ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2014, 07:20 AM   #15841
drunkenrich
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drunkenrich's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Thomaston, CT
Oddometer: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tbone675 View Post
Check valve clearance and flash new map. Try ama's map mods it's in the 690 tuneecu thread. Tune ecu worked for me.
ok, valves are in spec, they were done 800 miles ago when I bought the bike, so next I will check the air filter, air box sensor and clamp and go from there......maybe the tps next?
__________________
2009 Yamaha Nytro XTX

2010 KTM 690 enduro r

drunkenrich screwed with this post 05-07-2014 at 07:33 AM
drunkenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:10 AM   #15842
LethPhaos
brb
 
LethPhaos's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Belgistan
Oddometer: 604
have you tried recalibrating the throttle and an idle reset? doesn't take effort at all and it has solved some weird (smaller) issues for me in the past
turn on key, wait for fuel to prime and tacho to settle, steadily open throttle all the way and back closed again (steady is key), turn off key
turn on key, wait for fuel to prime and tacho to settle, start engine (no throttle), let run for 15 minutes, turn off key
__________________
| KTM 690 SMC RRP | Honda RD04 Africa Twin |
| Balkan ADV RR | Bacon trip log map | KTM 690 Wiki |
LethPhaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:19 AM   #15843
drunkenrich
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drunkenrich's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Thomaston, CT
Oddometer: 139
I will try that, thank you
__________________
2009 Yamaha Nytro XTX

2010 KTM 690 enduro r
drunkenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:57 AM   #15844
Sethro303
Master of Disaster
 
Sethro303's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: South Central, WA
Oddometer: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by LethPhaos View Post
have you tried recalibrating the throttle and an idle reset? doesn't take effort at all and it has solved some weird (smaller) issues for me in the past
turn on key, wait for fuel to prime and tacho to settle, steadily open throttle all the way and back closed again (steady is key), turn off key
turn on key, wait for fuel to prime and tacho to settle, start engine (no throttle), let run for 15 minutes, turn off key
+1. Just had a hard starting and stalling issue that the throttle position reset cured 100%
__________________
08 KTM 690 Enduro


http://www.urbandictionary.com/
Sethro303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:23 AM   #15845
Sbushong1
Adventurer
 
Sbushong1's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkenrich View Post
Ok guys, i have owned my 09 690 for 10 months now and i can honestly say i hate it and love it at the same time. I have had alot of issues with it since i got it. I hit 9k miles on it today though. So it started doing this at the end of last season....when coming to a stop light it stalls, like if i am just coasting in neutral or with the clutch in i can hear the idle sputtering and then it dies. I get about 5 seconds after i pull the clutch in before it dies. If i am riding and keeping on the gas then i have no issues at all. This is what has been done so far to fix it: ca fuelpump, updated fuel line from ca cycle, new spark plug, checked out the plug wire...seemed ok, cleaned the screen on the fuel pump, had injector cleaned by professionals........i dont know what else to do. Any ideas? Should i get it re-mapped? Should i burn it to the ground and put a claim into insurance?

On my 2014 I just had a similar experience (sputtering and then stalling as I came to a stop), and this after my first service. I had taken it off road and it was fine until the end of the ride. Frustrated i started going back through what it might have been -- bad gas, problem with air filter, ... In fact the garage had not completely tightened the negative terminal on the battery. I did and so far it is running fine again. Hope yours is something as simple as that.
Sbushong1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:24 AM   #15846
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 4,128
Is there any issue with just doing the Throttle calibration again by itself?
I was thinking doing just my throttle only to see if my response changes any. Seems kinda flat.

After my EVO1 download I did do the throttle calibration and the 15 minute idle learn.
__________________
Tom-2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC
My2Wheels
dad2bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:34 AM   #15847
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: UK for now.
Oddometer: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbushong1 View Post
On my 2014 I just had a similar experience (sputtering and then stalling as I came to a stop), and this after my first service. I had taken it off road and it was fine until the end of the ride. Frustrated i started going back through what it might have been -- bad gas, problem with air filter, ... In fact the garage had not completely tightened the negative terminal on the battery. I did and so far it is running fine again. Hope yours is something as simple as that.
THAT is f*****g dangerous.

I once found a drain plug wasn't even finger tight after a service at a Honda dealer once.
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 10:43 AM   #15848
TheMuffinMan
Forest Ranger Magnet
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 6,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
Is there any issue with just doing the Throttle calibration again by itself?
I was thinking doing just my throttle only to see if my response changes any. Seems kinda flat.

After my EVO1 download I did do the throttle calibration and the 15 minute idle learn.
Reducing or eliminating the throttle cable slack (free play i.e. when turning the throttle tube doesn't move a cable/increase the throttle) helps a ton and it seems like a lot of people overlook this too. Smooths things way out and whenever I am about to do a slow technical section or a day of off-roading I make sure the slack is taken out and it makes for a much smoother low-speed ride.
__________________
"To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield."
"You don't cross the mountains, they let you through."
KTM 525 XC-W // KTM 950 Adventure
TheMuffinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 12:09 PM   #15849
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Durrr... Took of to clean my air box tonight before installing a new ktm foam airfilter I bought.

Under the airbox I found a few cables that had rubbed open. One to the rear light and one to one the cassettes behind the battery (vortex?) the one closest to the battery.

I used electrical tape to close them up again. Put the airbox back on and fired it up. To my surprise the display went orange but nothing else happened to it, no speedometer, odometer, nothing... Just orange.

Did I short something or did my display die or what? Has anyone seen anything similar? Btw the foam air filter was tight in there... Couldn't get the snorkel lid to sit tight on it. Any ideas there?

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 12:38 PM   #15850
LethPhaos
brb
 
LethPhaos's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Belgistan
Oddometer: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
Is there any issue with just doing the Throttle calibration again by itself?
I was thinking doing just my throttle only to see if my response changes any. Seems kinda flat.

After my EVO1 download I did do the throttle calibration and the 15 minute idle learn.
no problem at all
__________________
| KTM 690 SMC RRP | Honda RD04 Africa Twin |
| Balkan ADV RR | Bacon trip log map | KTM 690 Wiki |
LethPhaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 12:44 PM   #15851
sprouty115
Beastly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 1,628
"Durrr... Took of to clean my air box tonight before installing a new ktm foam airfilter I bought. Under the airbox I found a few cables that had rubbed open. One to the rear light and one to one the cassettes behind the battery (vortex?) the one closest to the battery. I used electrical tape to close them up again. Put the airbox back on and fired it up. To my surprise the display went orange but nothing else happened to it, no speedometer, odometer, nothing... Just orange. Did I short something or did my display die or what? Has anyone seen anything similar? Btw the foam air filter was tight in there... Couldn't get the snorkel lid to sit tight on it. Any ideas there?"



Might have a broken wire that appeared only to be missing insulation?
sprouty115 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 12:53 PM   #15852
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprouty115 View Post
Might have a broken wire that appeared only to be missing insulation?
I was thinking the same but I was careful with them and it felt like they held together well. What can I do check if they are broken and if so, how can it be fixed? I hope I won't need to replace the entire wiring harness



Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 12:59 PM   #15853
sprouty115
Beastly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 1,628
Find the ends of the wires and use a multi-meter to test for continuity while you flex them.
sprouty115 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 02:50 PM   #15854
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
I hope I won't need to replace the entire wiring harness
Can't you just splice in new wire to replace the broken area? I realize that is not as good as an unbroken wire but it has to be better than replacing the harness.
__________________
DoD#1458
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 02:52 PM   #15855
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by LethPhaos View Post
turn on key, wait for fuel to prime and tacho to settle, start engine (no throttle), let run for 15 minutes, turn off key
You need to do Reset Adaptation with KTM diagnostic tool or TuneECU before doing the 15 minute idle procedure. TuneECU does the reset when new maps are loaded. Otherwise it is pretty much a waste of time and gas.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015