ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 27 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-29-2013, 01:48 AM   #31
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,317
mount

i think you want it close to the bar.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...&postcount=240

Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:30 PM   #32
silli
Into SM
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 17
I noticed that when I use iGo8 the map shows unpaved roads as brown lines. Not so with iGo Primo: unpaved or paved, it's all light yellow. The funny thing os it' the same exact map file. So the data is there but Primo's just that little bit more rough when visializing it.

Any clues on how to fix this? I tried all the color schemes That came with Primo to no avail. I could create one myself, but the format is cryptic enough to make it a good few hours iteration if doable at all.
silli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:38 AM   #33
-Macca-
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 73
Does this one charge via the cradle like the Peaklife one?
-Macca- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:55 AM   #34
silli
Into SM
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 17
Yes, it charges via the cradle.
silli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 01:55 PM   #35
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,317
Does the Gstart menu work on the "rage".

By a friend it is on but not working properly, he said.

Someone else have the problems
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 01:57 PM   #36
rpeter
Adventurer
 
rpeter's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Northeast hell
Oddometer: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myway View Post
Does the Gstart menu work on the "rage".

By a friend it is on but not working properly, he said.

Someone else have the problems
I haven't had any luck getting any other software running, besides the navigation program. This wasn't the case for the Peaklife, I had all sorts of stuff running on that.
rpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 02:00 PM   #37
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpeter View Post
I haven't had any luck getting any other software running, besides the navigation program. This wasn't the case for the Peaklife, I had all sorts of stuff running on that.
That should not be a problem, it is just a ce.
I do not have one here.

Maybe someone can explain how to install all.

Myway screwed with this post 09-21-2013 at 09:43 PM
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:51 PM   #38
rpeter
Adventurer
 
rpeter's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Northeast hell
Oddometer: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by silli View Post
I noticed that when I use iGo8 the map shows unpaved roads as brown lines. Not so with iGo Primo: unpaved or paved, it's all light yellow. The funny thing os it' the same exact map file. So the data is there but Primo's just that little bit more rough when visializing it.

Any clues on how to fix this? I tried all the color schemes That came with Primo to no avail. I could create one myself, but the format is cryptic enough to make it a good few hours iteration if doable at all.
I wonder if you are using the same unpaved road settings in Primo as you were with iGo8. The Primo manual has this to say:

Quote:
You can choose whether you want to use or avoid certain road types (page 74). However, when your software cannot avoid such roads, the route will include them and it will show them in a colour that is different from the route colour.
rpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:53 AM   #39
Tickrr
Adventurer
 
Tickrr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 24
How does the Rage compare to the Peaklife in terms of glare and visibility under the sun? Is it worth the upgrade?

Tickrr screwed with this post 10-06-2013 at 07:04 AM
Tickrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:57 AM   #40
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,317
A GPS contact wrote

The Rage is a beter model than the Peaklife, also the engineering is beter.
The screen is equal bad/good as the Zumo660, Montana is clearer.

The Holux 61cs is on the same level as Garmin

Only the update to a 4.3 screen is a step forwards.
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:01 PM   #41
Tickrr
Adventurer
 
Tickrr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myway View Post
A GPS contact wrote

The Rage is a beter model than the Peaklife, also the engineering is beter.
The screen is equal bad/good as the Zumo660, Montana is clearer.

The Holux 61cs is on the same level as Garmin

Only the update to a 4.3 screen is a step forwards.
The screen is better because it's bigger? Or also because it's easier to read in the sun?

My situation is my bike was stolen with the wiring harness attached, as well as the RAM mount. So I can spend about $25 to replace those, or I can get a new, and possibly better unit for about $100 more.
Tickrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:04 PM   #42
rpeter
Adventurer
 
rpeter's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Northeast hell
Oddometer: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tickrr View Post
The screen is better because it's bigger? Or also because it's easier to read in the sun?

My situation is my bike was stolen with the wiring harness attached, as well as the RAM mount. So I can spend about $25 to replace those, or I can get a new, and possibly better unit for about $100 more.
The larger screen is no easier to read in sunlight. My Rage has a thin plastic film over the touchscreen, and this film bows outwards on warm days. The result is it takes a good deal of pressure for touches to register. That's annoying. It's the only issue I have with the Rage so far.
rpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:16 PM   #43
Tickrr
Adventurer
 
Tickrr's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpeter View Post
The larger screen is no easier to read in sunlight. My Rage has a thin plastic film over the touchscreen, and this film bows outwards on warm days. The result is it takes a good deal of pressure for touches to register. That's annoying. It's the only issue I have with the Rage so far.
Thanks, that's good info. I'll probably stick with the Peaklife then. If I ever do upgrade it will probably be more substantial.
Tickrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:48 PM   #44
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tickrr View Post
Thanks, that's good info. I'll probably stick with the Peaklife then. If I ever do upgrade it will probably be more substantial.
I think when you used to ram mount, you probably will have this again if you wanted the "rage".

more substantial?

Then you thinking of a waterproof sunlicht readbele tablet, with handelbar remote.
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 01:11 AM   #45
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,317
http://www.adventurebikerider.com/fo...s-systems.html

SEE IT!
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014