Help needed, buying bike for son

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by brnsrgn, Mar 22, 2015.

1. brnsrgn

brnsrgn Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I have only ridden on road. Live in WV. Time to venture off asphalt. Also son is going to be 13 in two weeks, want to buy him a bike.

Looked for used for past three months, everything I have seen has been beaten on. So looking at new. He had a cheap Chinese 50cc bike that would hardly ever start, as a first bike a few years back.

He sat on KLX 140L, good fit. CRF 150F - too tall for him.

Thinking of

KLX 140L
    CRF125
    TT125

Leaning towards kawa, as it seems too have a little more motor.

I am new to dirt, so welcome any comments.

Key feature would be able to take abuse of new rider, and not getting bored with it.

I bought myself a 2008 KTM 450, so we can start exploring together.

Thanks in advance for any comments.
  2. Navin

Navin Long timer

Oddometer:
    The KLX 140 is a pooch. The Honda 150f is king of the play bikes for good reason. He'd get more years out of the Honda. I raised three boys from 50cc thru open class motocross. If he can scootch his ass to one side to get a foot down, he'll be fine. Let him learn at his own pace. He will fall, but they pick up the stops pretty fast after they tip over a few times.

Get bark busters! :lol3
  3. brnsrgn

brnsrgn Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    crf 150 vs 125?

He fits on 125.
  4. supernick

supernick Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Take any lessons along with MX school trainer. Very important to learn the correct position on the bike. Than retrained will be very difficult. This will help prevent stupid injuries.

Support Villopoto purchase KLX140
  5. Navin

Navin Long timer

Oddometer: