Washed my bike, then it breaks down. Help? ('00 R1150GS)

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Limes, Feb 3, 2014.

1. Limes

Limes Adventurer

Oddometer:
    This is an '00 R1150GS with about 80k miles.

So I washed my bike in my driveway, hadnt been done in almost a year. after wiping it down I drive around the block and then bring it back down to wipe it down again. no problem. I finish up and then maybe an hour later I go to ride to the gym. .25 miles from home the engine cut out and i pushed it home. it cranks over but thats it wont start back up.

What should I look at? Fuses appear fine. (besides remember not to wash the bike! :evil )

Cheers
  2. guitstik

guitstik Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Sounds like the HES got wet. Deteriorating insulation could be causing it to short out.
  3. k1w1t1m

k1w1t1m Kiwi

Oddometer:
    Is there spark? Does the fuel pump run?

Could it be the HES wiring? I've had no personal experience but others have mentioned crumbling insulation on the HES wires.

Good luck
  4. Jim Moore

Jim Moore Long timer

Oddometer:
    That's a classic HES symptom. HES problems were more prevalent in teh 1100 series, but you may be a little unlucky.
  5. JimVonBaden

JimVonBaden "Cool" Aid!

Oddometer:
    I agree. As the 1150's get older though, I suspect we will see more of them with this issue.:deal
    german996 likes this.
  6. Limes

Limes Adventurer

Oddometer:
  7. Limes

Limes Adventurer

Oddometer:
    BTW, I just got back from an epic 5 week New Zealand ride with 2 friends.

Here is a sneak peak before I do a full ride report

:D

[​IMG]
  8. space

space a.k.a. Jake

Oddometer:
    WOW. Beautiful pic. I look forward to the ride report.

And yeah, HES. Exact same thing happened to me at one point when I washed my '00 R1150GS. Follow the guide and you should be back in business.
  9. Mens Rea

Mens Rea Long timer

Oddometer:
    Thought I would put in a good word for these guys:

http://www.euromotoelectrics.com/