ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2014, 04:39 PM   #15871
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkenrich View Post
Can they do this reset adaptation at a dealer?
Sure. They will probably charge 1/2 hr labor. Find a friend with TuneECU.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 05:53 PM   #15872
drunkenrich
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drunkenrich's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Thomaston, CT
Oddometer: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
Sure. They will probably charge 1/2 hr labor. Find a friend with TuneECU.
Anyone live in connecticut with a tune ecu?
__________________
2009 Yamaha Nytro XTX

2010 KTM 690 enduro r
drunkenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 07:47 PM   #15873
Dhawkk
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Oddometer: 21
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender or if I should just find a new smc fender somewhere on the interwebz?


One more question, is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told. Yes, I know this should probably go in the exhaust thread. Been slowly making my way through this awesome thread one page at a time and figured someone could provide some insight for me.

You guys are awesome!!
Dhawkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:06 PM   #15874
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender...
Yes, they are interchangeable.
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handlebars, no handlebars, no handlebars - Jamie Laurie
The Letter J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:11 PM   #15875
Dhawkk
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Oddometer: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
Yes, they are interchangeable.
Thank you for your fast reply. I appreciate it!
Dhawkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 11:21 PM   #15876
Bike Nomad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bike Nomad's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Central Newfoundland, Canada
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told.
I am not an attorney. To the best of my knowledge, in the US that is not true, because it is related to this legislation?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnuso...s_Warranty_Act

There was a lobby group of aftermarket businesses that helped enforce this or similar legislation or broadened it? I'm sketchy on the details.

Of all the bikes I'm aware of the KTM 690 probably has one of the highest rates of owners replacing the can (often being replaced before the bike rolls out the dealer's door, so there would be a great many new bikes not covered if what you were told about the Akro were true.

In Europe I understand it can be an issue.

If you include a country location in your profile it can help posters better answer certain questions you might have in the future.
__________________
DON'T GET IT TWISTED --ITS DUAL SPORT! NOT DUEL SPORT!
Bike Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 11:30 PM   #15877
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen View Post
Can't you just splice in new wire to replace the broken area? I realize that is not as good as an unbroken wire but it has to be better than replacing the harness.
Do you like solder them together or how do you repair them? I'm guessing soldering would be best but it feels like the entire harness is a tiger spot to work on.

I'll def. try everything I can before even considering a harness replace. May the McGyver repairskills be with me...

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:04 AM   #15878
CanadianX
Oh!? That is deep.
 
CanadianX's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 1,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
I was thinking the same but I was careful with them and it felt like they held together well. What can I do check if they are broken and if so, how can it be fixed? I hope I won't need to replace the entire wiring harness



Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Flex the wire and see if you can get the dash to work. If not you have use a multimeter but you can narrow your search to the wires that power your speedo etc. I would look under the battery tray and under the fuse tray for rubbed through wires. Likely the area where you first found rubbed wires is the problem area.

If you do find a break and you have enough slack in the wire you can cut it at the break strip the ends and use a quality butt end connector, one with heat shrink already on it, and reconnect the wire ends. Then wrap it with electrical tape and see if you can zap strap it out of the way of the air box.

CanadianX screwed with this post 05-08-2014 at 03:11 AM
CanadianX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:15 AM   #15879
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Do you like solder them together or how do you repair them?

Yes. Cut out the broken area, fit new wire, solder in on both ends, and be sure to use heat shrink tubing to protect the splices.

Ideally you would also re-route the wires so that they would not break again or protect them with additional tubing.
__________________
DoD#1458 | GaijinRiders | 2010 KTM 690 Enduro
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:17 AM   #15880
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender or if I should just find a new smc fender somewhere on the interwebz?


One more question, is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told. Yes, I know this should probably go in the exhaust thread. Been slowly making my way through this awesome thread one page at a time and figured someone could provide some insight for me.

You guys are awesome!!
I've had a half dozen warranty claims most out of the warranty period while having a Leo Vince can on mine almost the whole time.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:03 AM   #15881
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen View Post
Yes. Cut out the broken area, fit new wire, solder in on both ends, and be sure to use heat shrink tubing to protect the splices.

Ideally you would also re-route the wires so that they would not break again or protect them with additional tubing.
Weirdest thing... Bought a multimeter today. Hooked of the front and started measuring (had off the airbox as well). Didn't really get any values. On any of the wires that weren't for the headlight.

Then all of a sudden shit starts working!!! I go through the wires bending and pulling / pushing a bit: no change still works. Do the same on the area I found last night, no change still works.

Went in for dinner now and hopefully it will still work when I get out for a test run :P

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:15 AM   #15882
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal, for a couple of weeks.
Oddometer: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Weirdest thing... Bought a multimeter today. Hooked of the front and started measuring (had off the airbox as well). Didn't really get any values. On any of the wires that weren't for the headlight.

Then all of a sudden shit starts working!!! I go through the wires bending and pulling / pushing a bit: no change still works. Do the same on the area I found last night, no change still works.

Went in for dinner now and hopefully it will still work when I get out for a test run :P

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Good chance you will end up stranded. You need to find and fix the problem before you go riding.

These wires under the air box - which ones are they? Where do they go?
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:21 AM   #15883
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Yeah I know. Going for a shorter ride around home.

If I remember they were blue and red (or purple brown, was not the best of light yesterday when I taped it up)

They go to the first big connection behind the battery. I lost the display numbers after that.

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:34 AM   #15884
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 961
Take it to a dealer. Or an auto-electrician.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 02:34 PM   #15885
thumpanoob
n00b
 
thumpanoob's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Oddometer: 1
T

Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor View Post
I am currently running the Trail Tech X2 HID on my 2009 690r. I have had it a few months more or less and have done 3-4 rides totaling maybe 20 hours on the low beam. Still working so far. They told me that everything is better now and it should last a long time but I guess I will actually SEE how long it lasts!
Hello Velociraptor,

I have a Trail Tech 36E3-70 Orange X2 70W HID Headlight that I am trying to install on a 2009 KTM 690 Enduro R . Question for you, it looked to me like a plug and play setup, however, when I took off the factory headlight, I see it connects into a 4 wire connector on the bike (H4 adapter plug), however the Trail Tech X2 has a 3 pin connector. Did you cut off the adapters and splice the wires pos to pos, neg to neg and 2 grounds on the KTM side to the Black wire on the X2 (ground according to a Trail Tech I called today) ? Trail Tech says that they can't help me since they didn't design the X2 HID to work on a 690 Enduro R !!!

Thanks much in advance.
thumpanoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015