ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2013, 02:18 PM   #16
211
Adventurer
 
211's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: PNW
Oddometer: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryGee View Post
Coming from map source, I find Basecamp difficult to use, as it pertains to routing. In map source, you could click and lay down some waypoints between your start point and end point. Then, if you wanted to change any portion of the route, between waypoints, you could easily grab and drag the route line to wherever you wanted it.

With Basecamp, you enter the beginning and ending waypoints and then drag those into the auto routing box. I have no problem with that. For simple a to b routing its fine. However, the problem is that, even if you added multiple waypoints between A and B, you can't just drag and change the route for a particular section, without having the auto route change the rest of the route.

It's very frustrating. Perhaps I just don't know how to do it.... Any comments or advice?
Why not use Google Maps to do the heavy lifting then drag and customize your route from there.. you can then convert it to gpx and use BC to export it to the device.
I'm assuming you're using a Garmin since you're using Basecamp.

Custom routing (dragging the route line around) doesnt work too well on offroad maps in GM since it needs existing/mapped roads to work from. Forest service roads are usually charted in GM but lots of the spur and connector roads are not.
211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 09:49 AM   #17
LarryGee OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: West Central Florida
Oddometer: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by 211 View Post
Why not use Google Maps to do the heavy lifting then drag and customize your route from there.. you can then convert it to gpx and use BC to export it to the device.
Because the conversion to gpx is a pia...and...it never converts perfectly. Has to be recalculated and tweaked .
LarryGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:33 AM   #18
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryGee View Post
Because the conversion to gpx is a pia...and...it never converts perfectly. Has to be recalculated and tweaked .
I don't advocate using Google Maps "instead of" BaseCamp but I do use GM on occasion. It is easier these days to transfer GM data to BaseCamp. Just open your "My Places" and select your route. There should be an option to save it as a KML file.



BaseCamp can import KML/KMZ files as TRACKS. If you think they follow roads that are on your installed map, you can create a Route from the Track with two clicks. Not such a PIA....
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:38 AM   #19
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 13,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryGee View Post
Coming from map source, I find Basecamp difficult to use, as it pertains to routing. In map source, you could click and lay down some waypoints between your start point and end point. Then, if you wanted to change any portion of the route, between waypoints, you could easily grab and drag the route line to wherever you wanted it.

With Basecamp, you enter the beginning and ending waypoints and then drag those into the auto routing box. I have no problem with that. For simple a to b routing its fine. However, the problem is that, even if you added multiple waypoints between A and B, you can't just drag and change the route for a particular section, without having the auto route change the rest of the route.

It's very frustrating. Perhaps I just don't know how to do it.... Any comments or advice?
Once you figure out where the route modify tool bar is and how to use it, base camp routes and modifies routes very similarly to Mapsource. Better in some ways and not quite as nice others ways.
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:38 AM   #20
SkiBumBrian
DualSport Crazy !!
 
SkiBumBrian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Redding, CA
Oddometer: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by byways View Post
I do tracks with BaseCamp, no routes yet. I've found advantages, and real dangers with BC.

An advantage is the ability to toggle instantly between different tracks across the same area to compare them; or to compare tracks that have been edited down with the original.

If I understand correctly how BC works, it is a database, and the data seems to be shared among relevant tracks. A danger lies in making a change to a specific track that unintentionally takes effect globally, in every track that shares the same data.

One has to be careful in assuring that changes are done solely to the track they're supposed to occur in. Even just changing the name of a track can have consequences that ripple through other "lists," as BC calls them.

I think.
You can choose to delete or edit waypoints, tracks and routes globally or only the list you are working on... There is a British sounding guy on YouTube that has some good tutorials.
__________________
"Where ever you are, there you go..."
SkiBumBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014