24 PM   #50
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 144
3 freezes in 30 miles today.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 06:31 PM   #51
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,912
Bummer.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:30 AM   #52
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travex View Post
3 freezes in 30 miles today.
Just curious... Did you follow up (again) with Garmin on this?
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:00 PM   #53
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 144
Been too busy and will soon. Will update with details.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 02:55 AM   #54
Flying GS
Adventurer
 
Flying GS's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Oddometer: 12
Same problem with 350ML in the UK. Freezes daily. Reset + updated to no avail, contacted support, told them what happened and what I did, and they told me to... Reset + update :-)
Next step according to them is exchange, but I think from what I see here that it's not the answer!
Flying GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 03:17 AM   #55
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying GS View Post
Same problem with 350ML in the UK. Freezes daily. Reset + updated to no avail, contacted support, told them what happened and what I did, and they told me to... Reset + update :-)
Next step according to them is exchange, but I think from what I see here that it's not the answer!
That depends on whether they have created some kind of fix yet or not on the newest ones, right? The thing I wonder is why some freeze and others don't.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:16 PM   #56
Jantan
n00b
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 6
Hello from Finland! I got my Zumo 350LM last summer and it worked fine until this spring. During the winter I did not use it and during my first drive in april it got STUCK

I contacted Garmin Finland and they said I could have same map twice in the GPS, but I didn't have and I tried hard reset (put one finger on the right bottom corner of the screen and push start button) I did helped for awhile, but then it froze again.

Two weeks ago I took it to the Garmin Finland (my luck it is only 1km away) and they said they are going to replace it. Today I got a brand new 350LM I updated it and ran for a test drive and WHAT THE HELL! IT GOT STUCK after a 30km. I booted it on the fly and rest of the 150km test run it worked ok!

My trust in this machine is gone!
Jantan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 01:15 PM   #57
Krono
Speed Junkie
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Heidiland
Oddometer: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
That depends on whether they have created some kind of fix yet or not on the newest ones, right? The thing I wonder is why some freeze and others don't.
Someone (motocyclu) here http://www.sorcieremonique.com/t1278...ge-zumo-340-lm (maybe) have a cure :

translated ---> "remove (cut) with a cutter the small (rubber) separation between the contacts on the Zumo stand"

Worked for him : no more freezing since he did that.


btw, my 350 never freezes ... hope it lasts

L
__________________
SM510R
Krono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 06:21 AM   #58
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krono View Post
Someone (motocyclu) here http://www.sorcieremonique.com/t1278...ge-zumo-340-lm (maybe) have a cure :

translated ---> "remove (cut) with a cutter the small (rubber) separation between the contacts on the Zumo stand"

Worked for him : no more freezing since he did that.


btw, my 350 never freezes ... hope it lasts

L

That's interesting.

Based on this it should be the case that if it freezes, it only happens on the motorcycle stand (assuming this is the stand they are talking about, my French is limited to a couple of swearing words).

On a car's dash board, connected differently, it should never freeze.

And if that is the case, Garmin should be sending new stands, not new Zumos to the people with the freezing problem.
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:47 AM   #59
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,912
I would keep making Garmin replace the unit until I got one that did not freeze. I would not start modifying things to try to fix their problem. Doing so only enables Garmin to avoid creating a real solution. At least, that is my opinion and worth every penny you paid for it.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:31 PM   #60
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
I would keep making Garmin replace the unit until I got one that did not freeze. I would not start modifying things to try to fix their problem. Doing so only enables Garmin to avoid creating a real solution. At least, that is my opinion and worth every penny you paid for it.

But if the problem is really on the stand, sending new machines will not solve it either.
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014