Elite 150 with constant troubles

Discussion in 'Battle Scooters' started by THE_SHRUB, Apr 14, 2011.

1. THE_SHRUB

THE_SHRUB Potted plant

Oddometer:
    Hey everyone, I'm new to the Advrider forum, so heres my story:

I currently own a very ill 1985 Honda Elite 150 with just 1700 miles on her that I simply cannot get running reliably. The major issue with the bike is that it simply will not idle. Since I bought it last year, I haven't been able to get it to start and idle reliably for more than a few hours. When the bike does start, it typically idles very well for 2-3 seconds, then the idle lowers way down to where the bike is barely sustaining its cycle (after the idle lowers, any opening of the throttle immediately makes the engine die), then the bike will give small backfire, and die. I have also found that when I unplug the bystarter, the bike withstands a better chance of warming up, and sometimes (usually just after a carb cleaning) the bike will warm up enough to the point where it will be able to idle and run properly, but ONLY when the bystarter is disconnected :huh... Also, on the few occasions where I have actually had the chance to ride it around, it accelerates phenomenally, and pulls well right through to its top speed.

I have tried cleaning out the carburetor 4 times now to no avail. I have also tried adjusting the idle mixture and idle speed screw with nothing more than temporary results. The battery, spark plug, and a uni filter ar all newly installed, and I have also installed a fuel filter to prevent any debris from getting into the carb that may have collected in the tank over the past 25 years.

I have also replaced the Auto Bystarter with one of the ones off the internet, but upon removing it to do yet another carb cleaning, I managed to destroy the o-ring seal on the bystarter :( and although this might be a contributing factor, the bike has exhibited the same symptoms before and after this happened...