Anyone riding through Mexico soon?

Discussion in 'Americas' started by iJamesLopez, Sep 28, 2012.

1. iJamesLopez

iJamesLopez n00b

Oddometer:
    I am new to ADVrider so if my answer is in a column or section I missed I appologize.

I currently live in Tulsa, Oklahoma. I am selling my house, truck, and all belongings to ride my motorcycle through Central and South America to live in Agentina. I am stopping off in Belize and Nicaragua to spend a year split between the two working with a surgical relief team and building an orphanage.

I am fine riding solo, but would prefer to ride with a small group (corrupt cops mess more with a single rider than a group of them)

Any advice or guidance is greatly appretiated.
    Thanks
  2. Lone Rider

Lone Rider Registered User

Oddometer:
    What causes you to believe this?
  3. Nookie

Nookie Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Most of the cops I've run into have never been a problem. I gave up a 20 dollor bill one time but I was speeding. I travel mostly solo or with folks either tagging along with me or me with them from time to time. Usually a lot of smiling and my broke ass spanish loosens the cops up, and all and all they have been more helpful than harmful.
  4. Bigred09

Bigred09 Bikes,beer,tools

Oddometer:
    Wish I was in BAJA,currently in Orange County
    I agree,I'd like to make a small trip down there.But the fear of the cops does shake me down.Ima have to look into it.
  5. kantuckid

kantuckid Long timer

Oddometer:
    You are eliminating one of the BEST! sources of help & information out there when you figure the cops are not your friend & mostly corrupt. Start over on that aspect of your attitude & you'll have a better trip. Your a "helping" sort , so give em a break!
  6. kobukan

kobukan almost gnarly

Oddometer: