the BIG RIGS thread

Discussion in 'Shiny Things' started by ADK, Jul 30, 2011.

1. ADK

ADK .

Oddometer:
    I've always wanted to drive one of these monsters. There's a show on SPEEDTV called American Trucker that has amped up my curiosity. My favorite is the cabovers :norton

http://youtu.be/G705ElbsIwk

So here's a thread for the BIG RIGS. :clap :ear
  2. Censport

Censport Vendor

Oddometer:
    I used to be a driver. Only drove a cabover once (Pete 362), and even though it was a clapped-out rolling pile it still rode better than the Freightshaker conventionals I usually drove. Here is probably the most famous cabover of them all:

[​IMG]
    maydaymike and WDG like this.
  3. DakarNick

DakarNick Swabee

Oddometer:
  4. CarlWheezer

CarlWheezer It's a trick...get an axe

Oddometer:
    What ever happened to Super Truck Racing?? There was a Super Truck Racing Association of North America or STRANA that was racing in 2003-2004. This Motor Trend article talks about the series a little http://www.trucktrend.com/roadtests/ultimate/163_0402_super_truck_racing/index.html but then it dissappeared. I remember getting a scheduel from Road America when the trucks were racing. I wish I would have gone to see it now. The disk brakes were water cooled. They would glow red when hot, and then sprayed with water to cool them. Any one know what happened?
  5. CurtOKC

CurtOKC Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I drove for over 18 years and my all time favorite was the Freightliner FLD coe with the set back front axle. but since now flat face's are a thing of the past I still believe that the conventional freightliner are the best driver frienly design with the Volvo running neck to neck.:D
  6. Hayduke

Hayduke ///SAFETY THIRD/// Supporter

Oddometer:
    :lurk