ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
Garmin 62stc...what am I doing wrong?

Leaving on a trip around Lake Superior tomorrow and wanted to download Cannonshot's GPX file as found here on ADV Rider. I've downloaded it to my Mac, opened it in Basecamp, and everything is there on my screen. I let it upload (reading map) and it's on my computer.

I've tried exporting it to my device more times than I can count and nothing transfers.

What am I doing wrong? Can someone walk me through this?
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:40 PM   #2
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
I'm highlighting the folder that contains the tracks and waypoints and sending them to my device. The transfer is instant and says they were sent...all 995 of them. But none show up on the unit.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:45 PM   #3
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Don't use Basecamp but assuming they went. All tracks downloaded to 62/78 default off, you must turn each one on one at a time. Another flaw with the 62/78 over the 60/76.

You may want to look at my 62/78 setup istructions on DualSportWest.com It makes using them for tracks much easier.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Don't use Basecamp but assuming they went. All tracks downloaded to 62/78 default off, you must turn each one on one at a time. Another flaw with the 62/78 over the 60/76.

You may want to look at my 62/78 setup istructions on DualSportWest.com It makes using them for tracks much easier.
Nothing has transferred from my Mac to the unit. It says they have, but nothing made it.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 01:49 AM   #5
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bultaco206 View Post
But none show up on the unit.
You need to be more specific, do none of them show up on the gps's display or none of the track names show up in 'Track Manager' in the gps?

When a *.gpx file gets exported using BC or copied to the gps, the file needs to reside in the 'Garmin/GPX' directory on either the uSD card or in the 'Garmin/GPX' directory in the units internal memory. Yes...you can place the file in one of two possible locations. Once the file is placed there, you can use 'Track Manager' to display a specific track on the gps's display.

When you 'Export' a list from BC to the gps, the file will take the list name with an .gpx file extension.

dlh62c screwed with this post 07-17-2013 at 02:01 AM
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 03:47 AM   #6
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
I downloaded the file to my Mac, opened Basecamp, opened the file in Finder, and it opens itself within Basecamp.

I renamed the file and it shows in the My Computer section of the software with all 995 waypoints and such listed below. Then when I transfer it to my device it goes through the motions and tells me everything transferred.

But no waypoints or tracks show up on my device.

I'm leaving right now. I've spent 4 hours on this last night and overnight. A friend downloaded the same file and everything worked on his device. On the phone last night he couldn't figure out what's wrong, either.

Guess I will go without it. Paper maps it is.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 10:13 AM   #7
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bultaco206 View Post
But no waypoints or tracks show up on my device.
From post above: "You need to be more specific, do none of them show up on the gps's display or none of the track names show up in 'Track Manager' in the gps?"

If you answer questions, you may get more help.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:36 PM   #8
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
I did a hard reset of the unit and got the tracks and waypoints to transfer. They are visible. But I cannot navigate...I press GO and nothing happens.

I finished my Lake Superior trip old school, with a map.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:29 PM   #9
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bultaco206 View Post
I did a hard reset of the unit and got the tracks and waypoints to transfer. They are visible. But I cannot navigate...I press GO and nothing happens.
If they all show on map, you are set to ride. If you were really following maps, you should have noticed that the big black arrow (you) was always following the track on your GPS.

Very few people "Navagate" tracks. Just follow them. We have hundreds of riders follow Dual Sport Event tracks in District 37 and none of them Navagate them.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:31 PM   #10
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
I understand that. But I can load a waypoint that I wish to navigate to and nothing happens.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:36 PM   #11
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bultaco206 View Post
I understand that. But I can load a waypoint that I wish to navigate to and nothing happens.
You really have to be more specific for any one to help you.

You download a waypoint.
You push "Find", " Move to Waypoint, "Enter" move to the waypoint in question, "Enter", "GO", move to "Direct or another type", "Enter" and nothing happens?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:37 PM   #12
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
You really have to be more specific for any one to help you.

You download a waypoint.
You push "Find", " Move to Waypoint, "Enter" move to the waypoint in question, "Enter", "GO" and nothing happens?
Correct. Something has changed.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:42 PM   #13
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bultaco206 View Post
Correct. Something has changed.
If you use "Direct", it doesn't jump to map page and show a pink line from where you are to the waypoint?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
Bultaco206 OP
Back-to-back motos suck
 
Bultaco206's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Mineral Point, WI
Oddometer: 1,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
If you use "Direct", it doesn't jump to map page and show a pink line from where you are to the waypoint?
No. When I choose a waypoint, and it prompts me to hit "GO" nothing happens. It's just goes back to the map screen with no mileage to the waypoint or any arrowed directions.
__________________
'07 DL650, '06 DR650, '06 KLX351, '97 DR350, '83 XR350R (vintage GP racer), '74 Bultaco Alpina (trials)
Bultaco206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014