ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2014, 01:48 PM   #2716
azoto
n00b
 
azoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Alassio - Italy
Oddometer: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustavo.Ramos View Post
Me bike must have a fuel leak....
that's what I thought before reading of someone achieving up to 60 mpg...


The problem is the LM-2 not reading RPMs and TPS position correctly
azoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 01:52 PM   #2717
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,091
You have my attention. I have similar exhaust and intake and would love to talk with you about your map and the LM-2. I have been looking at similar devices. Are you able to use the single channel/cylinder model and then adjust for the rear cylinder??
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 01:59 PM   #2718
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by azoto View Post
that's what I thought before reading of someone achieving up to 60 mpg...


The problem is the LM-2 not reading RPMs and TPS position correctly
IIRC that ride was mostly downhill tucked behind the screen. I'd be fairly happy with low 40's with CPR filter + akros
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 02:18 PM   #2719
azoto
n00b
 
azoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Alassio - Italy
Oddometer: 9
@renogeorge
Right now I'm running the original R map (2011 even thou mine is a "regular" 2009) leaner by 2% from 0 to 20% TPS and up to 7000 RPM. L map -2% everywhere but last 2 columns.
It's still a little bit on the rich side, but much more closer to what I'm looking for (i.e. around 14.7 when cruising and richer when accelerating).

I'm using a single channel LM2 monitoring its wideband sensor on front cylinder.
All the mod are mirrored on the rear cyl maps, but I'll check its AFR later on.

Next step (map's ready, but weather's not) is to smooth the ignition map in the range around 2500-4000 rpm.

The akro map gave me an afr around 11-12 almost in every occasion...


my 2 cents

PS: please note that I haven't tested the rear cylinder, and, above all, have no idea of what I'm doing: so don't take my words for it

edit: no snorkel and o2, epc and sai(sas) are disabled

azoto screwed with this post 04-19-2014 at 02:26 PM
azoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 02:44 PM   #2720
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,091
Thanks Azoto. I appreciate the information!

I was just reading some reviews on the LM-2. Not being able to log RPM seems to be a common complaint.
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990

renogeorge screwed with this post 04-19-2014 at 08:40 PM
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:15 AM   #2721
azoto
n00b
 
azoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Alassio - Italy
Oddometer: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by renogeorge View Post
Thanks Azoto. I appreciate the information!

I was just reading some reviews on the LM-2. Not being able to log RPM seems to be a common complaint.
but as far as I understand Tahoeacr and Procycle made it
azoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:25 AM   #2722
StevenD
Hmmmm, dirt!
 
StevenD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland, Amserdammed
Oddometer: 1,108
Mine has no issue logging rpm. Did you connect the analog 0 pickup?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn LG-D802 met Tapatalk
__________________
999 LC8 Rat-Rally custom - 500 EXC - XR666R '85
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 01:43 AM   #2723
azoto
n00b
 
azoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Alassio - Italy
Oddometer: 9
Thanks StevenD for the reply. Yes, I connected the dedicated wires (marked as RPM- and RPM+ on the manual). I can see the right numbers while idling, but that's all
azoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 03:25 AM   #2724
StevenD
Hmmmm, dirt!
 
StevenD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Holland, Amserdammed
Oddometer: 1,108
I only used 1 wire, the analog + and pin it with a needle to the white+color of a coil wire. Just insert it next to the wire, so no splicing required.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn LG-D802 met Tapatalk
__________________
999 LC8 Rat-Rally custom - 500 EXC - XR666R '85
StevenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 05:22 AM   #2725
azoto
n00b
 
azoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Alassio - Italy
Oddometer: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenD View Post
I only used 1 wire, the analog + and pin it with a needle to the white+color of a coil wire. Just insert it next to the wire, so no splicing required.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn LG-D802 met Tapatalk



I used the blue-white wire from the ecu connector for RPM+ and another color I don't remember right now for RPM-... I read somewhere that this configuration has been used on a 990 and it worked.

I'll give a try to your solution. Thanks a lot!
azoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 02:45 PM   #2726
Rodknee
Aggrivator
 
Rodknee's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: new friggin york
Oddometer: 2,013
just finished up flashing a friend's bike. he has just akro slip ons, and i uploaded KM601EU1180232map. he said the bike was much smoother and lifts up easier in third then it did before.

thank you tuneecu for the awesome program!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustRon View Post
my ass was jealous of Rodney's day-long-ass.
NY to Inuvik to Deadhorse Aug 14'
2014 Rides: Katie M Big girl & Berg Hoon'icycle
RIP Buddy 1999-2014
Rodknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:26 PM   #2727
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,091
The secondary throttle setting for my map are zero up to near idle RPM and then ramp up very slowly--not reaching 20% until 2000 rpm and throttle opening exceeding 10%. I am working on a custom map to clean up a rich condition below 3000 RPM at small throttle openings. I have been leaning out the F map. Should I also look at adjustments to the second throttle? Increase %s to lean? Disable second throttle?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 12:17 PM   #2728
hutch990r
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Location: Lyman, ME
Oddometer: 8
new guy here,

could anyone point me in the driection of a step by step for adjusting the throttle cables on a 2012 adv R using the TUNE ECU software? I have searched and searched but have been unable to locate a step by step procedure on this. I have a Cable in route to my house from CJ, and would like to take up the slack in the cables when i get home from work.

thanks
hutch990r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 11:02 AM   #2729
Sacal
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Sacal's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: London, England
Oddometer: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by hutch990r View Post
new guy here,

could anyone point me in the driection of a step by step for adjusting the throttle cables on a 2012 adv R using the TUNE ECU software? I have searched and searched but have been unable to locate a step by step procedure on this. I have a Cable in route to my house from CJ, and would like to take up the slack in the cables when i get home from work.

thanks
It's all on the TunECU site http://www.tuneecu.com/TuneECU_En/tasks.html

Adjusting the throttle cable - KTM only
The idle speed control stepper motor will be completely retracted and the throttle valves completely closed.
Switch the ignition switch off, WITHOUT exiting or disconnecting the software, and adjust the throttle cable clearance.
__________________
ad astra per alia porci
Sacal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 11:40 AM   #2730
dgjackson40
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Central Missouri USA
Oddometer: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacal View Post
It's all on the TunECU site http://www.tuneecu.com/TuneECU_En/tasks.html

Adjusting the throttle cable - KTM only
The idle speed control stepper motor will be completely retracted and the throttle valves completely closed.
Switch the ignition switch off, WITHOUT exiting or disconnecting the software, and adjust the throttle cable clearance.
Sacal has it right Hutch990r, I put a new air kit on mine yesterday and it ran pretty crappy and idling down and stalling at stop signs. I went back to the garage and used TuneECU to retract the steppers with the throttle adjust selection and adjusted. Runs like a scalded cat now! Idles just fine at 1450 at stops now. And it was only a subtle adjustment that did the trick.
__________________
The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail. Travel too fast and you miss all you are traveling for. Louis l'Amour
2007 KTM 990 Adv; 2005 VStar 1100 Sold!; 2002 GL1800
dgjackson40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014