ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2007, 03:03 PM   #1
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
Garmin Zumo: Traffic Management (TMC) problem

Has anyone had a problem with their Garmin Zumo's Traffic Management feature?

I have a GTM 21 (the GTM 20 for Europe) and GTM 12 receivers (antennas), however, while the unit recognizes the GTMs (it will pick-up a TMC provider over FM), it does not have the TMC functionality. The "traffic" icon at the start menu to the left of the settings and MP3 icons at the Start Menu is grey and not working (doesn't open to the traffic info), and the unit does not receive any traffic updates at all. It's annoying to drive in a traffic jam with a GPS that has a TMC feature.

In Germany, and parts of France, the TMC over FM is free. So, I doubt it is a subscription issue since none is needed here. I contacted Garmin support in the US (because I got the Zumo from the US) and the tech feels both my GTMs are the issue and that my unit needs a subscription service set up. Given that TMC is free here, I think that is a bit odd. My other GPS (not a Garmin) has the TMC feature and it works flawlessly here. As does my friends with their various GPSs that possess the TMC feature.

Anyone else experience this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Drew
__________________


calix meus inebrians

----------
'03 F650GS Dakar
'95 ST1100 Pan European

"If you are part of the Rat Race, just remember at the end of the race... you're still a rat."


http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...=4753&page=123
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 04:51 PM   #2
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,537
Hi,

Repost this to "Layin down tracks"
That's the GPS specific section of this site.

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:54 PM   #3
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
Thanks, I appreciate it...
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 04:49 PM   #4
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR356
Hi,

Repost this to "Layin down tracks"
That's the GPS specific section of this site.

JR356
That's were it is?

Given that a US GPS would require a subscription, I honestly don't know how you would trouble shoot this in the EU other than to hook up your receiver to an EU zumo and see what happens first.
PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 01:33 AM   #5
Boxerbro
Free Spirit
 
Boxerbro's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: The Nanny State of Europe :o(
Oddometer: 82
Do you have the latest firmware updates for your Zumo? I had many problems receiving data from my GTM12 until I got 3.30 update. Now the TMC works 95% of the time here in the UK.
__________________
Life is short, live life to the full.
Boxerbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 04:26 AM   #6
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
I did the update. After I did and plugged the GTM 12, it indicated that the traffic receiver software was updating. It then -- for the first time -- recognized the GTM 12, but without the TMC functionality like with the GTM 21.

The Garmin tech I corresponded with in the US seemed to think that the GTMs were the problem, however, two GTMs with the same problem leads me to believe the problem lies with the unit. Before I ship it off back to the US, I wanted to see if anyone could help troubleshoot it.

I'll likely ship it (and the GTMs) off next week should I be unable to find a solution here.

BTW, the GTM 20 also works in Europe. A friend has the GTM 20 over here and it works fine with the TMC service. An FM receiver is an FM receiver. The nice thing about the GTM 20 is the FM antenna is part of the power cord -- versus the GTM with its FM and power cable separate.
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 04:26 AM   #7
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
That's were it is?
I mistakenly put the original post in "Equipment"
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 01:42 PM   #8
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
After months of trying to get my Zumo fixed, the Saga comes to an end...

After troubleshooting to no end -- and sending my Zumo to Garmin USA, getting it back (with the TMC still not functioning), more troubleshooting, contacting Garmin UK, more troubleshooting, and being passed off to Garmin Germany (worthless -- they did not possess accurate info) by Garmin UK, re-contacting Garmin USA after my conversation with Garmin in Germany, more troubleshooting, updating my MapSource software, more troubleshooting -- it appears a new Zumo will be heading my way after months of having my Zumo without the TMC function. It appears my Zumo was afflicted by the same problem a collegue had with his Zumo (which was exchanged fairly quickly months ago). We bought our Zumos from the same authorized dealer soon after they hit the streets. I guess we got into a batch of Zumos with TMC functionality problems. Thumbs up for Mr Candy and Garmin USA for finally sorting this out. Traffic in Germany sucks and I'll be glad to have a Zumo with the TMC function that works...
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 02:27 PM   #9
ECM
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ECM's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Oddometer: 161
Ok, seems your problem is solved.

I was to suggest (and you might still want to do so) to run the webupdater again.
But instead of just loading firmware 3.30 (if it is not on it already) see if the TMC update is available in the next screen. That is the screen where the voices and textfiles updates are as well.
ECM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:50 PM   #10
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
Talking

Thx. I tried everything before they finally said "yep. time to send it on in." (paraphasing) I should have in back in about 7-10 days!
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 02:08 AM   #11
Rabbitson
Studly Adventurer
 
Rabbitson's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in Deepest Benelux
Oddometer: 555
Just out of interest

Is the TMC built into the Zumo or is an external accessory (like with the Nuvi)?
Rabbitson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 04:48 AM   #12
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
Unfortunately, while the capability is built into the unit, it requires an external antenna (GTM 12 Antenna (car and motorycle use) or GTM 20 or GTM 21 (car use)) and power. The TMC function will not work on battery power.

The GTM antennas are not cheap and it is a pity. Other manufacturer's GPS units include the TMC antenna as part of the package -- but none are like the Zumo (designed for a motorcycle and waterproof). I guess Garmin makes some good money off its accessories.

Although I live in Germany, I bought my GTM on-line from Navicar (http://www.navicar.nl/) in the Netherlands. Best prices I found on-line and they are an authorized Garmin shop. The GTM 12 is all you really would need and it cost 99 EURO.
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 10:46 AM   #13
Rabbitson
Studly Adventurer
 
Rabbitson's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Somewhere in Deepest Benelux
Oddometer: 555
Thanks for the info
Rabbitson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 07:54 PM   #14
drew-at-large OP
Outhouse Race Team
 
drew-at-large's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Oddometer: 266
Bluhduh 2nd Zumo, same problem

Well, I received my replacement Zumo... and it has the same problem. More troubleshooting with Garmin USA does show (prove) my Zumo recognizes the GTM receivers (GTM 12, GTM 20, and GTM 21) and is receiving traffic updates over FM (like the last unit). It appears the unit is not processing the TMC data it is receiving. The problem is puzzling Garmin techs apparently... whom is working to get this problem resolved. Despite the problem, good support thus far.
drew-at-large is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014