ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 01:21 PM   #31
bkg123
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Milwaukie, Or.
Oddometer: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestrunas View Post
Hey I know this is a bit of an old thread, but it still comes up on a google search so I thought I would add my experience in this area.

I am running a SanDisk 16GB card without any problems.

Got all of North America installed and room left over for topos, though, as mentioned earlier they must be renamed via an external device to be recognized as the current map.

So, anybody got a 32GB in there yet?

Chris

3 DR650s (change 'em like my underwear:)
This might be irrelevant to this discussion, but I do have a 32gb sd in my Oregon 450 (a leftover from an old phone) and never had an issue with it. Supposedly the Oregon was also limited to 4 gb. It is a huge waste of a 32 gb card but didnt need it for anything else so....
__________________
Brian
Tiger 800XC
bkg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 11:41 AM   #32
ModRocker
Adventurer
 
ModRocker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Right On The Square, Madison, WI
Oddometer: 24
For whatever it's worth, I've been using a Transcend 8 GB microSDHC Class 6 card for about 3 years now without any issues. As far as I can tell, Garmin has still not provided a firmware update that would allow for access to multiple maps on a single card (without plugging into a laptop or phone and changing file names), and the size limit for the gmapsupp.img file is still 4GB. Given these limitations, I've found that the most practical thing to do is to carry a number of 4GB cards with a different map on each. The it's simple to swap them out on the fly.

One thing I am curious about, and maybe someone here knows the answer to, is whether the 60CSX is faster or more efficient (battery-wise) when it's working with a smaller map (say, only Wisconsin), rather than a larger (say, North America)? This would give another motivation for using multiple cards.
__________________
2006 Suzuki DL650, Surly Long Haul Trucker
ModRocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 12:25 PM   #33
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,958
Odds of them releasing any firmware updates for that line of receivers (60 and 76) is slim to none, considering there's the 62 and 78 series out now.

So unless you're willing to reverse engineer it and build your own ... i wouldn't hold my breath on it.

As far as speed/efficiency, no, not really. It's only reading the part of the map that it needs when you draw it, so it doesn't really matter how much data's on the card at any one time.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:31 AM   #34
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowMule View Post
As far as speed/efficiency, no, not really. It's only reading the part of the map that it needs when you draw it, so it doesn't really matter how much data's on the card at any one time.
It's cached the first time you start the gps after loading the map too. That's the slow part, but it's only done once.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:16 AM   #35
gmanski OP
=)
 
gmanski's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 113
After 3 years of heavy duty use, my gpsmap 60CSX still works perfect.
No matter if the 4GB or the 8GB micro SDHC-card is in use.

My 60CSX is mounted to the handlebar of the XRR with a bicycle-mount for 10 bugs.

Anyway, would be interesting to see how many operating hours your 60CSX has done so far.
You can find out by holding the "Startbutton" + the "ENTR" button at the same time when starting the device.

Mine has done 500 hours so far.
__________________
Honda XR650R
Kreidler Mustang
gmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:08 AM   #36
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanski View Post
Anyway, would be interesting to see how many operating hours your 60CSX has done so far. Mine has done 500 hours so far.
What are units, minutes?

I have:
900,000
400,000
300,000
150,000
on four76Cx

More interesting, how many miles on total Odometer? I have:
100,000
55,000
35,000
18,000
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:14 AM   #37
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,958
That timer can be reset with a page+enter+power.



__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 12:44 PM   #38
gmanski OP
=)
 
gmanski's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 113
@SnowMule:
Wow, thats what I call a worn GPS.
And I thought mine looks crappy.

How many hours has this 60CSX done before the reset (altogether)?

Are there any malfunctions of the device?
__________________
Honda XR650R
Kreidler Mustang
gmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:22 PM   #39
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,958
I'd had it for about 5 years before I sold it. No idea how many "hours" were on it, but I used it several times a week, pretty much all year. Snowmobile, motorcycle, truck.

It had definitely seen better days. Screen protector saved it numerous times.


Crashed and split it wide open a few years ago...


I was able to repair it and it picked up right where it left off.


Earlier this year it started having some problems....


Reloaded firmware a few times, wiped the card... Got it working mostly-well again, but it still had some issues.


Ended up selling it on ebay for over $100.
About once a year I'd wipe everything and reinstall it, seemed to work a little better afterwards.

Mid-2010...
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 12:04 AM   #40
PHILinFRANCE
Beastly Adventurer
 
PHILinFRANCE's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: S W France my little bit of paradise
Oddometer: 1,071
OK guys,
I've read all 3 pages a my heads in tatters

Please bare with me i'm a full blown technophobe !!!

Ok 60csx , love it , got SW France topo card and just bought

City Navigator (All Europe) , with a Sandisk 32gb .......thinking the bigger the better .................it would seem not

So i'm here trying to load the whole of Europe onto the 60 and, no way , seems i'll have to load sections as i need them !!!

Is this right ?

I'm planning a route round the Caspian Sea next year and can't load the full route , and as said not being the best person with computers i don't fancy dragging my laptop along on the trip

If anyone answers , PLEASE EXPLAIN IT IN ENGLISH not tech talk

Cheers Phil
__________________
I,M HERE FOR A GOOD TIME NOT ALONG TIME
PHILinFRANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:43 AM   #41
gmanski OP
=)
 
gmanski's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHILinFRANCE View Post
OK guys,
I've read all 3 pages a my heads in tatters

Please bare with me i'm a full blown technophobe !!!

Ok 60csx , love it , got SW France topo card and just bought

City Navigator (All Europe) , with a Sandisk 32gb .......thinking the bigger the better .................it would seem not

So i'm here trying to load the whole of Europe onto the 60 and, no way , seems i'll have to load sections as i need them !!!

Is this right ?

I'm planning a route round the Caspian Sea next year and can't load the full route , and as said not being the best person with computers i don't fancy dragging my laptop along on the trip

If anyone answers , PLEASE EXPLAIN IT IN ENGLISH not tech talk

Cheers Phil
Hi Phil,

I never thought of a SDHC card bigger than 8GB because I am almost exclusively using "open street maps" (these are maps that you can download from the internet for free) and they are max. 4GB in size, as far as I Know.
Furthermore I have never heared of somebody using a massive 32GB SDHC card in a 60CSX...
On this card there must be enough space to store a worldmap + a map of the moon
I have to admid that there are not too many roads on the moon but on the other hand the "Topo Australia-map" was also pretty large, although the outback does not have that many roads too ...anyway

When I am traveling trough many countrys on one trip I just put the Openstreetmaps from each country to a 4GB or 8GB SDHC card in advance.
When reaching a boarder, just switch to the appropriate map by changing the SDHC card inside the device.
Thats better than dragging a laptop along on the trip.
__________________
Honda XR650R
Kreidler Mustang
gmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:28 AM   #42
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHILinFRANCE View Post
If anyone answers , PLEASE EXPLAIN IT IN ENGLISH not tech talk
There's a lot of useful information on the 60CSx on this site including which card is best in the 60/76C(S)x, and how to deal with multiple maps.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 06:19 PM   #43
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
There's a lot of useful information on the 60CSx on this site including which card is best in the 60/76C(S)x, and how to deal with multiple maps.
+1

Just read it is all been explained many times.

For basics there is a set up thread on this site and I have another on DualSportWest.com
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 03:49 AM   #44
PHILinFRANCE
Beastly Adventurer
 
PHILinFRANCE's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: S W France my little bit of paradise
Oddometer: 1,071
Cheers for the feed back guys

When reaching a boarder, just switch to the appropriate map by changing the SDHC card inside the device.
Thats better than dragging a laptop along on the trip.

This crossed my mind "gmanski" and it seem the best way to go, thanks

Phil
__________________
I,M HERE FOR A GOOD TIME NOT ALONG TIME
PHILinFRANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 07:18 AM   #45
gmanski OP
=)
 
gmanski's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by PHILinFRANCE View Post
Cheers for the feed back guys

When reaching a boarder, just switch to the appropriate map by changing the SDHC card inside the device.
Thats better than dragging a laptop along on the trip.

This crossed my mind "gmanski" and it seem the best way to go, thanks

Phil
Yes I think this is the best way to do it, at least it works good for me.
It is possible to place the SDHC-cards with different map-material between the two batteries inside the GPS-device.
Just drag the two batteries slightly away from each other, there is plenty of space for 3 SDHC-cards.
__________________
Honda XR650R
Kreidler Mustang
gmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014