ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 07:20 AM   #1
rossguzzi OP
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 716
How to TB balance

I am still getting use to navagating around this site. I have not found how to balance the throttle bodies yet. Can someone point me in the right direction please?
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:39 AM   #2
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
I am not sure how it is done with Throttle Bodies... but it should be similar to the links done with Carbs:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=568920

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=10
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:41 PM   #3
DirtyADV
Beastly Adventurer
 
DirtyADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: SWEDEN, Skellefteå
Oddometer: 1,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvGa View Post
I am not sure how it is done with Throttle Bodies... but it should be similar to the links done with Carbs:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=568920

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=10

Not sure either how it works on the fuel injected bikes but here is a penny tech solution on car syncing on a carbed LC8

/Johan
__________________
Have changed name, was previously Dirty950

www.dirtyadv.com (under construction)
DirtyADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:43 PM   #4
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Here is a link to the TBS on a 990 SuperDuke:

http://www.superduke.net/forum/viewt...=asc&highlight=

by lockers » Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:20 am
I use the vaccum hoses that connect to the IAP (intake air pressure) sensors. Theres one on the frame beside the left side of the airbox and one just behind the radiator filler cap on the right. It's just small sensor with one thin hose and elec plug connecting to it, mounted in a rubber holder. Just pull the hose off, stick a joiner in the end of the existing hose and then connect the carbtune hose to that. You must disconnect the Elec plug too, or it will stall when running. You will have an FI light to come on too, due the the disconnected IAP sensors but don't worry about that.

The adjustment/balance screw is inside the airbox, on the left side of the rear throttle body. You need to raise the tank/remove the air filter to get to it. Then just tweak it until she's running sweet and re-assemble.

I do mine every minor service.





AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:17 PM   #5
rossguzzi OP
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 716
So sorry I meant carb balance. I am so use to talking about throttle bodies (FI) !

Thanks for all the links etc.
Cheers.
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:48 AM   #6
Hipster
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hipster's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, Mn.
Oddometer: 1,686
To sync the throttle bodies on FI 990's is it best to mechanically adjust the TB screw or make the adjustment thru software (TuneECU)?
__________________
2008 KTM 990 Adv & 2007 KTM 640 Adv
Hipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:29 PM   #7
Geek
oot & aboot
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 8000ft, Twin Spruce Gap, Colorado
Oddometer: 29,653
I use one of these:


Couldn't be easier... stick it in one.. stick it in the other.. make sure the reading is the same.
if it isn't adjust the screw (mentioned above) until they match.

You are basically measuring the actual air consumed.

Hope this helps
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:51 AM   #8
SlickSix
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SlickSix's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 185
In my CBR F3 and F4i, which is Fi, I do it the grandpa way and as never failed me.

A piece of wood with 1m x 15 cm with 4 fishtank silicone hoses plugged together on the bottom with some small T´s and filled with regular car/bike oil.

Just plug the other end of the hoses to the TBs and adjust. Just like with a Carbtune only waaaaaaaaaaaaaay cheaper
SlickSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:55 AM   #9
SlickSix
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SlickSix's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 185
SlickSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:03 AM   #10
SlickSix
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SlickSix's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 185
double post
SlickSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 02:15 PM   #11
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 613
Reviving this old(er) thread, I'm curious if anyone has actually sync'd the throttle bodies on an FI bike? I was reading electronic shop manual last night and it states that the throttle bodies should never be adjusted?

I picked up the synchrometer posted above, in hopes of checking/adjusting this weekend but I'd rather not get in there and hose up the TB's if they are really not meant to be adjusted. Thanks.
srad600 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 03:10 PM   #12
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by srad600 View Post
Reviving this old(er) thread, I'm curious if anyone has actually sync'd the throttle bodies on an FI bike? I was reading electronic shop manual last night and it states that the throttle bodies should never be adjusted?

I picked up the synchrometer posted above, in hopes of checking/adjusting this weekend but I'd rather not get in there and hose up the TB's if they are really not meant to be adjusted. Thanks.
Use tuneecu for the reading and just adjust the screw on the rear left side of the TBs.
Some bikes are off and it's worth looking into.
My 2 cents
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 09:22 PM   #13
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
Use tuneecu for the reading and just adjust the screw on the rear left side of the TBs.
Some bikes are off and it's worth looking into.
My 2 cents
I've read reports that tuneecu, although a great resource, was not appropriate for syncing the TB's. I'm just curious if anyone has actually done this and what the results were.
srad600 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 09:29 PM   #14
BigTony
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 183
I've used tuneecu but more recently a home made manometer (do a google search if interested - no need for a fancy vacuum gauge set on a twin)

Tuneecu got it pretty close but the values fluctuate so its hard to judge when they're averaging the same. I hooked up the manometer, (basically a tube with oil in it) to the tb vacuum ports and needed to make a slight adjustment, so I'd say that is more accurate.

I've removed the canister air pump and replaced with test leads, so the tb sync is easy to hook up, but if I hadn't done so I'd definitely get one of the gauges Geek suggests. It would be a ton of work to mess with vacuum hoses just to tb sync
BigTony is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 12:54 AM   #15
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by srad600 View Post
I've read reports that tuneecu, although a great resource, was not appropriate for syncing the TB's. I'm just curious if anyone has actually done this and what the results were.
KTM does it with a digital tuning gizmo.
I have done a few 990s with tuneecu and I don't find the fluctuation to be more than a few hpa. Usually, + or - 2/3 hpa.
I've also swapped around the MAP sensors to confirm readings.

I've adjusted them at 2000 rpm and then let the bike idle to see what the spread is. It's usually very close.

So, perhaps, tuneecu isn't perfect but the bikes were running pretty good afterwards. Just an opinion.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014