ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2013, 01:18 PM   #1
shepp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Isle of Man
Oddometer: 55
Zumo 550 map update

After many many hours and many emails to Garmin l have at last managed to update my maps on my Zumo 550. It seems that the internal memory of the Zumo is not big enough to hold the lifetime Europe mapping, so it has to be loaded onto an sd card. I cannot tell you how much hassle this has been, but then out of the blue l received an email from a guy at Garmin giving me dirctions on how to do this. Why on earth l was'nt given this info from Garmin months ago l'll never understand.

Just hope that this is of use to anyone else trying to update their 550!
shepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 02:52 PM   #2
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,161
And how was the TT?

zumoforums.com is a good source for these kind of questions. I have been putting the maps on a SD card for a few years now.
Twohondas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:15 AM   #3
FlyRide
FlyRide
 
FlyRide's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Brussels (BE), Lyon (FR)
Oddometer: 12
Hello.

I was just wondering if you could share those instructions that got from Garmin.

I am currently struggling with updating my Zumo 550, and the sloooooow response from Garmin support doesn't to reduce my stress. Leaving to the BMW Motorrad Days in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in a couple days and I'd really like to have the GPS more usable than just as an expensive paper stone.

Thanks!
Christophe
__________________
'Goyust alorir gayiyla'
(The road leads everywhere, Mandalorian saying)
FlyRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:40 PM   #4
KaytM
Just a fella.
 
KaytM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland.
Oddometer: 202
How big of an SD card do you need for the full Euro maps and how do you tell it to store onto the SD card please?

**Edit** got a 660!!
__________________
2006.5 990 ADVENTURE.

KaytM screwed with this post 07-06-2013 at 12:21 PM
KaytM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:29 PM   #5
FlyRide
FlyRide
 
FlyRide's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Brussels (BE), Lyon (FR)
Oddometer: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaytM View Post
How big of an SD card do you need for the full Euro maps and how do you tell it to store onto the SD card please?

**Edit** got a 660!!
Since you have a 660, my answer is only for the 550 that I have.
I used a 4GB card and it's 4/5 used for all Europe, full details.

About doing the update, nor Garmin Express, MapUpdate, WebUpdate, BaseCamp, and whatever else Garmin's support advised me to do didn't work. And the end since I had a trip scheduled I went to a Garmin front desk to ask for direct support. They actually did it for me in 24 hours.

Keep us posted on your endeavour!
__________________
'Goyust alorir gayiyla'
(The road leads everywhere, Mandalorian saying)
FlyRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014