ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2013, 12:12 PM   #9946
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal, for a couple of weeks.
Oddometer: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
Meinmotorrad- I'd double check your pump installation to ensure all of your connections are solid.
Hmmm. I'm going to get stuck into the tank when the clips are delivered. I didn't safety wire in the pump, I wonder if this is an issue.
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 02:59 PM   #9947
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 802
Rally Raid sells this custom tool for removing the OEM fuel pump...



Fuel Pump Connector Tool
__________________
DoD#1458 | GaijinRiders | 2010 KTM 690 Enduro
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 04:11 PM   #9948
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadracer_Al View Post
Yes and no. The type shown above with "ratcheting" notches can sometimes be assembled with waterpump (aka channelok) pliers.

The solid-band type is best done with either a modified (dulled) "hoof cutter" plier or a proper tool.

To remove the ratchet type, grab the loose end and lift it off the tab. It's possible to use a small screwdriver to spread the solid band crimps, but the crimped hose is usually damaged with this method. The crimp itself is easily cut off with the above-mentioned hoof-cutter pliers, which look like this:
You can also use regular side cutter pliers to cut off the crush clamps. You don't want to use a hoof-cutter to install (crush) a new clamp. As someone mentioned, you can get the install tool from Motion Pro, but I bought mine from Lowe's in the plumbing section. $19.00 This tool is usually located in the area where 1" or 1 1/4" black PVC above ground water line is sold. In Texas this PVC is often used on ranches to plumb water to stock tanks, etc. fastened with crush clamps.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 04:31 PM   #9949
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
You can also use regular side cutter pliers to cut off the crush clamps. You don't want to use a hoof-cutter to install (crush) a new clamp. As someone mentioned, you can get the install tool from Motion Pro, but I bought mine from Lowe's in the plumbing section. $19.00 This tool is usually located in the area where 1" or 1 1/4" black PVC above ground water line is sold. In Texas this PVC is often used on ranches to plumb water to stock tanks, etc. fastened with crush clamps.
Who's hiding that LIKE button around here?

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 06:37 PM   #9950
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
Who's hiding that LIKE button around here?

Dirty
FaceBook, never heard of it.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 06:55 PM   #9951
DirtWarrior
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Oddometer: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldbear View Post
The original filter is Mahle KL15 (part # 77132806) which was widely used in many Euro cars in the 80's.

Napa 3011 is an alternative if Mahle filters aren't available.

KTM filter kit comes with a new screen and clamps. The original Oetiker clamps aren't reusable so it's a good idea to grab a couple of fuel injection clamps when you get filter.
Thanks! I'll grab one tomorrow at Napa.
__________________
2014 KTM 500 EXC
2009 KTM 690 Adventure
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W ---Sold
DirtWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:21 AM   #9952
CordR
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 511
Handlebar mounted ignition switch

Does anyone have any experience with one of these?

http://www.trailtech.net/040-HMS-A3A.html




I've searched through this thread and others and seem to be getting mixed reviews/responses.

A riding buddy has this one on his 690 but it came with the bike when he purchased it......though he swears by it.

I've seen people discuss the Leo Vince one and this Trail Tech one....but this TT one does not list the 690 on the web site. A few others have made their own, but I won't be going to that level of effort.....and I'd screw it up.

I emailed TT (and KTM Twins because Twins also sells the same switch) and they basically told me the same thing. 'we haven't actually fit one to a 690 so we don't know' or 'the box doesn't list 690 so we aren't sure'.

I'd like to confirm if possible that it's ok on the 690, but you'll only get to use 3 of the 4 map settings since these switches only have the 3 settings. Then it's just a matter of making sure I can use settings 1, 2, 3 (as opposed to using 0, 1, 2) etc.

Any firsthand feedback would be appreciated.

My primary goal is to be able to access setting #1 easily when I get into slippery conditions. I played with that in a rather wet ride back in May and I found it quite helpful. But on my two week trip coming up in Sep, I'd rather not remove the seat AND the GL luggage just to get at the switch.


thx

Cord
CordR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:48 PM   #9953
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by CordR View Post
Does anyone have any experience with one of these?

http://www.trailtech.net/040-HMS-A3A.html




I've searched through this thread and others and seem to be getting mixed reviews/responses.

A riding buddy has this one on his 690 but it came with the bike when he purchased it......though he swears by it.

I've seen people discuss the Leo Vince one and this Trail Tech one....but this TT one does not list the 690 on the web site. A few others have made their own, but I won't be going to that level of effort.....and I'd screw it up.

I emailed TT (and KTM Twins because Twins also sells the same switch) and they basically told me the same thing. 'we haven't actually fit one to a 690 so we don't know' or 'the box doesn't list 690 so we aren't sure'.

I'd like to confirm if possible that it's ok on the 690, but you'll only get to use 3 of the 4 map settings since these switches only have the 3 settings. Then it's just a matter of making sure I can use settings 1, 2, 3 (as opposed to using 0, 1, 2) etc.

Any firsthand feedback would be appreciated.

My primary goal is to be able to access setting #1 easily when I get into slippery conditions. I played with that in a rather wet ride back in May and I found it quite helpful. But on my two week trip coming up in Sep, I'd rather not remove the seat AND the GL luggage just to get at the switch.
thx
Cord
I have the TrailTech unit on my Berg FE390 and like it so I ordered the "orange" one you show above for my 690. It has not arrived yet.
My guess is there is no plug-in up at the headlight area and will probably have to wire back to the under-seat switch harness. Also I will need to verify the TrailTech switch has the correct Ohm values before I install it.

Measured from underseat map switch:
0 = Poor Fuel = open/infinity
1 = Soft = 14.9 Kohm
2 = Advanced(Wild) = 6.8 Kohm
3 = Standard = 4.7 Kohm

If the measured values on the TrailTech KTM map switch version are close to these values then it should work fine, other that it probably won't be plug-and-play and will need a bit of custom wiring. If the TrailTech KTM map switch does not have the correct values, I also know how to modify it...

The 4th map you can't used from the switch would be "0" = open, the "poor fuel" map, and that could just be a bullet connector(for example) under the seat or up in the front mask for those special situations and the bullet connector would break the line on one of the two wires from the TT map switch. I'll take pictures when I do the install.

Noticed my '13 690 Enduro R also does not seem to have a plug under the front display for the Tripmaster switch. I have a Tripmaster switch on my Adventure 990S and on my Berg 390, but again nobody including KTMtwins knows of a Tripmaster switch for the 690 Enduro, even though the Duke has one available as an option. These bikes have been out since '08 so I'm amazed nobody seems to know about these yet.

Speaking of wiring, I haven't received my shop manuals from the dealer yet so I need the wiring schematic if someone would be so kind as to PM me that. Thanks!

cyborg screwed with this post 07-27-2013 at 09:20 PM
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:53 PM   #9954
CordR
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Oddometer: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg View Post
I'll take pictures when I do the install.

Thanks, Cyborg. Your pics and info would be helpful.

I've seen a lot of people discuss it, but I haven't seen anyone come back and say ok, I bought it, here are the results, etc....


Thanks,

Cord
CordR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 05:34 PM   #9955
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by CordR View Post
Does anyone have any experience with one of these?

I'd like to confirm if possible that it's ok on the 690, but you'll only get to use 3 of the 4 map settings since these switches only have the 3 settings. Then it's just a matter of making sure I can use settings 1, 2, 3 (as opposed to using 0, 1, 2) etc.

My primary goal is to be able to access setting #1 easily when I get into slippery conditions. I played with that in a rather wet ride back in May and I found it quite helpful. But on my two week trip coming up in Sep, I'd rather not remove the seat AND the GL luggage just to get at the switch.


thx

Cord
Cord,
Easy cheap way to do it. Cut the wire with the plug on it and extend it long enough so you can mount the potentiometer somewhere up on the front of the bike. It doesn't matter if you switch the wires... I did this a few weeks ago.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 12:04 AM   #9956
ktmmitch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: uk
Oddometer: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg View Post
I don't have a picture of one of the round internal fuel line connectors I have on my Husaberg FE (which I assume the 690 has too) but that kit I pointed to is for various sizes. You pop off the size you need then over the hose, slide it into the round hose connector and it pushes all the tabs at once and opens up.

Best I can do without pix.
We designed our own injection-moulded disconnect tool for the push-fit fuel connectors,which can be attached to a key-ring,so you have it ready when needed.
As its plastic,it does not damage the connector,and its ORANGE!!

http://www.rally-raidproducts.co.uk/...connector-clip
ktmmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:03 AM   #9957
mbrick
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: West coast red sticker territory
Oddometer: 138
I ordered a new 40T OEM Sprocket from the dealer P/N 75010051040. Came with the KTM P/N and barcode sticker on it, but it is a PBR Sprocket and in their packaging. Are they an OEM for KTM?

I've never seen a part from another manufacturer with a KTM P/N sticker just added to it so I am curious.
mbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:09 AM   #9958
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 4,063
I'm planning on picking up a rear wheel lift at cycle gear today.
What size is the thread for the spools on the swing arm?

Sent from outside my mind.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:34 AM   #9959
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmmitch View Post
We designed our own injection-moulded disconnect tool for the push-fit fuel connectors,which can be attached to a key-ring,so you have it ready when needed.
As its plastic,it does not damage the connector,and its ORANGE!!

http://www.rally-raidproducts.co.uk/...connector-clip
Hi John, that's a nifty bit to have in the bike toolkit, had not seen that before until this thread, and orange makes it near irresistible.

I bought my NAPA set (6 sizes for $12) a year ago for my Husaberg FE and they didn't have them in blue
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 03:50 PM   #9960
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,595
Finally swapped out my Leo V can for a FMF Q4. The Q4 is definitely more quiet so I'm happier.

__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015