ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 10:53 PM   #136
Twigas
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Lilongwe, Malawi
Oddometer: 6
Topo map

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Note that I am not arguing and have not tried your techniques, but am I correct in understanding that you are:

1. navigating a route that, since it was made from your track in the dirt(?) has no routable roads under it?
2. although lacking the routable roads, the route holds its correct shape and placement over the map?
Hi EMoto,

I'm using Garmin's Southern Africa Top map. It is super. It even has foot paths on it! So most , but not all of where we ride is actually on the map, although not 100% accurate.

There is one thing that cheeses me off is that the detail drops off when you zoom out both on the Zumo & BaseCamp.

Cheers,
Twigas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 05:47 AM   #137
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twigas View Post
Hi EMoto,

I'm using Garmin's Southern Africa Top map. It is super. It even has foot paths on it! So most , but not all of where we ride is actually on the map, although not 100% accurate.

There is one thing that cheeses me off is that the detail drops off when you zoom out both on the Zumo & BaseCamp.

Cheers,
Thanks for the clarification!

What happens to you route-from-a-track if a section happens to go over an area where there is no routable road?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:25 AM   #138
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twigas View Post
I tried the BaseCamp filter. By filtering out the viapoints on BC your route ends up changing and you get straight lines between a few viapoints. Try it. Take one of your dirt bike trails that has over 1,000 viapoints and put 29 as the max viapoints. It will recalculate it, but look at the map you end up with...totally different animal.

Cheers,
Most of the time when you convert a Track to a Route you will have to do some "fixing" of the Route. To understand why, select one of your Tracks and zoom in on it so that you can see where the track points are compared to the road. If one of the points left after the filter is not exactly on the mapped road, BaseCamp has to decide if it is "close enough" or if it was intended to be off-of-the-road. Sometimes it can look like a point is on the road but if there is an intersection and the point is just a bit closer to the wrong road, when routing happens the route can be shaped the wrong way. Also, keep in mind that your digital map data is used to determine the routing and if there is bad or no route data in the map you will not get the route you expected.

Since you are using GARMAP Topo, it has routable and non-routable roads. Most likely your track(s) are using both so BaseCamp is looking for a routable path to route you.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 07-06-2013 at 06:33 AM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:34 AM   #139
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 7,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Thanks for the clarification!

What happens to you route-from-a-track if a section happens to go over an area where there is no routable road?
It will re-route around it following roads that are available on the map set.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:14 AM   #140
Ridin'nFishin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Oddometer: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
It will re-route around it following roads that are available on the map set.

Can you turn off auto re-route?
Ridin'nFishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:44 AM   #141
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multisurface Rider View Post
Can you turn off auto re-route?
Yes.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:00 PM   #142
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Just ran the map and software update on the 350LM that I sold to a friend, but have yet to deliver. Interestingly, part of it was adding the Tracks app.

I wonder what this means in actual use?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:21 PM   #143
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Just ran the map and software update on the 350LM that I sold to a friend, but have yet to deliver. Interestingly, part of it was adding the Tracks app.

I wonder what this means in actual use?
I believe that Garmin updated the zumo3xx series to support the same Tracks App as is found on the NAV5 but I have not heard confirmation of the details for the zumo 3xx implementation. On the NAV5, you can Import up to 200 Tracks to the Tracks App and each of those tracks can have up to 15,000 points. You can have up to 15 of your tracks showing on the Map concurrently. And, if you want to actively navigate a Track you can convert it to a Trip without changing the original path.

If you are navigating a converted Track you will want to set Recalculation to Off. This will avoid you having to stop the route and restart it should the NAV5 recalculate it. Recalculating it will screw up the route for sure if the route travels overland (no road on map).
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 02-26-2014 at 04:29 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 04:05 AM   #144
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I believe that Garmin updated the zumo3xx series to support the same Tracks App as is found on the NAV5 but I have not heard confirmation of the details for the zumo 3xx implementation. On the NAV5, you can Import up to 200 Tracks to the Tracks App and each of those tracks can have up to 15,000 points. You can have up to 15 of your tracks showing on the Map concurrently. And, if you want to actively navigate a Track you can convert it to a Trip without changing the original path.

If you are navigating a converted Track you will want to set Recalculation to Off. This will avoid you having to stop the route and restart it should the NAV5 recalculate it. Recalculating it will screw up the route for sure if the route travels overland (no road on map).
So, in theory, does this mean that one can push a track to the unit and then cause it to display on the screen? If so, that is a huge improvement.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:00 AM   #145
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
So, in theory, does this mean that one can push a track to the unit and then cause it to display on the screen? If so, that is a huge improvement.
If it doesn't do that they didn't port the main function of Tracks.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:56 AM   #146
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
If it doesn't do that they didn't port the main function of Tracks.
I just want to hear someone say they actually saw it work.

I bugged them about adding this to the 350 SO many times, but I want to be cautious about believing that they really did add it.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:59 AM   #147
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Pretty easy to check if you still have the zumo. Just connect it and send a Track or two (hundred) to the device. When you reboot the zumo you go to the Tracks App and Import.

Here's a 15K point Track to play with...
Attached Files
File Type: gpx 15,000pts.gpx (995.0 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 02-27-2014 at 08:08 AM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:23 AM   #148
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Pretty easy to check if you still have the zumo. Just connect it and send a Track or two (hundred) to the device. When you reboot the zumo you go to the Tracks App and Import.

Here's a 15K point Track to play with...
Thanks, but am in the office today, so can't really do much except post here.

After updating the unit, I packed it back up into the various bags and all into the original box with all the mounts, cords, etc., so it will be nice for the guy who bought it. I will probably just leave it alone unless I can't stand not knowing.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:50 AM   #149
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,548
Maybe some solace in that others will be checking it out for you...

I can't really imagine that the zumo team would port something less than is used on the NAV5. I think they [the zumo team] are on a path to raise the functional baseline for their brand.

Looking forward to seeing what comes next from them.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 09:14 AM   #150
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Maybe some solace in that others will be checking it out for you...

I can't really imagine that the zumo team would port something less than is used on the NAV5. I think they [the zumo team] are on a path to raise the functional baseline for their brand.

Looking forward to seeing what comes next from them.
(if true)
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R11200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Coupon: mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014