ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2014, 02:39 PM   #16
MrBob OP
Certified Geezer
 
MrBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Boulderish, CO
Oddometer: 7,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by McCormack View Post
Is there an Apple store near you? Seems like something they could help with very easily.

If I was home now, I'd mail you a disk. Pretty sure I have one. Unfortunately, I may not be home for a few months.
Thanks for the offer.
The Boulder Apple store is like Walmart on Black Friday with all the hipsters lining up to spend their money but I'll give them a call.
__________________
"When I was younger I was afraid I'd die riding now that I'm old and falling apart, I'm afraid I won't."
bwanacswan's dad
MrBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 02:59 PM   #17
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnyard View Post
Put the disc in, start-up while holding down the 'c' key (something like that.)
Option c from what I remember.

It will not boot from CD/DVD without pressing the keys
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 03:10 PM   #18
huzar
Pastor of Muppets
 
huzar's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Bellevue, WA
Oddometer: 2,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBob View Post
Thanks for the offer.
The Boulder Apple store is like Walmart on Black Friday with all the hipsters lining up to spend their money but I'll give them a call.
You can make an appointment online with the GeniusBar for a specific date and time, so you don't have to deal with the crowds
huzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 06:18 PM   #19
k-moe
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 2,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohgood View Post
Option c from what I remember.

It will not boot from CD/DVD without pressing the keys
That used to be the way. Since OS X it's just been press and hold C during startup. That works for any bootable media (CD, USB, etc.)
__________________
Mixing metaphors is like killing two birds with a dog that won't hunt.
k-moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 08:57 AM   #20
hpsVFR
Hoosier Daddy
 
hpsVFR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Denver metro area
Oddometer: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBob View Post
Thanks for the offer.
The Boulder Apple store is like Walmart on Black Friday with all the hipsters lining up to spend their money but I'll give them a call.
Based on what you've written, you need an external drive and an OS X CD. The Apple Store will be able to help you out. A good Apple Specialist (e.g. the MacSuperstore up in Colorado Springs) would be able to do the same. If you wanted to do it yourself, you'd need to come up with a working optical drive (e.g. USB external, or FireWire Target Mode with a borrowed Mac) and the CD.

I'll be in the Denver area starting on the 12th, and have most/all of the equipment that you'd need, but I don't know whether or not I've got a recovery disk for your machine...and everything's in boxes in a truck.

PM me if you don't have this taken care of.
__________________
I'll get back in the saddle again if it kills me...
hpsVFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:10 AM   #21
MrBob OP
Certified Geezer
 
MrBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Boulderish, CO
Oddometer: 7,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpsVFR View Post
Based on what you've written, you need an external drive and an OS X CD. The Apple Store will be able to help you out. A good Apple Specialist (e.g. the MacSuperstore up in Colorado Springs) would be able to do the same. If you wanted to do it yourself, you'd need to come up with a working optical drive (e.g. USB external, or FireWire Target Mode with a borrowed Mac) and the CD.

I'll be in the Denver area starting on the 12th, and have most/all of the equipment that you'd need, but I don't know whether or not I've got a recovery disk for your machine...and everything's in boxes in a truck.

PM me if you don't have this taken care of.
Great reply, thanks. I'll be in touch if I haven't resolved this soon.
__________________
"When I was younger I was afraid I'd die riding now that I'm old and falling apart, I'm afraid I won't."
bwanacswan's dad
MrBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:59 PM   #22
hpsVFR
Hoosier Daddy
 
hpsVFR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Denver metro area
Oddometer: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBob View Post
Great reply, thanks. I'll be in touch if I haven't resolved this soon.
Resolved?
__________________
I'll get back in the saddle again if it kills me...
hpsVFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 06:06 PM   #23
MrBob OP
Certified Geezer
 
MrBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Boulderish, CO
Oddometer: 7,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpsVFR View Post
Resolved?
I've been able to put a little money away and now I'm thinking of a computer upgrade.
Would I need to have the password to transfer data to a replacement computer?
__________________
"When I was younger I was afraid I'd die riding now that I'm old and falling apart, I'm afraid I won't."
bwanacswan's dad
MrBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 06:09 PM   #24
huzar
Pastor of Muppets
 
huzar's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Bellevue, WA
Oddometer: 2,077
You'll need the password if you want to transfer things via migration assistant between the old mac and the new one.

I haven't tried this, but you might be able to bypass the password by putting the old mac into target disk mode and using a firewire cable and a firewire to thunderbolt adapter.

Did the trick of booting into single user mode and deleting the "setup complete" file not work for you?
huzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:37 AM   #25
hpsVFR
Hoosier Daddy
 
hpsVFR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Denver metro area
Oddometer: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBob View Post
I've been able to put a little money away and now I'm thinking of a computer upgrade.
Would I need to have the password to transfer data to a replacement computer?
There are ways of copying the data over without the password. You still won't be able to access it, however.
__________________
I'll get back in the saddle again if it kills me...
hpsVFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 04:15 AM   #26
Old Kiwi#99
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Middle Earth, New Zealand
Oddometer: 277
http://tidbits.com/article/144371:
Use the Command Line -- In early versions of Mac OS X, the command line was the best way to reset a forgotten administrator password. Even now, command-line password reset remains available, making it the most universal approach that will work in any situation. If you’re not turned off by typing highly specific commands, follow these steps:

Make a note of the user account shortname by opening the Home folder (in the Finder, choose Go > Home) and checking the folder name at the top of the window. If you can’t get into the account at all, you can determine the shortname later on.



Reboot into Single User mode by restarting the Mac and holding Command-S while the system comes back up. A lot of arcane status messages scroll by, and leave you with a command-line prompt.

Mount the root Mac OS X drive as writable, so you can make changes to the filesystem, with this command:

mount -uw /

For those running 10.7 Lion, 10.8 Mountain Lion, or 10.9 Mavericks, enter this command at the prompt to load Open Directory (which manages user accounts) manually, since it was deprecated in Lion:

launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.opendirectoryd.plist

Skip this step if you’re running 10.6 Snow Leopard or earlier.

If you don’t know the shortname of the account you want to reset, look through the list that results from typing this command:

ls /Users

Next, enter the following command, replacing “shortname” with the desired account’s shortname:

dscl . -passwd /Users/shortname

If you get this error message, you may ignore it:

launchctl: Couldn’t stat
(“/System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServicesLocal.plist”):
No such file or directory nothing found to load

Type in the new password.

Restart the Mac by typing:

reboot
Old Kiwi#99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:43 AM   #27
anotherguy
Beastly Adventurer
 
anotherguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: the hills
Oddometer: 6,167
Damn. Copied and stashed away just in case.
__________________
A lie has no feet......it can't stand alone.............
Jason Newsted
anotherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 10:06 AM   #28
MrBob OP
Certified Geezer
 
MrBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Boulderish, CO
Oddometer: 7,561
I tried this technique once and did not get the commands that you list so allow me a few questions.
You write "mount -uw /". I read this as a space between mount and the dash, yes? And then hit return? I think I may be not reading the spacing correctly. Also did not see user account shortname.
I've tried about a half dozen different methods for changing or recovering my password and in no case were the commands I got the same as the ones recommended.
I'm running 10.6.8.

Ran through the sequence twice and got Command not recognized.
__________________
"When I was younger I was afraid I'd die riding now that I'm old and falling apart, I'm afraid I won't."
bwanacswan's dad

MrBob screwed with this post 05-18-2014 at 10:20 AM
MrBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:37 PM   #29
hpsVFR
Hoosier Daddy
 
hpsVFR's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Denver metro area
Oddometer: 1,337
Let's step back a minute and see if we might have some other options:

1. Do you have any other accounts on that machine that you do have access to?

2. Do you (or a close friend) have another Mac that has a working optical drive?

3. Do you have a recent backup of your data? If so, how did you make it?

4. What are you thinking, WRT replacing your Mac? If you were to purchase the replacement machine, and set up an administrator account on it, it becomes fairly easy* to transfer your data over, and reset the password.

*[where fairly easy may be quite a bit easier than what you're trying to do, or about the same, depending on a variety of factors]

Unfortunately, I no longer have my Snow Leopard discs, so cannot help you out that way. I am reasonably familiar with this sort of thing, and worked in the service dept. of an Apple Specialist for a while. We can get you sorted out, but it might not be possible to do long distance.
__________________
I'll get back in the saddle again if it kills me...
hpsVFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 04:19 AM   #30
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBob View Post
I tried this technique once and did not get the commands that you list so allow me a few questions.
You write "mount -uw /". I read this as a space between mount and the dash, yes? And then hit return? I think I may be not reading the spacing correctly. Also did not see user account shortname.
I've tried about a half dozen different methods for changing or recovering my password and in no case were the commands I got the same as the ones recommended.
I'm running 10.6.8.

Ran through the sequence twice and got Command not recognized.
If the partition wasn't encrypted just boot the machine in slave mode and get your files onto another drive, then wipe it or whatever and push them back after a reinstall.
__________________
Donkeys are flying
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014