ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2013, 08:01 AM   #10036
NovaMoto
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Oddometer: 133
Is the noise coming from up top? If so pull the valve cover and check the rocker bearings and CCT before you start ripping the top-end apart.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakrj View Post
So, the other day, I pull over to get some gas and as bike revs slow to idle, sounds like I've got a bag of loose bits floating around in my engine. Kill the motor, and as it starts, sounds like I've got some cam chain slap going on. Noise dies down, but if I blip the throttle, can hear all sorts of pinging noises as the revs drop back down to idle. No choice but to limp home, and no noise at constant speed. I'm thinking it might be my tensioner/cam chain/guides/rockers (bearings). Anyone got any thoughts before I pull it apart? Around 21,000kms on the clock
NovaMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:57 AM   #10037
motoged
Studly Adventurer
 
motoged's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzztail View Post
I find that I turn the damper off in the deep sand. Dunno. Maybe it's just that all we seem to ride in Florida is deep sand, but the bike floats around in a more predictable manner with no dampening. When it's set up higher it seems like it's fighting what it wants to do.


Buzz,
Thanks for that tip....I only encounter deep sand when in Baja or southern US deserts....every other year on vacation.....so thanks for the tip.

I simply hate riding in deep sand....don't have the uncommon sense to wick it up and "plane"....so I am fighting it all the way....
__________________
Ged Schwartz
Kamloops , BC


Baja '05 , Baja 06/07 , Baja 08/09 , BC Alpine Single Track




motoged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 11:22 AM   #10038
Jarrek
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Oddometer: 23
Could anybody who has an Akrapovic exhaust help me out a little? I somehow lost the bolt from the dbkiller. Could somebody please tell me what kind of bolt goes there so I can replace it?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
2013 KTM 690 SMC R
Jarrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 11:35 AM   #10039
Olle
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Göteborg
Oddometer: 11
Fork seal replacement.

Howdy.

I changed the fork seal and oil for the first time today. Not sure about the result yet though. Dident have time to change both today and that was probably good. Because when I compared them, they both feelt good when I put weight on them. But when I griped at the foot of the fork and rotated them, the one I changed oil and seal on was slower to rotate. It also was more "sound and vibration".

Is this normal or did I do something wrong? :S

Thanks
Olle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 12:29 PM   #10040
blakrj
Need to ride
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Cloggland via Borneo, TX, UK, Oz and S.Africa
Oddometer: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaMoto View Post
Is the noise coming from up top? If so pull the valve cover and check the rocker bearings and CCT before you start ripping the top-end apart.
Doesn't entirely sound like its coming from the top. Dropped bike off at moto shop, as don't have the time right now. He'll pull it apart and check rockers, cam chain, tensioner, etc. - hoping he finds it quick and gets me back on the road again. Was colder today when I dropped it off, so only warmed up 2 bars. Not as much noise and for the rest, running fine.
__________________
2011 KTM 690 Enduro R, 2010 KTM 690 Enduro R (stolen)
2008 Yamaha YZ450, 2002 Yamaha YZ426
www.bruneibikers.com
www.airborneriders.com
blakrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 01:03 PM   #10041
Baja Dad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Baja Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Norco California
Oddometer: 1,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoged View Post
Buzz,
Thanks for that tip....I only encounter deep sand when in Baja or southern US deserts....every other year on vacation.....so thanks for the tip.

I simply hate riding in deep sand....don't have the uncommon sense to wick it up and "plane"....so I am fighting it all the way....
IMO
Install a GPR or a Scotts
You can not go wrong !!

when in deep Baja sand and silt TURN IT UP and plow thru it !!!
__________________
2014 support: GPR,IMS Aurora Rally Kriega, Raiden LS2,100Goggles,SIDI,Seat Concepts, Rally Raid Products UK,Precision Concepts, MX1West,Dunlop
Baja Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:04 PM   #10042
StevenD
Hmmmm, dirt!
 
StevenD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland, Amserdammed
Oddometer: 1,111
OK Here goes...

cluster .... to remote ...
18 1 (ground anywhere, not actually to 18 on the cluster
20 2 UP connect to ground on push
21 3 DOWN ''' ''
19 4 MODE also push connect to ground.
__________________
999 LC8 Rat-Rally custom - 500 EXC - XR666R '85

StevenD screwed with this post 08-02-2013 at 06:54 AM
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 03:23 PM   #10043
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenD View Post
OK Here goes...

cluster .... to remote ...
18 1 (ground anywhere, not actually to 18 on the cluster
02 2 UP connect to ground on push
21 3 DOWN ''' ''
19 4 MODE also push connect to ground.
Now we're onto something

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 11:21 PM   #10044
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenD View Post
OK Here goes...

cluster .... to remote ...
18 1 (ground anywhere, not actually to 18 on the cluster
02 2 UP connect to ground on push
21 3 DOWN ''' ''
19 4 MODE also push connect to ground.
Thanks Steven!

So the way I read it:

Cluster (32-pin)->Remote (4 wire)
18 ->1-> permanently connect to a chassis ground
02 ->2-> UP (temp connect to ground when button pushed)
21 ->3-> DOWN (temp connect to ground when button pushed)
19 ->4-> MODE (temp connect to ground when button pushed)

Does that look right? Is your information from a 990?

I checked these pin numbers against the 2012/13 690 Enduro R P10 Combination Instrument (Display) 32-pin wiring shown the the '13 shop manual wiring diagram. What I find is:

Cluster Pin
-------------
18 = currently unused
02 = used, orange wire, ground
21 = currently unused
19 = currently unused

Pin "02" (2?) concerns me because is is being used currently as a ground, so that would probably not work as the UP button.

Thoughts from the collective?

These are all the pins currently populated on my 2013 display (P10) connector)


cyborg screwed with this post 08-03-2013 at 09:34 PM Reason: corrected pinout diagram
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:44 AM   #10045
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyborg View Post
Thanks Steven!

So the way I read it:

Cluster (32-pin)->Remote (4 wire)
18 ->1-> permanently connect to a chassis ground
02 ->2-> UP (temp connect to ground when button pushed)
21 ->3-> DOWN (temp connect to ground when button pushed)
19 ->4-> MODE (temp connect to ground when button pushed)

Does that look right? Is your information from a 990?

I checked these pin numbers against the 2012/13 690 Enduro R P10 Combination Instrument (Display) 32-pin wiring shown the the '13 shop manual wiring diagram. What I find is:

Cluster Pin
-------------
18 = currently unused
02 = used, orange wire, ground
21 = currently unused
19 = currently unused

Pin "02" (2?) concerns me because is is being used currently as a ground, so that would probably not work as the UP button.

Thoughts from the collective?

These are all the pins currently populated on my 2013 display (P10) connector)

Some of the following may not apply because it is for a 2008 690E which has a similar (same?) instrument as current model 690's. Maurizio did a very nice installation of a TrailTech Vector on his 2008 690E which was documented in the old MegaThread and recently redone at Maurizio's Vector Installation. He gives the following pin out's:

Pin 2 - Ground
Pin 4 - FI fault Light
pin 7 - Fuel Reserve Light
pin 11 - Neutral Light
pin 12 - High Beam Light
pin 15 - Ground

This doesn't have much to do with the Trip master application except to confirm that on the 2008's , pin 2 is ground. High Beam light is on 12 rather than 8.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro

DirtJack screwed with this post 07-31-2013 at 05:26 AM
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 10:59 AM   #10046
fluff34567
Beastly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprouty115 View Post
I'm guessing you haven't had the surreal experience of an 80mph tank-slapper?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
One of those will make you shit your pants, doing one of those at 140 will make you see God DAMHIK!

yep it happened to me at 130kmh whilst passing a truck - i thought fall of truck or barrier side - not good!


it also happens at 80kmp with the bike unloaded.

its down to my front tyre which is a bit worn
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 11:00 AM   #10047
fluff34567
Beastly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 1,019
îm looking for a 14 tooth front sprocket - is there a KTM part that will fit or is it aftermarket only ?
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 11:47 AM   #10048
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluff34567 View Post
îm looking for a 14 tooth front sprocket - is there a KTM part that will fit or is it aftermarket only ?
Just put one on a couple of days ago. KTM part number 58033029014, $26.50
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:06 PM   #10049
sdd04
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: The Ozarks....SW MO, NW AR-great place to play!
Oddometer: 736
Thanks for the part number for the sprocket. This brings up a problem I'm having that maybe you all can help me with. When I go to KTM-Parts and go to open the different catalogs, like sprockets, what happens is the image of all the sprockets will be there for literally a second, and then the page is blank. Doesn't matter which catalog I try to open-it's the same.

I'm using IE10, but have had the same results with Google Chrome.

Any ideas?

Thanks
sdd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 01:06 PM   #10050
fluff34567
Beastly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
Just put one on a couple of days ago. KTM part number 58033029014, $26.50

excellent thanks.
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014