ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 04:04 AM   #15931
CanadianX
Oh!? That is deep.
 
CanadianX's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 1,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
I was thinking the same but I was careful with them and it felt like they held together well. What can I do check if they are broken and if so, how can it be fixed? I hope I won't need to replace the entire wiring harness



Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Flex the wire and see if you can get the dash to work. If not you have use a multimeter but you can narrow your search to the wires that power your speedo etc. I would look under the battery tray and under the fuse tray for rubbed through wires. Likely the area where you first found rubbed wires is the problem area.

If you do find a break and you have enough slack in the wire you can cut it at the break strip the ends and use a quality butt end connector, one with heat shrink already on it, and reconnect the wire ends. Then wrap it with electrical tape and see if you can zap strap it out of the way of the air box.

CanadianX screwed with this post 05-08-2014 at 04:11 AM
CanadianX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:15 AM   #15932
gen
Studly Adventurer
 
gen's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Tokyo
Oddometer: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Do you like solder them together or how do you repair them?

Yes. Cut out the broken area, fit new wire, solder in on both ends, and be sure to use heat shrink tubing to protect the splices.

Ideally you would also re-route the wires so that they would not break again or protect them with additional tubing.
__________________
DoD#1458 | GaijinRiders | 2010 KTM 690 Enduro
gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:17 AM   #15933
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dhawkk View Post
Does anyone by chance know how interchangeable front fenders are? I have a 2014 enduro r, us version. Wondering if I can get away with a 2010 smc front fender or if I should just find a new smc fender somewhere on the interwebz?


One more question, is it true that any slip on aside from an akra will void the warrenty? This is what I was told. Yes, I know this should probably go in the exhaust thread. Been slowly making my way through this awesome thread one page at a time and figured someone could provide some insight for me.

You guys are awesome!!
I've had a half dozen warranty claims most out of the warranty period while having a Leo Vince can on mine almost the whole time.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:03 AM   #15934
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by gen View Post
Yes. Cut out the broken area, fit new wire, solder in on both ends, and be sure to use heat shrink tubing to protect the splices.

Ideally you would also re-route the wires so that they would not break again or protect them with additional tubing.
Weirdest thing... Bought a multimeter today. Hooked of the front and started measuring (had off the airbox as well). Didn't really get any values. On any of the wires that weren't for the headlight.

Then all of a sudden shit starts working!!! I go through the wires bending and pulling / pushing a bit: no change still works. Do the same on the area I found last night, no change still works.

Went in for dinner now and hopefully it will still work when I get out for a test run :P

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:15 AM   #15935
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Between Velez Rubio and Huercal Overa, Spain.
Oddometer: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mange View Post
Weirdest thing... Bought a multimeter today. Hooked of the front and started measuring (had off the airbox as well). Didn't really get any values. On any of the wires that weren't for the headlight.

Then all of a sudden shit starts working!!! I go through the wires bending and pulling / pushing a bit: no change still works. Do the same on the area I found last night, no change still works.

Went in for dinner now and hopefully it will still work when I get out for a test run :P

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Good chance you will end up stranded. You need to find and fix the problem before you go riding.

These wires under the air box - which ones are they? Where do they go?
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:21 AM   #15936
Mange
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Umeå
Oddometer: 135
Yeah I know. Going for a shorter ride around home.

If I remember they were blue and red (or purple brown, was not the best of light yesterday when I taped it up)

They go to the first big connection behind the battery. I lost the display numbers after that.

Skickat från min C6903 via Tapatalk
Mange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:34 AM   #15937
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 877
Take it to a dealer. Or an auto-electrician.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:34 PM   #15938
thumpanoob
n00b
 
thumpanoob's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Oddometer: 1
T

Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor View Post
I am currently running the Trail Tech X2 HID on my 2009 690r. I have had it a few months more or less and have done 3-4 rides totaling maybe 20 hours on the low beam. Still working so far. They told me that everything is better now and it should last a long time but I guess I will actually SEE how long it lasts!
Hello Velociraptor,

I have a Trail Tech 36E3-70 Orange X2 70W HID Headlight that I am trying to install on a 2009 KTM 690 Enduro R . Question for you, it looked to me like a plug and play setup, however, when I took off the factory headlight, I see it connects into a 4 wire connector on the bike (H4 adapter plug), however the Trail Tech X2 has a 3 pin connector. Did you cut off the adapters and splice the wires pos to pos, neg to neg and 2 grounds on the KTM side to the Black wire on the X2 (ground according to a Trail Tech I called today) ? Trail Tech says that they can't help me since they didn't design the X2 HID to work on a 690 Enduro R !!!

Thanks much in advance.
thumpanoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 03:51 PM   #15939
ramjet
Beastly Adventurer
 
ramjet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Super F'd Up N. California
Oddometer: 2,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by isaac004 View Post
Yep, BigDog did just that and inspired me to mount my ADVMonster Model 60's like this. Just cut some slots and holes into 1/8" thick 1"x1" angle aluminum, but will probably upgrade to 1/8" thick SS bar (1" wide). Hole to mount light, and slot to slip in between the nut and the factory stalk mount.
So here is the 2014 schematic:

http://partsfinder.onlinemicrofiche....LIGHT-LIGHTING

The turn sig mount is on the back of the headlight cowling or headstock? (#6)
Inspiring me to fab up something similar although I'd prefer the lights below the sigs.
__________________
Coffee first. Then your mundane socialist bullshit.. Lenny Bruce
ramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:39 PM   #15940
isaac004
Studly Adventurer
 
isaac004's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramjet View Post
So here is the 2014 schematic:

http://partsfinder.onlinemicrofiche....LIGHT-LIGHTING

The turn sig mount is on the back of the headlight cowling or headstock? (#6)
Inspiring me to fab up something similar although I'd prefer the lights below the sigs.
On the 2014 it is on the head stock. I can take the plastic cowl off and the head light that stays connected to it without touching the turn signals.

In this photo, you can see the edge of the turn signal stalk on the right and left edge of the photo....click for bigger view.
isaac004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:28 AM   #15941
shipwrek12001
Shipwrek
 
shipwrek12001's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa
Oddometer: 2,072
curious about those who run in water....


is there more electrical failures for those who do water crossings and swamp runs, vs desert runners... I ask because I am a swamp runner, and the bike is in for a throttle body motor failure...

looking at the throttle body there are open wires going into the throttle body... I am sure the water just follows the wires into the motor. We will be taking it apart when we get the new one to see what the failure actually was in the throttle body.

Just curious what the overall feelings are... because this is costing me $1000 plus labor.... so if the failure turns to water destroying the throttle body.. the exceptional high air intake would turn to just above the foot pegs by 6 inches or so. Keeping the electrical out of the water...

thoughts?
__________________
Fak it, just go....
shipwrek12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:51 AM   #15942
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 877
I've drowned mine completely during a rallye last year when I got into a hole during a river crossing. Water was deep enough to get into the exhaust. Absolutely no ill effects (other than DNF as it would not restart on the stage). I think a power washer can get water past seals that unpressurised water will not penetrate.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:11 AM   #15943
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwrek12001 View Post
curious about those who run in water....


is there more electrical failures for those who do water crossings and swamp runs, vs desert runners... I ask because I am a swamp runner, and the bike is in for a throttle body motor failure...

looking at the throttle body there are open wires going into the throttle body... I am sure the water just follows the wires into the motor. We will be taking it apart when we get the new one to see what the failure actually was in the throttle body.

Just curious what the overall feelings are... because this is costing me $1000 plus labor.... so if the failure turns to water destroying the throttle body.. the exceptional high air intake would turn to just above the foot pegs by 6 inches or so. Keeping the electrical out of the water...

thoughts?
FWIW

Doing the Roaming Rally 2 years ago had some deep water crossings as you know. I have also done very long/ deep crossings on the '08 with sections of it well over the front tire, and about 200-300' long. Never had any throttle body issues.

Although, I'm pretty sure that you spend a lot more time in deep water than I ever did.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:30 AM   #15944
shipwrek12001
Shipwrek
 
shipwrek12001's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa
Oddometer: 2,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK.RD.RNR View Post
FWIW

Doing the Roaming Rally 2 years ago had some deep water crossings as you know. I have also done very long/ deep crossings on the '08 with sections of it well over the front tire, and about 200-300' long. Never had any throttle body issues.

Although, I'm pretty sure that you spend a lot more time in deep water than I ever did.


no kidding... what you ride in the roaming rally is where I ride...all the time... so deep long crossings is the norm here. in the last year I have had a fuel pump, voltage reg, tps and now the the throttle body... the bike is now being traded for a brand new 2013.. I have had enough with this one.. and really,, after riding the 690, is there another bike to replace it with,,,, that the smile factor is the same?

btw that black safari tank might be up for grabs, as I sold my DRZ and that money will turn into the RRaid fairing and tanks for next winter. I'll know better in a week or so..



LET THE NEW BLING SHOPPING BEGIN....
__________________
Fak it, just go....
shipwrek12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:40 AM   #15945
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwrek12001 View Post
no kidding... what you ride in the roaming rally is where I ride...all the time... so deep long crossings is the norm here. in the last year I have had a fuel pump, voltage reg, tps and now the the throttle body... the bike is now being traded for a brand new 2013.. I have had enough with this one.. and really,, after riding the 690, is there another bike to replace it with,,,, that the smile factor is the same?

btw that black safari tank might be up for grabs, as I sold my DRZ and that money will turn into the RRaid fairing and tanks for next winter. I'll know better in a week or so..



LET THE NEW BLING SHOPPING BEGIN....

I'm definitely interested in the Safari.

No, I have not found another bike that offers the same grin factor as a 690. When my 2008 went KaBooM, I went out and got a new 2012. ...You'll like the additional grin factor of the 690cc engine too.

I have a Husaberg 390 in the stable now, still want a 990 for more touring oriented rides, but have no intentions of sacrificing the 690 to get it. It does too much too well, and IMO, fills every gap between a big bike and a little bike with the least sacrifices.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by metaljockey View Post
None of us are exceptionally skilled riders (excepting when I'm drunk, then I'm fcking quick).
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014