ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-13-2013, 03:29 PM   #1
littlefield OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SE Texas
Oddometer: 110
Zumo 350/Mapsource

I'm having problems establishing communications between my Zumo 350 and notebook running Mapsource. When I try do download a route it can't find the GPS. Mapsource has 2009 non-NT version of CNNA. I have no problem communicating on another computer running Basecamp. I can see the Zumo in Explorer and Webupdater on the netbook. I have a feeling the USB driver is incorrect. I updated it off the Garmin website and it loaded it in another directory other than the one containing Mapsource.
Can somebody running Mapsource and the Zumo 350 tell be what version USB driver you're using and where in the directory it's located?
littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 04:20 PM   #2
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,905
Not what you want to hear, but use BaseCamp. The maps have changed since MapSource was current, and something about the way the roads are now segmented can be problematic if you make routes in MapSource with the newer maps. But, BaseCamp is free, so no worries.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 04:03 AM   #3
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,712
Have you updated Mapsource lately? Sounds like you may need a driver update for the new unit.

And you could have problems loading a route from Mapsource to the GPS due to differing maps on each unit.

Better to use Basecamp as it loads map data from the GPS.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:44 AM   #4
littlefield OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SE Texas
Oddometer: 110
I don't know why I'm reluctant to load Basecamp on the netbook. Sounds like the easiest thing.
littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 03:46 PM   #5
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,905
On a netbook? They don't have much processing power, do they?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 04:06 PM   #6
Schrauberklaus
***ifyer
 
Schrauberklaus's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Phuket ,Thailand
Oddometer: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlefield View Post
I'm having problems establishing communications between my Zumo 350 and notebook running Mapsource. When I try do download a route it can't find the GPS. Mapsource has 2009 non-NT version of CNNA. I have no problem communicating on another computer running Basecamp. I can see the Zumo in Explorer and Webupdater on the netbook. I have a feeling the USB driver is incorrect. I updated it off the Garmin website and it loaded it in another directory other than the one containing Mapsource.
Can somebody running Mapsource and the Zumo 350 tell be what version USB driver you're using and where in the directory it's located?
Do you use the Garmin USB Cable ?
The Pinout is differnt to standart USB Cables .
__________________
Klaus
___________________________
Honda XL 600 R(S) 84 , Honda XR 600 Dual Carb. 87
Honda XR 280 R Sumo 04 , Honda XR 250 Baja 98
Yamaha Speed MX ( 2 Stroke ) 01 ,CRF250L 13
Schrauberklaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:50 PM   #7
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlefield View Post
I don't know why I'm reluctant to load Basecamp on the netbook. Sounds like the easiest thing.
Netbook or notebook?

I couldn't get Basecamp to load onto my netbook with a 32GB SSD. The failed install info wanted me to remove a bunch of .Net frameworks files. Didn't go there. I think the install failure has something to do with the write-leveling alogrithm for the SSD. I'm "making do" with Mapsource.
I do have Basecamp on the desktop which has a conventional hard drive.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:56 PM   #8
littlefield OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SE Texas
Oddometer: 110
I believe it's referred to as a netbook. Runs Windows XP, 1GB ram, pretty good sized hard drive, Intel Atom processor, 10" screen. Small package makes it easy to bring along. I got Basecamp to install and uploaded CNNA. Everything seems to work okay but I haven't tried to create and transfer any routes.
littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 10:58 PM   #9
Schrauberklaus
***ifyer
 
Schrauberklaus's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Phuket ,Thailand
Oddometer: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
Netbook or notebook?

I couldn't get Basecamp to load onto my netbook with a 32GB SSD. The failed install info wanted me to remove a bunch of .Net frameworks files. Didn't go there. I think the install failure has something to do with the write-leveling alogrithm for the SSD. I'm "making do" with Mapsource.
I do have Basecamp on the desktop which has a conventional hard drive.
I run Basecamp on Different Laptops and Desktops with HD and SSD Drives no Problem .

Guess you need min 4 GB Ram .

Making Routes in Mapsource or Basecamp and transfer to the Zumo 350 work (only with the Garmin USB Cable) but the Zumo 350 hang up and need a reset every 20 km if i try to follow the Route .
Making the Route direct on the Zumo work and that piece of Shit don't need a reset .
But that is not my only Problem . Will change to a Montana in near future
__________________
Klaus
___________________________
Honda XL 600 R(S) 84 , Honda XR 600 Dual Carb. 87
Honda XR 280 R Sumo 04 , Honda XR 250 Baja 98
Yamaha Speed MX ( 2 Stroke ) 01 ,CRF250L 13
Schrauberklaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 03:54 AM   #10
Remo76
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Oddometer: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schrauberklaus View Post
I run Basecamp on Different Laptops and Desktops with HD and SSD Drives no Problem .

Guess you need min 4 GB Ram .

Making Routes in Mapsource or Basecamp and transfer to the Zumo 350 work (only with the Garmin USB Cable) but the Zumo 350 hang up and need a reset every 20 km if i try to follow the Route .
Making the Route direct on the Zumo work and that piece of Shit don't need a reset .
But that is not my only Problem . Will change to a Montana in near future

Hello,

I have the 350LM and am looking for maps for Japan, I'm stationed there and need maps. And suggestions would b appreciated.
Remo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 03:57 AM   #11
Remo76
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Oddometer: 2
MAPS of Japan for 350LM

Hello

I have a garmin 350LM and I'm looking for maps of Japan. I am stationed in Yokosuka and need maps please

Thank you
Brian
Remo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014