Equalizing Heat output on cheap grip heaters

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by MrPulldown, May 29, 2013.

1. MrPulldown

MrPulldown Long timer

Oddometer:
    I have been running a pair of ol cheepo grip heaters for 2 years now and they work good. For $20 I would say they work great. I would not consider paying seeral hundred for a fancy pair with a heat troller.

One thing that I always hated was how the throttle side would get scalding hot while the non-throttle side would barely get warm.

For those of you who are not fimilar with these they of grip heaters, they are two stick on heating elements that are placed under the grip. There is a high and low setting. The low setting send power through a ceramic "resistor" before hitting the heating element. It is a bit of a waste of power as it heats up the ceramic block a bit. This extra power I could be using for other things (like lights) as my little bit has limited extra power. But again for 20 bucks I will live with it.

I have tried to insulate the non throttle side. Electrical tape, and even electricla insulation wrap. However the problem is the grip. Wrapping the bar thick enough to insulate results in not being able to slide the grip on. I guess I could buy two sets of grips and use two throttle side.

On one particularly cold ride as my right hand was burning and my left freezing, I had an idea. Why not run the resistor to the right heater and no resitor to the left. I would only have an on-and off and no, Hi and low. That is fine. That sould even up the heat output. Do you think this would work.

This last winter I took apart the front end of my bike only to find that I had ripped out the wiring to the grip heaters. Looks like the ceramic block had liberated itself from the rest of the wiring. I am thinking that I will buy another set of heaters and place the curret pair underneath my seat cover.:evil That is if you think if will work.
  2. mwood7800

mwood7800 Banned

Oddometer: