ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 12:03 PM   #61
Ishai
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore MD
Oddometer: 80
I use the handlebar mount which is a U bolt but use a longer adaptor- the one on the second link to Whitehorse, so the GPS is located higher then it would be on the short adaptor that came with the unit. This setup keeps the dashboard clear of obstraction and puts it right at line of sight. a litttle clancky but works great. I use the Rider on both my Ulysses and M-2 Cyclone.
Ishai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 09:56 AM   #62
SRAdventure
Adventurer
 
SRAdventure's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 12
Finally I've made a solution myself (together with a friend, he's better with installing en inventing 😃.

I'm very satisfied with the results!

What do you guys think?


'04 KTM 950 Adventure (orange)
SRAdventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 10:31 AM   #63
stevie88
That's gotta hurt
 
stevie88's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The place dad always warned me about
Oddometer: 17,668
__________________
In Russia we have saying, "if it isn't broke, don't fix it". We also say, "if it is broke, don't fix it".
stevie88 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:27 AM   #64
SRAdventure
Adventurer
 
SRAdventure's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Oddometer: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevie88 View Post
Thanks!


'04 KTM 950 Adventure (orange)
SRAdventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:33 PM   #65
grandpa_ken
Gnarly Adventurer
 
grandpa_ken's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Archer Lodge, NC
Oddometer: 219
Does anyone have any updated opinions on the TomTom? Has anyone used it offroad?
__________________
2009 BMW F800GS
2007 KTM 450EXC
grandpa_ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:08 PM   #66
Conman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island, New York
Oddometer: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by grandpa_ken View Post
Does anyone have any updated opinions on the TomTom? Has anyone used it offroad?
I just got my Rider 2013 model(Version 5?) and plan to use it on GPS Rallies as you can use GPX files on the Rider. But if you want to use it on trails that are not marked(off the Map), then a trail specific GPS unit would be needed. Even the Garmin Zumo 660 with Topo Maps would still have issues based on my research before getting the Rider: http://www.gpscity.com/questions?qid=664

As you probably seen other reviews and posts, the Zumo is "Better" than the Rider, but to me, not twice the price better for my GPS needs. YMWV.

I did not buy the Rider for off-the-road trail riding. If I did, I would look at the TrailTech Voyager http://www.trailtech.net/digital-gau...yager-moto-gps or a handheld trail GPS unit. I like the Garmin Monterra on paper(pretty much an android smartphone without cell service), but again just could not justify the cost for my needs. I've used in the past the Magellan Map330 and Garmin Rino, but can't comment on the current models.

FWIW, I plan to use a smartphone with an app like Locus Maps(offline map download for both on-road and TOPO) as first backup and good to have some sort of paper directions/Map as last resort.

Regards,
Con
Conman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:02 PM   #67
NinetyFiveFive
Adventurer
 
NinetyFiveFive's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Fullerton, California
Oddometer: 92
Anyone else have any reviews of TomTom's availability of off-road trail maps for this Rider GPS?

Sent from my GT-P3113 using Tapatalk
NinetyFiveFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:41 AM   #68
donmac
casual angler
 
donmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: East Coast
Oddometer: 184
not so sure about the tomtom rider

Just got a new rider and tried it out for a couple of hours yesterday...

Pros:

Bluetooth works well. No problem using with iphone and Sena.

Routing seems OK, I like the winding roads feature, seems to work well.

Cons:

Large size/weight makes it shake a little more that smaller/lighter units.

Not yet sure about general usability when using the unit to look at the map to figure out where to head next.

Zooming/painting of the screen is slow compared to garmins - even my ancient Nuvi.

Level of detail on screen is less than Garmin.

Not clear if it can be set to 'north up'.

City names come and go when you zoom in and out. They are there at some zoom levels and not there at others.

These last two are probably the most annoying issues for me.

I can see how it would be fine for routing but a tad annoying to use instead of a map to see where you are in relation to other things.

I already RTFM but just gave it a quick pass through. Perhaps I missed something?

Not yet sure of this one is going to be sent back...
donmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 11:55 AM   #69
NinetyFiveFive
Adventurer
 
NinetyFiveFive's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Fullerton, California
Oddometer: 92
Does this have software that you can use to import routes via .GPX files? Such as the route files that are shared here on advrider?
NinetyFiveFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 12:01 PM   #70
AlecMyrddyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Saco, Maine USA
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinetyFiveFive View Post
Does this have software that you can use to import routes via .GPX files? Such as the route files that are shared here on advrider?
There should be two methods:

1. On Windows, run the Route Planning software Tyre, and import the GPX file. Save it as an ITN after adjusting and import to your Rider.
2. Attach the Rider to your computer, and copy the GPX file to the GPX2ITN folder on the Rider.

-Alec
AlecMyrddyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 01:39 PM   #71
donmac
casual angler
 
donmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: East Coast
Oddometer: 184
That's another con for my earlier list - Tyre does not run on my mac..

I would need to run windows in a vm to run Tyre...
donmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 01:54 PM   #72
AlecMyrddyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Saco, Maine USA
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by donmac View Post
That's another con for my earlier list - Tyre does not run on my mac..

I would need to run windows in a vm to run Tyre...
I'm a Mac user as well. There's got to be some website that lets you generate a GPS or ITN file from a planned route which you can then import onto the Rider.
AlecMyrddyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 07:21 PM   #73
NinetyFiveFive
Adventurer
 
NinetyFiveFive's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2013
Location: Fullerton, California
Oddometer: 92
Sounds like it will do the job. However, that is very disappointing that Tyre doesn't run on a Mac.

Sent from my GT-P3113 using Tapatalk
NinetyFiveFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 12:32 PM   #74
ubaath
Adventurer
 
ubaath's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Oddometer: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlecMyrddyn View Post
I'm a Mac user as well. There's got to be some website that lets you generate a GPS or ITN file from a planned route which you can then import onto the Rider.
There is: http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/.

One caveat: it will only work with routes, not tracks.

Also, at least on the older TomTom Riders, an ITN file was limited to 48 waypoints.
__________________
Roads? Where we're going, we don't need ... roads
- Doc Brown
ubaath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 01:37 PM   #75
AlecMyrddyn
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Saco, Maine USA
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubaath View Post
There is: http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/.



One caveat: it will only work with routes, not tracks.



Also, at least on the older TomTom Riders, an ITN file was limited to 48 waypoints.

Thanks!

I think the new Rider can do up to 100 waypoints.
AlecMyrddyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014