ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 05:00 PM   #46
adrenal OP
www.cafebeemer.com.au
 
adrenal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 458
Thanks for the heads-up CY. Great VID that!
__________________
Adrian
cafebeemer is now:http://www.skrunkwerks.com
farcebook page: http://facebook.com/skrunkwerks
instagram: #skrunkwerks
adrenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 05:37 PM   #47
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,430
can't wait to see pic's of this beast in action!
_cy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:23 PM   #48
bpeckm
Grin!
 
bpeckm's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Road Island
Oddometer: 5,677
....is it time to ask if you would ship it to Rhode Island so that I can test my bike......











... freekin' amazingly awesome!!
__________________
XS650 becomes a VT BackRoadRunner
Loving the 80ST
I love projects that take twice as much effort as should be needed. Should be an Airhead motto. (disston)
__________________
bpeckm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:46 PM   #49
pommie john
Beastly Adventurer
 
pommie john's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Oddometer: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpeckm View Post
....is it time to ask if you would ship it to Rhode Island so that I can test my bike......











... freekin' amazingly awesome!!


He'll be too busy bringing it around Australia.
__________________
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.
Bertrand Russell
pommie john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:54 PM   #50
adrenal OP
www.cafebeemer.com.au
 
adrenal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 458
It's only got one wheel! You guys have the two wheeled machines. Much easier for you to come to me...
__________________
Adrian
cafebeemer is now:http://www.skrunkwerks.com
farcebook page: http://facebook.com/skrunkwerks
instagram: #skrunkwerks
adrenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 05:22 AM   #51
adrenal OP
www.cafebeemer.com.au
 
adrenal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 458
Bolting it together

pretty pumped about getting it together:





__________________
Adrian
cafebeemer is now:http://www.skrunkwerks.com
farcebook page: http://facebook.com/skrunkwerks
instagram: #skrunkwerks
adrenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:15 PM   #52
_cy_
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oddometer: 5,430
OOOOoooohhhh ... NICE!!!!

_cy_ screwed with this post 09-02-2013 at 01:28 PM
_cy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:46 PM   #53
cam14
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 154
The level of quality in your work and execution are very impressive. I have a question based upon my experiences with dyno tuning my race car. Under load, I adjust fuel pressure for better air/fuel ratio (I have a wide band) and I adjust ignition timing; per the rules, not allowed to adjust much else. I can tell if the changes I made were good or not based on the torque and horse power curves. So back to the question, does your inertia dyno have a way to measure TQ and HP? If yes, then how? If no, then how will you use your dyno?
TIA
cam14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:16 AM   #54
pommie john
Beastly Adventurer
 
pommie john's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Oddometer: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam14 View Post
......... So back to the question, does your inertia dyno have a way to measure TQ and HP? If yes, then how? If no, then how will you use your dyno?
TIA



Inertial dynos measure the rate of change of speed of the drum which is proportional to the torque at the rear wheel. If you measure at short enough intervals and read the RPM of the motor at the same time you have enough information to measure torque and from torque and RPM, you ( or your computer ) can calculate horsepower.
__________________
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt.
Bertrand Russell
pommie john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:05 PM   #55
adrenal OP
www.cafebeemer.com.au
 
adrenal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Oddometer: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam14 View Post
The level of quality in your work and execution are very impressive. I have a question based upon my experiences with dyno tuning my race car. Under load, I adjust fuel pressure for better air/fuel ratio (I have a wide band) and I adjust ignition timing; per the rules, not allowed to adjust much else. I can tell if the changes I made were good or not based on the torque and horse power curves. So back to the question, does your inertia dyno have a way to measure TQ and HP? If yes, then how? If no, then how will you use your dyno?
TIA
Thanks for your kind words.

The inertia dyno produces torque V HP V AFR curves just like all dyno's. I think you'll find that many commercial dynos out their are the inertia type simply because they are cheaper. Some do both.

So you must be using a brake or absorption style dyno if you are twiddling while the bike/car is being held at steady state at a particular RPM. As you describe, that's the big advantage of these types of dyno.

With an inertia dyno, you have to do a run (typically 6-12 seconds), check HP TQ, AFR etc along the curves for a series of RPM's, twiddle, then do another run to check the result, then repeat

The advantage of inertia dyno aside from cost is that it more accurately replicates the conditions that the machine will see on the road which is why they are also called rolling road dynos. Particularly if the rotating mass is well matched to the machine which is what I've tried to do - we'll see what happens at the first pull! Inertia dynos also stress the machine less since run time is generally shorter.

Hope this explains things.
__________________
Adrian
cafebeemer is now:http://www.skrunkwerks.com
farcebook page: http://facebook.com/skrunkwerks
instagram: #skrunkwerks

adrenal screwed with this post 01-23-2014 at 06:21 PM
adrenal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:55 PM   #56
ttpete
Rectum Non Bustibus
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
Oddometer: 5,369
The biggest problem with an inertia dyno is that you can't do steady states and really tailor make an effective throttle opening vs. rpm fuel map. It's fine for a WOT max acceleration study, but there's a lot in between that needs to be addressed.
__________________
10 Ducati 1098 Streetfighter S - "Sleipnir"
09 Kaw Versys
67 Triumph Bonneville TT Special
"The problem with Socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money" _____ Margaret Thatcher
ttpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:31 PM   #57
Beemerboff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Oddometer: 2,221
If he had a Monolever a clever/knowledgeable man could link a strain gauge on the bottom link to an accurate rev counter, and on to a bit of electrickery, and get a reading , on the move, which would combine both inertia and brake dynos, that is instant HP at any given revs, and also the rate of change.
__________________
Adelaide Hills, Australia. 93 R100 GS, 77 R75/7 ,70 BSA B44VS, , 86 R80 G/S PD, 95 BMW Funduro F650 ST
Beemerboff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:55 PM   #58
weldingrod
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Oddometer: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemerboff View Post
If he had a Monolever a clever/knowledgeable man could link a strain gauge on the bottom link to an accurate rev counter, and on to a bit of electrickery, and get a reading , on the move, which would combine both inertia and brake dynos, that is instant HP at any given revs, and also the rate of change.
You lost me there Dude...but it sounds very impressive. All in all, anything which can help you measure modifications, be it benefit or detriment, helps with the learning curve....and if you get an instantanious read out, it all moves the process along faster.
weldingrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:02 AM   #59
ttpete
Rectum Non Bustibus
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Dearborn, MI
Oddometer: 5,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemerboff View Post
If he had a Monolever a clever/knowledgeable man could link a strain gauge on the bottom link to an accurate rev counter, and on to a bit of electrickery, and get a reading , on the move, which would combine both inertia and brake dynos, that is instant HP at any given revs, and also the rate of change.
You're still limited to transient data. It's not possible to run steady states, and that's how most development work is done. You could couple that drum to a water brake and have a more versatile rig.
__________________
10 Ducati 1098 Streetfighter S - "Sleipnir"
09 Kaw Versys
67 Triumph Bonneville TT Special
"The problem with Socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money" _____ Margaret Thatcher
ttpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 05:19 PM   #60
Beemerboff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2005
Oddometer: 2,221
You could just put it on the centrestand and run it against the back brake, for a steady speed measurement.

And a pendant might point out that as torque can only be measured at a steady speed , UNLESS YOU MEASURE AT STEADY SPEED YOU AINT ACTUALLY MEASURING HORSEPOWER.

They are still a useful tuning/ comparative tool, which is what they are intended to be , but a 62 BRAKE HP Vincent will outperform most 120 INERTIA HP bikes.
__________________
Adelaide Hills, Australia. 93 R100 GS, 77 R75/7 ,70 BSA B44VS, , 86 R80 G/S PD, 95 BMW Funduro F650 ST
Beemerboff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014