ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-25-2006, 04:27 PM   #1
heinzee OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal.
Oddometer: 13
Question USA PhotoMaps Question

I finally got my Garmin 60csx, and I'm trying to down load my routes and waypoints from the PC to the GPS. When I try to send the info to the GPS the computer says the GPS is not on, when it is. Mt other question can I transfer the info from USAPhotoMaps to the Trip & Waypoint Manager software that came with the unit.

Thanks for the help.
heinzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 05:33 PM   #2
wickedsprint
Banned
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Oddometer: 2,386
I was only able to get my 60/76C to work with photomaps using the serial port wire frommy Garmin V, never got the USB to link up.
wickedsprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 08:54 PM   #3
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinzee
I finally got my Garmin 60csx, and I'm trying to down load my routes and waypoints from the PC to the GPS. When I try to send the info to the GPS the computer says the GPS is not on, when it is. Mt other question can I transfer the info from USAPhotoMaps to the Trip & Waypoint Manager software that came with the unit.

Thanks for the help.
So, can you tell if the computer (is it an IBM compatible?) is seeing the 60sx at other times?

Did you install the USB drivers?

Mine came on the CS disk, and the trip and waypoint software, which I am not using.

Dave
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 08:58 PM   #4
fire_strom
Beastly Adventurer
 
fire_strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 1,256
what is USAphotomaps?
scott
fire_strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 10:05 PM   #5
heinzee OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal.
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by odc43054
So, can you tell if the computer (is it an IBM compatible?) is seeing the 60sx at other times?

Did you install the USB drivers?

Mine came on the CS disk, and the trip and waypoint software, which I am not using.

Dave
The computer IBM Windows XP is see the devise just can't get the USAPhotoMap onto the GPS.
heinzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 05:20 AM   #6
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinzee
The computer IBM Windows XP is see the devise just can't get the USAPhotoMap onto the GPS.
Ok - and did Trip and Waypoint manager seem to see the GPS? And is T&W working with the GPS? If so, that means the device is working with software that it was designed to work with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedsprint
I was only able to get my 60/76C to work with photomaps using the serial port wire frommy Garmin V, never got the USB to link up.
But it looks like there may be a problem with the software's interface based on what wickedsprint has written.

USAPhotoMaps website says it will create a .gpx file. I haven't used T&W manager, but if it will let you upload a gpx, and if it is communicating with your GPS, you should be able to upload a track you created in T&W, and then transfer to the GPS.

Have you tried that?

Dave


http://jdmcox.com/


USAPhotoMaps downloads USGS aerial photo and topo map data from Microsoft's free TerraServer Web site, saves it on your hard drive, and creates maps with GPS accuracy. You can: Scroll and zoom
See latitude/longitude
See USGS Landmarks
See TIGER/Line streets
See elevation and contour lines
Add waypoints, routes, and text
Go to any address, populated place, USGS landmark, or lat/lon in the U.S.A.
Transfer waypoints, tracks, and routes to and from most GPS receivers
See your GPS location
And much more...
__________________


dunno.....

9Dave screwed with this post 02-26-2006 at 07:08 AM
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 04:56 PM   #7
heinzee OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal.
Oddometer: 13
USAPhotoMaps saved the data as a text document WTF. Can I convert to GPX files?
heinzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 03:17 AM   #8
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by heinzee
USAPhotoMaps saved the data as a text document WTF. Can I convert to GPX files?
It's freeware - not surprising there are some bugs to it. Sorry there aren't more responses to your question, but the cost/pain in the ass factor is one reason folks just pony up the $$ for a piece of commercial software.

It says it will save as a GPX. Maybe post a question their website? Or find a group devoted to their software?
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 11:38 AM   #9
heinzee OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal.
Oddometer: 13
Screw it I'm just going to pony up the cash. It's just a bummer cause I had created quite a few tracks, and routes now I have to start over. To bad. Thanks for the help.
heinzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014