HELP with SUPER LOW MILES KTM Duke

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by 2old2gitpast45°, Feb 3, 2012.

1. 2old2gitpast45°

2old2gitpast45° Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I'm an Autobody Man by trade, fix wrecks, paint cars ect. so I can turn a wrench, but Bike mechanicals are a bit of a mystery to me ..

SO, I need lotsa professional help .. and some with this AWESOME, SUPER LOW MILE, KTM Duke i just bought.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just Bought a 2000 KTM Duke II, 640 lc (Super Moto ) With 3800 Actual Verifiable miles.

It Belonged to a (Hot) Girl ..
    ( not being demeaning here, she had a bumper sticker that said "Daddy's little Bull Dyke" and one of the most fun people ever ! EVER!)

She had a very nice house in a Bad part of town.. One night in 2003 crooks broke open her wooden garage overhead door, and stole some things, Hedge trimmers, and a tool box, ect, all things they could carry.

BUT SHE KNEW they had SEEN her Duke and figured they would be back after it. So she got 2X4's and long screws ( A bunch of them) and charged her screw gun.. And secured her wooden Garage door with bout 8 2X4's and screws, and screwed and nailed the $hit out of overhead door. sealing it shut like a Tomb !

So, the Duke was sealed up in her Garage, with only the walk-thru door and it was too narrow for the Bike to go thru !

She thought it was a Temporary fix.. BUT .. it was STILL like that ALMOST 9 YEARS LATER in OCTOBER of 2011 When she decides to sell her house and move to Sacramento CA !!

She tells me, " I have a 2000 Duke motorcycle with 3800 miles on it . Hasn't been ridden since 2003.

So. Long Story short, (Too Late!) it's mine, in the Garage.. and instantly all the Problems from sitting 9 years are appearing.
    First ~So I put a NEW Battery in it, and i notice right away, with everything OFF, there is a small 'Spark' when connecting The last post,, meaning a Sure Battery Drain..?