Why the 1200s?

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by Rockhopp3r, May 4, 2014.

1. Rockhopp3r

Rockhopp3r Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hey all. I'm new around and was reading some threads. In a couple of months, I might be moving so I was reconsidering my bike. I am fairly new to riding, so excuse the question if it is dumb.

I usually ride a Honda XR250 around town. Where I currently am, it is marketed as a small dual sport bike. I do most of my riding in pavement and often find that 250cc is good for zipping around a busy town. I almost never do any off roading and mostly stick to pavement. So far, the bike has done well for me.

I was considering the 800GS or the Tiger 800 XC when I move, mostly because I find that my XR250 lacks on mid and long travels. I figured that despite having bigger engines, they still look somewhat agile while being able to deliver speed on highways. 800cc seems to me a great deal of power, being able to easily deliver speeds of 150-180 km/h with no problem, more than enough for crossing continents.

My question is, why do some riders opt for the 1200s? What do they look for that 800ccs can't deliver? Why do they opt for more ccs and sacrifice maneuverability?

Any insights you can provide are greatly appreciated!
  2. No Coast Rider

No Coast Rider Been here awhile

Oddometer: