ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2013, 06:18 PM   #16
jengel451
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 666
Resurrecting this one......they are still supplying the mount with this problem, screw is way too short, the link above was a god send today.
jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 07:13 PM   #17
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by jengel451 View Post
Resurrecting this one......they are still supplying the mount with this problem, screw is way too short, the link above was a god send today.
We have four Rugged Mounts here and they are all still working properly. Once in a while my wife complains that she can't get the screw to fasten but if I just push the movable part in, and jiggle the gps a little to make the teeth on the mount go right into the slots on the gps, it always works. Maybe that was your problem?

I'd be surprised if Garmin was putting shorter screws in now, unless you got one of the defective stock.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:36 AM   #18
JD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
JD's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra
Oddometer: 361
I bought an AMPS mount direct from Garmin about 6 months or so ago, and the security screw wouldn't engage.

They replaced it with another one, but I have since fitted one of these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/50-Thumb-Scr...-/260684608371

When that link eventually dies the description was "50 Thumb Screw M3x10mm M3 For DIY Computer PC case Bl".

I just mounted it in a drill and used a file to grind down most of the threaded section, leaving a few mm of thread on the end and fitted the little spring and circlip from the standard screw.

And now I have 49 spares
JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:16 AM   #19
jengel451
1 Cool MotherF#$cker
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Eastern WA
Oddometer: 666
Trust me, I tried for about 20 minutes, different ways to get that thing to engage.

Garmin is sending me a new mount, I have to say, even though they may be slow to fix something in production, their customer service is pretty stinking good.
jengel451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014