Small truck? Maybe a Minivan would be better?

Discussion in 'Shiny Things' started by The PacRat, Nov 3, 2011.

1. The PacRat

The PacRat I'm that other guy

Oddometer:
    It's like I have never paid attention to Minivans in all my life. Like they didn't exist.

I am considering getting rid of my old Dodge truck and getting a small truck, since I don't really need to haul GIGANTIC loads much anymore. Naturally thought of another small truck. I had a Ranger 4cyl std, and it was a gutless but fun truck that averaged 22mpg. Crap - I almost got 20mpg in my Cummins - what the hell good is a small truck that hauls little, and sputters up hills?

Then, like a light going off, I thought "what about a minivan"? I'm old, married, and don't care what anyone thinks!

I have zero experience with or knowledge of them. A few quick searches and I found the Mazda MPV, and a few others.

What's good? Reliable? good MPGs? How much crap can you jam into one of them? Full size sheet of plywood? I don't really want one of the full size vans. I'd also like carpeting and seating (preferable removable). Saw some pretty damn nice looking MPVs and Town and Countrys. My price range will be about 6-7k - should be able to get something pretty nice for that.

Tell me about minivans.
    (please) :D
  2. ragtoplvr

ragtoplvr Long timer

Oddometer:
    The toughest minivan if well maintained is a Chevy Astro. Had 2, last one was at 187K when the Joplin Tornado ate it. 21 MPG, rear wheel drive so no struts, get the death cool out of it as soon as you get it before it eats the intake gaskets and you will have no issues. I have replaced the gaskets, took about 10 hours if you have done one then it is a 4 hours job or so.

Change all fluids, all of them, anti freeze, power steering, tranny, rear end, brake fluid, and actuall grease all those 14? grease fitting on the front end on some sort of schedule and it will run forever.