Throttle cable relocation?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by dingersurf, Mar 28, 2012.

1. dingersurf

dingersurf Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Put some bar backs/risers on my 09GS. Throttle cable is a bit tight, can't figure out how to relocate it. So I put the stock one back on before I break something. Help Please, I'm sure it's something simple.
    Thanks Dave
  2. Lensgrinder

Lensgrinder Long timer

Oddometer:
    Run your throttle cable under the bars instead of over with the bar back risers and you should be fine.
  3. dingersurf

dingersurf Adventurer

Oddometer:
    But where do you disconnect the cable?
  4. dingersurf

dingersurf Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Bump
  5. Tosh Togo

Tosh Togo Long timer

Oddometer:
    At the throttle-tube end. :D
  6. dingersurf

dingersurf Adventurer

Oddometer:
    FUCK YOU,,,,,,its a simple question,,,,, I'm a NOOB wrenching on my bike and don't want to pay the dealer $100
  7. Hikertrash

Hikertrash Wasted Rock Ranger

Oddometer:
    Don't listen to them. You need to pop off the plastic cap at the top of the triple clamp. Remove the one closest to the throttle side and remove the nut just under it. Youll need a crescent or open end wrench to hold onto the nut just below the triple clamp or else it will just keep spinning. The fork will drop down a few inches and you can slip it under. It'll make more sense when you do it yourself. You might need to cut a couple zip ties to reroute the cables, but you can just put some new ones on afterwards. I did this same thing when I minted some bar backs. An inmate here has a pictorial if you search under Rox Risers install. That's where I learned to do mine. Good luck.

Plastic cap
    [​IMG]

Nut
    [​IMG]

Use open end wrench to keep this from spinning (14mm I think)
    [​IMG]
  8. Tosh Togo

Tosh Togo Long timer

Oddometer:

You're right... it was a simple question... and you asked where, Booboo, not HOW. :deal