ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 05:22 PM   #1
MungoP OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Hornsby, Sydney
Oddometer: 280
Busted RAM mount replaced under warranty

Using my thumb I bent back the gizmo that locks my GPSmap 60Cx in at the top of the RAM mount and boof I felt it give way, this morning.
Luckily I was riding my DR650 over to near where GPSOZ is at Mona Vale so I popped in to see BurnieM. He replaced the busted section with a new one and screwed it all back together in no time.
I had the invoice showing I'd bought it from him eighteen months ago but there is a lifetime guarantee on that part so no charge.
We then went off to have a look at all his farkles on his DR650 - very nice.
__________________
'04 DRZ-250, '08 DL650 ABS, '07 DR 650 sold, '04 V-Strom 650 w/o, '00 VTR250 sold
MungoP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 06:11 PM   #2
Dik from OZ
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Oddometer: 24
This is a well known problem with this mount. The good news is RAM have fixed it and it doesn't happen to new ones. Mine broke after about 12 months and was exchanged no worries.
They were a bit tight and took just a bit too much pressure to get the GPSr in and out. Eventually they broke.
The GPSr is much easier to clip in and out on the new ones.
__________________

I'm not lost....... I'm just exploring
Dik from OZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:43 PM   #3
bull600
Gnarly Adventurer
 
bull600's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Oddometer: 343
Hey I'm in Adelaide to and was wondering where you bought your RAM mount for the garmin?

Cheers
bull600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:53 PM   #4
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,444
I ordered my RAM bits'n'bobs from GPSOZ (where BurnieM works), you can check the stuff out on their website then place an order.
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 03:57 AM   #5
bull600
Gnarly Adventurer
 
bull600's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Oddometer: 343
Thanks for that.. I'll check them out!

Cheers
bull600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 01:26 AM   #6
Dik from OZ
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Oddometer: 24
And mine came from Johnny Appleseed in Melbourne.

I had a Garmin mount I bought in Adelaide, but it is pretty poor in comparison. I keep it for using the GPSr in hire cars.

The Ram mounts are so much better, and with interchangable parts I can quickly swap the GPSr from car to bike to bicycle, and fit my cameras to the same mounts too!.

One more tip. If you need a cheap power supply, get a "cigarete lighter" power supply to USB adapter cheap at Jaycar, and run the GPSr off USB power.
__________________

I'm not lost....... I'm just exploring
Dik from OZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014