ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 10:15 AM   #301
the venturer
Beastly Adventurer
 
the venturer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Thrace and Istanbul
Oddometer: 1,409
Hi. My few months old Voyager stopped its GPS function. Donno what s wrong? Any ideas.Thx in advance.
the venturer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 10:36 AM   #302
the venturer
Beastly Adventurer
 
the venturer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Thrace and Istanbul
Oddometer: 1,409
Sent unit back and they changed with a new one with all updates. Thanks TT

GT-N7100 cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
the venturer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 07:47 PM   #303
Dirty in all
Adrenaline Junkie
 
Dirty in all's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Connecticut
Oddometer: 168
I called trail tech a while ago but never posted results so here it is. They will give you the service code and procedure for setting your hours and mileage. As for the altitude not working properly they suggested an external antenna but honestly the unit on my bike sits higher than anything. Maybe the internal antenna lacks but altitude is the only function that has a problem.
Dirty in all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:41 PM   #304
Jungle Man
frenzied adventurer
 
Jungle Man's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Camas Washington
Oddometer: 382
Hi, I am trying to put the tour of idaho route on my trailtech voyager and failing miserably.
-
The message it gives me when I import the ride is "buffer overflow".

I am useless when it comes to this stuff.
Could I be exceeding waypoints?
Do i need to draw the line out in ride leader?


Any help is appreciated.
attatched is the route
Attached Files
File Type: gpx tour of idaho route done.gpx (1.88 MB, 32 views)
__________________
50% of our maintenance is caused by 50% of our maintenance.
-Dave
Ride it like you stole it
"If you're too busy to hunt and fish, you're too busy"
Jase-Duck Dynasty
Jungle Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 07:41 PM   #305
MotorcycleWriter
Banned
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: N.Alabama, World's Rockiest Trails
Oddometer: 891
This looks like the perfect answer for my R100GS. The original speedo is sort of starting to fail and I'm sick of prying it open. I need a clock/chronometer and that part alone will cost me as much as a Voyager and all it does it tell time. I would like maps but they aren't entirely necessary. I'm more interested in uploading tracks as well as being able to keep track of where I've been (so I can find my way back if necessary!) The price point is good but not really cheap so I want to know what I'm getting!

Couple of questions:
How big is it?
Is it backlit for nighttime use?
Can the compass be calibrated to account for nearby ferromagnetic objects?
Has it proven to be adequately water resistant?
Are the owners still reasonably happy with their units and are the units still working?
Is the website with tracks on it being maintained and growing?
MotorcycleWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 11:09 AM   #306
Adventure Addict
Doin it in the dirt
 
Adventure Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Wherever my bike takes me...
Oddometer: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotorcycleWriter View Post
This looks like the perfect answer for my R100GS. The original speedo is sort of starting to fail and I'm sick of prying it open. I need a clock/chronometer and that part alone will cost me as much as a Voyager and all it does it tell time. I would like maps but they aren't entirely necessary. I'm more interested in uploading tracks as well as being able to keep track of where I've been (so I can find my way back if necessary!) The price point is good but not really cheap so I want to know what I'm getting!

Couple of questions:
How big is it?
Is it backlit for nighttime use?
Can the compass be calibrated to account for nearby ferromagnetic objects?
Has it proven to be adequately water resistant?
Are the owners still reasonably happy with their units and are the units still working?
Is the website with tracks on it being maintained and growing?

  • Size: fairly compact, check the pictures to see the size. It fits well on the bike without intruding into the space or getting in the way.
  • Backlight: yes. works well
  • Compass: not sure, don't really use the compass feature much but it does seem to work as expected
  • Water resistant: YES! I use my Voyager in the Philippines where it rains a LOT.
  • Still working? Yes, still working. Only issue was the cable for the magnetic wheel sensor is not as robust as it should be and broke after a few months. Trailtech sent a new cable.
  • Happy? eh. I have had mine for three years now and it is great as a bike dashboard but I really don't use the GPS function as much now since I bought a Garmin Montana. Before the Montana it was OK... no maps but big track memory and it gave a line to follow with decent resolution. The track memory is very good, and you can log long tracks with really short intervals for detailed mapping of where you have been. Nowadays I throw my tracks into it just as a backup in case something happens to the Montana.
  • Website still being maintained? NO. No new firmware for the unit or updates to the Rideleader planning software for a very long time now. Trailtech either completely gave up on the unit or mistakenly thinks it is "perfect" now. The ohvtrails.net website appears to be coasting with only a few users adding anything to it. It was never very user friendly or productive though.

.
__________________
Boldly going where no dirtbike has gone before....
Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads!

Amazing dirtbike adventure in Asia:
http://www.philippineoffroadadventures.com
Adventure Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 05:28 PM   #307
AugustFalcon
Beastly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 1,024
Just got mine at the BMW MOA Rally in St Paul and am in the process of installing it on the KTM. It is replacing the VAPOR. I have a couple of fancy relatively new gps devices already. This was originally just going to be a backup and a track recorder. However after playing around with it it now has moved up a notch. The screen is easier to read and I really like the 2 map screens which can be at different zoom levels and only one click to switch between them.

I got the feeling when talking to the folks in the Trailtech booth that there were new products on the way and that they would be offering good upgrade pricing to previous customers. I believe them because they have always stood behind their products when necessary for me in the past.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56

AugustFalcon screwed with this post 08-04-2014 at 04:57 AM
AugustFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 12:41 PM   #308
dlorenz
Adventurer
 
dlorenz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Ventura CA
Oddometer: 19
Mounting options

Thinking of putting a Voyager onto my Husaberg 570. I want to mount it on top of my bar mounts so I don't cover my stock display.

Does it come with a mount that can do this?

How has it worked out?
dlorenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:28 PM   #309
Adventure Addict
Doin it in the dirt
 
Adventure Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Wherever my bike takes me...
Oddometer: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlorenz View Post
Thinking of putting a Voyager onto my Husaberg 570. I want to mount it on top of my bar mounts so I don't cover my stock display.

Does it come with a mount that can do this?

How has it worked out?

The mount it comes with works OK but isn't very robust. It is just a simple plastic clamp that clamps to the bar. Vibrates a LOT and is easily dislodged.

You probably want something like this though:




Available here:

http://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/...nt-Bracket-Top


.
__________________
Boldly going where no dirtbike has gone before....
Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads!

Amazing dirtbike adventure in Asia:
http://www.philippineoffroadadventures.com
Adventure Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:13 AM   #310
AugustFalcon
Beastly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 1,024
Got my hopes up but note says "Does not fit KTMs" :(((

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56
AugustFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:26 PM   #311
dlorenz
Adventurer
 
dlorenz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Ventura CA
Oddometer: 19
Bummer, thought the problem was solved.

Maybe we can make it fit KTM/Husabergs with a drill?
dlorenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:44 PM   #312
AugustFalcon
Beastly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 1,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlorenz View Post
Bummer, thought the problem was solved.

Maybe we can make it fit KTM/Husabergs with a drill?
Might work. Just measured the bolt spacing on my KTM; its about 3 9/16 inches or 90.49 mm. The plate claims to fit 100-106 mm bolt spacing. But the diagonal cut on the plate might interfere enough to make it impossible to properly space the holes. If I recall correctly the mounting holes for the device a 78 mm or about 3.07 inches apart. So, eyeballing it, perhaps some filing might make it fit.
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56

AugustFalcon screwed with this post 08-10-2014 at 03:53 PM
AugustFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 07:18 AM   #313
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by AugustFalcon View Post
Got my hopes up but note says "Does not fit KTMs" :(((

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
it's a bracket.... you can likely make one on twenty minutes or less with that stolen stop sign in the corner of the garage.

you don't have a stolen stop sign? what do you make skid plate out of?


OK really though, don't let a bracket hold you up. that's a really cool speedo, it should be on your bike.
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 09:12 AM   #314
AugustFalcon
Beastly Adventurer
 
AugustFalcon's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Waterford, Connecticut U.S.A.
Oddometer: 1,024
Voyager current draw

Just did some testing on the KTM to see what the current draw is for the Voyager.

This was done with the engine off.

Voyager turned on with normal screens showing: 110 milliamps
Voyager turned on long enough for the scree to time out so only the time was showing: 70 milliamps.
Voyager turned off by holding down the power switch to initiate a shutdown: 0.14 milliamps.

I had upgraded the batter on my KTM from a 4 amp hour to a 7 amp hour.

So, if I fail to actually power down the device manually it will kill my battery in about 100 hours or approx 4 days.

If I turn it off manually it will take 40,000 hours or 1,666 days or 238 weeks or 4.5 years.

Don't know what the status of the units internal battery charge was but I believe it was fully charged since it had been sitting plugged into the bike power for a long time and the bike had been on the battery charger, too.

[This is what happens when you are waiting for other bike parts before you can ride it.]
__________________
cheers... jack

04 BMW R1100S
02 KTM 250 Exc Racing


SmugMug referral code: jXF8ohDWlTm56
AugustFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 07:39 PM   #315
JustRon
ex-broadwayron
 
JustRon's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Oddometer: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by AugustFalcon View Post
Just did some testing on the KTM to see what the current draw is for the Voyager.

This was done with the engine off.

Voyager turned on with normal screens showing: 110 milliamps
Voyager turned on long enough for the scree to time out so only the time was showing: 70 milliamps.
Voyager turned off by holding down the power switch to initiate a shutdown: 0.14 milliamps.

I had upgraded the batter on my KTM from a 4 amp hour to a 7 amp hour.

So, if I fail to actually power down the device manually it will kill my battery in about 100 hours or approx 4 days.

If I turn it off manually it will take 40,000 hours or 1,666 days or 238 weeks or 4.5 years.

Don't know what the status of the units internal battery charge was but I believe it was fully charged since it had been sitting plugged into the bike power for a long time and the bike had been on the battery charger, too.

[This is what happens when you are waiting for other bike parts before you can ride it.]
Mine shuts off by itself after a few minutes of nothing happening. If I roll the bike, it turns on (although, I don't think starting the bike turns it on- can't remember).
__________________
2010 520RR
2013 TR650
JustRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014