ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2014, 03:09 PM   #15856
drunkenrich
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drunkenrich's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Thomaston, CT
Oddometer: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
You need to do Reset Adaptation with KTM diagnostic tool or TuneECU before doing the 15 minute idle procedure. TuneECU does the reset when new maps are loaded. Otherwise it is pretty much a waste of time and gas.
Can they do this reset adaptation at a dealer?
__________________
2009 Yamaha Nytro XTX

2010 KTM 690 enduro r
drunkenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 04:01 PM   #15857
lightfighter
where does this go?
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Sierra Vista AZ.
Oddometer: 2,299
I've been chasing a couple randomly occurring codes for a while and one early suggestion from I can't remember who was to lift out the battery tray and check that area for abraded wires. Finally got around to it.

Found several chaffed areas on the wrap...some on wires... Nothing looked like a real problem yet... I cut and spliced one wire with heat drink over the repair,,, the rest just got new tape. Two wraps, of tape that I'm sure was 6 times the cost of the "racing tape" KTM used one wrap of.


FFS... How cheap!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Durrr... Took of to clean my air box tonight before installing a new ktm foam airfilter I bought.

Under the airbox I found a few cables that had rubbed open. One to the rear light and one to one the cassettes behind the battery (vortex?) the one closest to the battery.

I used electrical tape to close them up again. Put the airbox back on and fired it up. To my surprise the display went orange but nothing else happened to it, no speedometer, odometer, nothing... Just orange.

Did I short something or did my display die or what? Has anyone seen anything similar? Btw the foam air filter was tight in there... Couldn't get the snorkel lid to sit tight on it. Any ideas there?

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
lightfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 04:39 PM   #15858
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkenrich View Post
Can they do this reset adaptation at a dealer?
Sure. They will probably charge 1/2 hr labor. Find a friend with TuneECU.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 05:53 PM   #15859
drunkenrich
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drunkenrich's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Thomaston, CT
Oddometer: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
Sure. They will probably charge 1/2 hr labor. Find a friend with TuneECU.
Anyone live in connecticut with a tune ecu?
__________________
2009 Yamaha Nytro XTX

2010 KTM 690 enduro r
drunkenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 07:47 PM   #15860
Dhawkk
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Oddometer: 21
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender or if I should just find a new smc fender somewhere on the interwebz?


One more question, is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told. Yes, I know this should probably go in the exhaust thread. Been slowly making my way through this awesome thread one page at a time and figured someone could provide some insight for me.

You guys are awesome!!
Dhawkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:06 PM   #15861
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 1,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender...
Yes, they are interchangeable.
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handlebars, no handlebars, no handlebars - Jamie Laurie
The Letter J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:11 PM   #15862
Dhawkk
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2014
Oddometer: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
Yes, they are interchangeable.
Thank you for your fast reply. I appreciate it!
Dhawkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 11:21 PM   #15863
Bike Nomad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bike Nomad's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Central Newfoundland, Canada
Oddometer: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told.
I am not an attorney. To the best of my knowledge, in the US that is not true, because it is related to this legislation?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnuso...s_Warranty_Act

There was a lobby group of aftermarket businesses that helped enforce this or similar legislation or broadened it? I'm sketchy on the details.

Of all the bikes I'm aware of the KTM 690 probably has one of the highest rates of owners replacing the can (often being replaced before the bike rolls out the dealer's door, so there would be a great many new bikes not covered if what you were told about the Akro were true.

In Europe I understand it can be an issue.

If you include a country location in your profile it can help posters better answer certain questions you might have in the future.
__________________
DON'T GET IT TWISTED --ITS DUAL SPORT! NOT DUEL SPORT!
Bike Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 11:30 PM   #15864
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen View Post
Can't you just splice in new wire to replace the broken area? I realize that is not as good as an unbroken wire but it has to be better than replacing the harness.
Do you like solder them together or how do you repair them? I'm guessing soldering would be best but it feels like the entire harness is a tiger spot to work on.

I'll def. try everything I can before even considering a harness replace. May the McGyver repairskills be with me...

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:04 AM   #15865
CanadianX
Oh!? That is deep.
 
CanadianX's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 1,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
I was thinking the same but I was careful with them and it felt like they held together well. What can I do check if they are broken and if so, how can it be fixed? I hope I won't need to replace the entire wiring harness



Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Flex the wire and see if you can get the dash to work. If not you have use a multimeter but you can narrow your search to the wires that power your speedo etc. I would look under the battery tray and under the fuse tray for rubbed through wires. Likely the area where you first found rubbed wires is the problem area.

If you do find a break and you have enough slack in the wire you can cut it at the break strip the ends and use a quality butt end connector, one with heat shrink already on it, and reconnect the wire ends. Then wrap it with electrical tape and see if you can zap strap it out of the way of the air box.

CanadianX screwed with this post 05-08-2014 at 03:11 AM
CanadianX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:15 AM   #15866
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Do you like solder them together or how do you repair them?

Yes. Cut out the broken area, fit new wire, solder in on both ends, and be sure to use heat shrink tubing to protect the splices.

Ideally you would also re-route the wires so that they would not break again or protect them with additional tubing.
__________________
DoD#1458
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 05:17 AM   #15867
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender or if I should just find a new smc fender somewhere on the interwebz?


One more question, is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told. Yes, I know this should probably go in the exhaust thread. Been slowly making my way through this awesome thread one page at a time and figured someone could provide some insight for me.

You guys are awesome!!
I've had a half dozen warranty claims most out of the warranty period while having a Leo Vince can on mine almost the whole time.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:03 AM   #15868
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen View Post
Yes. Cut out the broken area, fit new wire, solder in on both ends, and be sure to use heat shrink tubing to protect the splices.

Ideally you would also re-route the wires so that they would not break again or protect them with additional tubing.
Weirdest thing... Bought a multimeter today. Hooked of the front and started measuring (had off the airbox as well). Didn't really get any values. On any of the wires that weren't for the headlight.

Then all of a sudden shit starts working!!! I go through the wires bending and pulling / pushing a bit: no change still works. Do the same on the area I found last night, no change still works.

Went in for dinner now and hopefully it will still work when I get out for a test run :P

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:15 AM   #15869
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: UK for now.
Oddometer: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Weirdest thing... Bought a multimeter today. Hooked of the front and started measuring (had off the airbox as well). Didn't really get any values. On any of the wires that weren't for the headlight.

Then all of a sudden shit starts working!!! I go through the wires bending and pulling / pushing a bit: no change still works. Do the same on the area I found last night, no change still works.

Went in for dinner now and hopefully it will still work when I get out for a test run :P

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Good chance you will end up stranded. You need to find and fix the problem before you go riding.

These wires under the air box - which ones are they? Where do they go?
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:21 AM   #15870
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 139
Yeah I know. Going for a shorter ride around home.

If I remember they were blue and red (or purple brown, was not the best of light yesterday when I taped it up)

They go to the first big connection behind the battery. I lost the display numbers after that.

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015