NEW 2007 or 2008 F800ST

Discussion in 'Road Warriors' started by ovd, Dec 9, 2008.

1. ovd

ovd Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, so feel free to move it as appropriate.
    Let me ask the wise and the experienced folks here. As you may know BMW is running a promotion for 2008 and older F800ST bikes. I decided to take the advantage of it and have been aggressively looking for ’07 and ’08 leftovers in the area. Found two options:
    1. '08 F800ST loaded, no ABS.
    2. '07 (new) F800ST loaded, with ABS but no trip computer.
    Both dealers are willing to take another $300-$400 off the price after BMW rebate and have offered acceptable terms for my trade-in. I’m in a dilemma which one to get. Problem with the ‘08 bike is the absent ABS and the problem with the 07 is that it going to be 2 years old in 3 weeks. So, my questions, if I may:
    1. How important is it to have ABS? Can it really save my life? I’m a novice rider, so the question of safety is ultra-important in my case.
    2. What am I risking buying a motorcycle that been sitting still for 2 years? What possible “damage” can it sustain from it? (Warranty is standard 3/36 and affective from the date of purchase)
    3. I’m certain that should I sell the ’07 bike in a few years the bike will have market value of ’07 but will the fact that I bought it new in late ’08 add it any resale value?
    4. From your experience, has BMW ironed out most of the problems discussed here on the forum of ’07-’08 production run for the ’09 models? Am I safer from reliability standpoint stick to ’09 bikes?

Thanks in advance.
  2. Big-B

Big-B Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I like the ABS on my BMW. You can find really good deals on used super low miles F800ST's. Check bmwmoa, bmwsporttouring, and ibmw.

Brian
  3. Jeff49783

Jeff49783 Private ASEL

Oddometer: