ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 01:13 PM   #1
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 81
478 and gpx2img

Question about loading a map set onto the 478.

I just got from a ebay a used 478. It came with nothing battery was toast. After putting a new battery in it everything works fine. My question is, will it erase the preloaded North America City Navigator ver. 8, if I attempt to load in a few roads and recreation counties, and or if I load a gpx2img map set. If I'm not mistaken it allways says "erasing previous maps".

If it does erase the preloaded City Nav, then I'm screwed because I do not have a cd....Correct??
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:05 PM   #2
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 628
Loading the secondary maps with MapSource will put them on an installed Garmin data card. The internal maps remain intact unless you use a separate program, IIRC MapUpdater. You may have to pick up a data card.
__________________
SW
Steve W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:05 PM   #3
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 81
Ok thanks, so I will pick up a data card and then I should be good to load a few MS Roads and Rec. counties.
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:13 PM   #4
Hill Climber
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ during winter
Oddometer: 226
Always do a backup

I always back up the internal memory to a file on my desktop, just in case I screw something up. Especially the map "gmapprom"
I do this to every gps I own, the day I bring it home from the store.
__________________
07 klr650 (for sale 3200ish)
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 09:28 PM   #5
HMR
Alps & Dirt Roads
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Vitemölla, Österlen, Sweden
Oddometer: 134
The battery is probably OK. But if totally emptied by the clock in the GPS it will not charge.

The battery has built in electronics that require battery power to run (!). Force charge the battery with an external source for a few seconds and then it can be charged normally in the unit.

Always remove the battery when storing a 276, 376, 278, 478.
__________________
HMR, KTM 690ER, Garmin 278, eTrex, Nüvi 760
HMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014