What Tires for a trip to Panama???

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by FLYBOY 350, Sep 22, 2007.

1. FLYBOY 350

FLYBOY 350 flyboy 350

Oddometer:
    Leaving for Panama in a couple a weeks and have not made up my mind on the whole TKC or Tourance tire decision. Would like to hear what other people have been doing. If I go on the TKC's I will have to put a second set on while I am south. Any trouble locating tires in Costa Rica or Pananma?? Would like to have the option of getting of the main roads but not sure if I want to give up the pavement and wet handling of the Tourance? HHHMMMMMM....:norton :norton
  2. kildala2000

kildala2000 The GS Store.

Oddometer:
    Hello Dwayne, :D

I have been venturing north for years and I've been doing this for many years & it's worked well. :D

Run your street tires as many miles as possible and carry a spare set of TKC 80's on your trek. Carry a small air compressor, tire bead breaker and a few tire irons. Change your tires when you need to do so. You can also have a set of tires waiting at a place on your way if you can pre arrange that, lets say a dealer close to the border.

Take Care,
    Ride Safe,
    Rick:D :D
  3. boxercup03

boxercup03 Jim Taylor

Oddometer:
    Round ones
  4. Mitchel

Mitchel Moron in the aggregate

Oddometer:
    I've been through Costa Rica as a tourist a couple times, and you'll be hard pressed to find the tires you need. Your best bet is either taking a second set as previously mentioned or sending a set down there. DO NOT rely on the standard mail service. My mom lives in Panama and a regular letter takes 6 weeks to get there.

If you intend to send tires down there, use Fed-Ex. They will get there when you need them with no problems.