ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 21 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-14-2014, 02:28 PM   #736
deputygene
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Piedmont, NC
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpallen View Post
I was able to import the kml file from google directly into Basecamp and export it as a gpx file to the gps. I couldn't figure out a way to do that with Mapsource.
This link shows how to convert kml files to gpx. Pretty good info for how to make tracks follow a road in google earth, then converting to use in mapsource.

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=937605

deputygene screwed with this post 09-14-2014 at 02:34 PM
deputygene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:31 PM   #737
deputygene
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Piedmont, NC
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
If using 62/78, do you use Mapsource Download tool or save as .gpx and copy to GPS with Esplore?

I assume you mean the color of your saved track was white? Or do you mean your showing Active Log was white?

What color was it in Mapsource?

Mapsource will now copy all Tracks to 62/78 without changing colors. I tested a 78 just after they came out and that unit screwed with color but current firmware does not do that.
It is the blue ridge trail files. connector tracks are yellow, main tracks are green, i think difficult sections are red. Would like to maintain those colors. there are some 40 track files, so it would take awhile to go in and change all colors. I am using mapsource, the transfer to device tool.
deputygene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:32 PM   #738
deputygene
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Piedmont, NC
Oddometer: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
I think the latest version of Basecamp preserves track colours when you transfer to the gps.
Ok, have basecamp loaded too, just like mapsource a little better. Will try to transfer the tracks using basecamp.
deputygene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 04:49 PM   #739
cpallen
Nearly Adventurer
 
cpallen's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by deputygene View Post
Ok, have basecamp loaded too, just like mapsource a little better. Will try to transfer the tracks using basecamp.
Maybe you can import the kml and export the gpx with basecamp, and then load that gpx into mapsource?
__________________
Courtney in Seattle
'13 BMW F800GT, '07 G650X Challenge
'09 Aprilia Scarabeo 500ie
cpallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 05:12 PM   #740
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpallen View Post
Maybe you can import the kml and export the gpx with basecamp, and then load that gpx into mapsource?
What is the point of using Mapsource in this case?

Basecamp is the better program to use with a modern gps like the 62/78.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 05:20 PM   #741
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by deputygene View Post
converted the KML file into a GPX file, then imported it into mapsource

It is the blue ridge trail files. connector tracks are yellow, main tracks are green, i think difficult sections are red. Would like to maintain those colors. there are some 40 track files, so it would take awhile to go in and change all colors. I am using mapsource, the transfer to device tool.
You have not answered:

What color do you see in MapSource and/or BaseCamp?

Then you transfer to 62/78 (which) what are colors?

Or do they change when you convert from KLM to gpx?

Just terms but unlike BaseCamp, you don't "import" to Mapsource, you just open gpx file. I agree with you Mapsource is much more intuitive.

It is very quick to change colors in Mapsource unlike how long and painful it is to turn on each track in our 62/78 because Garmin is not smart enough to have a Turn on all tracks feature.
__________________
Jerry Counts

Countdown screwed with this post 09-14-2014 at 05:28 PM
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:24 PM   #742
deputygene
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Piedmont, NC
Oddometer: 213
The track was blue in Mapsource, white on the GPS. All is good though, opened up Basecamp, did the update that came up, then opened the tracks in Basecamp. Transferred to GPS the same color!

EmmBeddee- I just found Mapsource easier to work with on my older GPS units (60CSX & 60CX) I had played with Basecamp, earlier version, I thought it was harder to work with, so went back to Mapsource.

I did find that Basecamp seemed to work with the new 78 unit better than it did my old 60. A complicated file with lots of waypoints, different tracks was a lot easier to load to the GPS with basecamp. So the KML to GPX conversion point might be mute, but did find a neat tool in Google that makes tracks exactly follow a road.

As you both can guess, although not new to using a GPS, I still struggle to use them in a more advanced way. I think I have studied GPS stuff more in the past few years than all college combined! LOL

What is explore?

Thanks you guys help to what probably seems to be my stupid questions!

deputygene screwed with this post Yesterday at 02:35 PM
deputygene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:34 PM   #743
Emmbeedee OP
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,876
I agree, Mapsource does work better with the 60/76 units, and BC with the 62/78.

BC is hardly worth the trouble if you're using it with a 60/76.

But the fact that you can use the maps installed on the gps in Basecamp is very useful. The maps don't need to be installed on the computer.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:13 PM   #744
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by deputygene View Post
The track was blue in Mapsource, white on the GPS.

What is explore?
That is hard to believe if your 62/78 has current firmware? I did see a change to transparent on the early units.

How did you download the Track to GPS?

There are two ways when using Mapsource:

1) Use the MapSopurce Download Icon with "Tracks" checked. MapSource will send Tracks to GPS which will open a new gpx file titled "Temp" with the Tracks in it. Sometime later the GPS will rename the file with the date/time. Haven't figured that one out yet.

2) Save the file with the Tracks as a .gpx file. Then (if using a PC) use Explore to copy that file to the gpx folder in the Garmin folder in the GPS. I use this one at my rides. Customer walks up, plugs in, I drag file to GPS, unplug and leave.

Explore is the Microsoft file manager on your PC.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:26 PM   #745
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,006
*Explorer
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:29 PM   #746
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowMule View Post
*Explorer
Sort of correct,

Microsoft makes Internet Explorer for Window 8 and back

They made Explore on XP and back

On Windows 8 they now call it File Explorer but when you put the curser on the Icon, it doesn't even give you the name of the program.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014