ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2014, 05:54 PM   #31
Newbusa
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 571
I had mine tuned by the same tuner and got 102 with just Akro cans on 990R.
I told him I thought it would be more, he stated everyone he has had on the Dyno has averaged in the high 80's to low 90's. Mine started out at 96 before he started working on the mapping. And the bike is always warmed up because they do a baseline run.
Hoping to get back for more tuning now that I went with the Rottweiler intake.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 06:02 PM   #32
Newbusa
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 571
Mine had the AFR down at the bottom of the sheet(he must of clipped his link short on that Dyno sheet).
Also this tuner is at sea level. He did tell me that the tire you have on the rear will directly impact your rear wheel Hp. Big knobbie type tires will hurt your final numbers, if you care about that
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 06:07 PM   #33
Pistolero
W. F. O.
 
Pistolero's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Oddometer: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by FakeName View Post
Interesting question. Horsepower is an engineering term. A theory.

If the true question is "how can I make my bike go faster" the answer is almost universal:

Training and practice.

One could certainly make an argument for better suspension as well.
Truth
Pistolero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 06:43 PM   #34
AB13
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Lexington va
Oddometer: 872
It takes more than 1 pull on the dyno to warm the bike up they should run it until they get overlapping results, also I checked there website and he only has a Dyno Jet 200 so he has no way to load control the bike, you cannot properly tune a EFI bike without a load control Dyno. AB:-)
__________________
Just joined for the sticker.
AB13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 07:03 PM   #35
BigTony
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 222
FYI I just had my '07 tuned by Nels at 2wheel dyno in the pacific nw

My bike did ~90hp. The custom tune (o2s off) showed a gain of 10hp over the akro map with O2s on. The bike has Leo Vince exhaust with baffles and an itg air filter, as well as a rekluse clutch.

The only other chart I've seen is the one in this thread which I believe was a 2010 at about 97hp (same dyno) so I expected mine to be lower due to the older less aggressive cams and engine components of the 07/08 bikes

Nels mentioned that knobby/heavy tires put down less power on the dyno. Also, the akro map was lean at high rpm with the open air filter.

I do think my bike has a couple of mechanical issues - lots of oil out of the breather so either a bad balancer seal or blow by the rings - tbd. I also get a little clutch slippage sometimes since adding a rekluse clutch. I'm also trying to diagnose a rhythmic thumping/knocking I can feel through the footpegs while at less than 4300rpm or so in 6th gear and going up hill (ie under load)- not sure if it's engine, clutch, or drivetrain related.

The bike runs MUCH better with the new tune - it's worth doing if you can find a place. Improved fuel economy, smoother, and pulls to redline much better. Nels is highly recommended. Super cool guy, knows these bikes, and uses tuneecu rather than requiring spend on a power commander.

Also, to the point of others posts, while this bike has half the hp of my s1000rr and feels kinda slow compared, in the real world on ca back roads I'm faster on the 990 because the ergos are good and the suspension is confidence inspiring over rough pavement, etc

BigTony screwed with this post 01-08-2014 at 07:10 PM
BigTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 07:57 PM   #36
Newbusa
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyGibbons View Post
FYI I just had my '07 tuned by Nels at 2wheel dyno in the pacific nw

My bike did ~90hp. The custom tune (o2s off) showed a gain of 10hp over the akro map with O2s on. The bike has Leo Vince exhaust with baffles and an itg air filter, as well as a rekluse clutch.

The only other chart I've seen is the one in this thread which I believe was a 2010 at about 97hp (same dyno) so I expected mine to be lower due to the older less aggressive cams and engine components of the 07/08 bikes

Nels mentioned that knobby/heavy tires put down less power on the dyno. Also, the akro map was lean at high rpm with the open air filter.

I do think my bike has a couple of mechanical issues - lots of oil out of the breather so either a bad balancer seal or blow by the rings - tbd. I also get a little clutch slippage sometimes since adding a rekluse clutch. I'm also trying to diagnose a rhythmic thumping/knocking I can feel through the footpegs while at less than 4300rpm or so in 6th gear and going up hill (ie under load)- not sure if it's engine, clutch, or drivetrain related.

The bike runs MUCH better with the new tune - it's worth doing if you can find a place. Improved fuel economy, smoother, and pulls to redline much better. Nels is highly recommended. Super cool guy, knows these bikes, and uses tuneecu rather than requiring spend on a power commander.

Also, to the point of others posts, while this bike has half the hp of my s1000rr and feels kinda slow compared, in the real world on ca back roads I'm faster on the 990 because the ergos are good and the suspension is confidence inspiring over rough pavement, etc
Yes I used Nels As well. He really does know his stuff.My bike ran better after as well.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 01:13 PM   #37
Bad_Weather
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Oddometer: 36
I'm going to head down or Rottweiler and make a sizeable donation.
Question, do I need to buy tune ecu ; power commander or can the stock ecu be re flashed with a new map ? Does that require the orange key ? (Got my bike used and only one key w/ no orange)
__________________
Work Hard ---- Ride Motorcycles
Bad_Weather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 05:26 PM   #38
FakeName
Wile E Coyote SuperGenius
 
FakeName's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Weather View Post
I'm going to head down or Rottweiler and make a sizeable donation.
Question, do I need to buy tune ecu ; power commander or can the stock ecu be re flashed with a new map ? Does that require the orange key ? (Got my bike used and only one key w/ no orange)
TuneECU is a free software program used with a cable (Rottweiler sells them) to remap the ecu. Power Commander is a different, and some say better, way of doing something similar.

Neither use the orange key.
__________________
ADVdiscount Motorcycle Product Photography


2011 White 990 Adv S
2014 500EXC Black
FakeName is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 07:20 PM   #39
sstewart OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,056
The Key

Quote:
Originally Posted by FakeName View Post
TuneECU is a free software program used with a cable (Rottweiler sells them) to remap the ecu. Power Commander is a different, and some say better, way of doing something similar.

Neither use the orange key.
Just say no to the Orange Key! Don't even ask how I know
,
sstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 11:28 PM   #40
Newbusa
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Weather View Post
I'm going to head down or Rottweiler and make a sizeable donation.
Question, do I need to buy tune ecu ; power commander or can the stock ecu be re flashed with a new map ? Does that require the orange key ? (Got my bike used and only one key w/ no orange)
Stock Ecu can be reflashed,do not need orange key.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 08:27 PM   #41
Bad_Weather
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Oddometer: 36
Thanks for the info guys !!!
__________________
Work Hard ---- Ride Motorcycles
Bad_Weather is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014