Old dog considering new tricks (scooters)

Discussion in 'Battle Scooters' started by CaptnJim, Mar 1, 2013.

1. CaptnJim

CaptnJim Live To Ride

Oddometer:
    Hello forum folks. This is my first post here. Officially a n00b as far as posts go, but my wife and I have been riding motorcycles for 45 years. We've owned 23 motorcycles (H-Ds, Goldwings, BMWs, a few Yamahas, and some other Hondas, and my current ride: a V-Strom), and have plenty of miles on the odometer.

It seems that I may be "coming full circle"... I got my first motorcycle at age 14, a Honda 150 Dream. We are now considering a couple scooters in the 125 - 150 range. Yes, we expect some friends to laugh about that... we're done with full dressers, sport tourers, and making miles. We plan to haul these behind an RV (we already have a FeatherLite cargo trailer), and check out some "blue roads."

When I have bought motorcycles in the past, I called my dealer friend, told him what I want, and said, "How much?" And always got an answer. Apparently things are not the same with scooters... the price they put on 'em doesn't include the shipping, the assembly, buying Girl Scout cookies from the saleman's kid, getting his dog wormed, floor rental space for the display model, and every other charge they can think of.

We walked out of one dealership today when I told the salesman to give me the "out the door price for two of these"... and when he came back, he had over 40% more added on the MSRP. When I told him my opinion of that practice, he came back with, "Well, what are you willing to pay?"

Wrong game. Give me the price. I'll take it or leave it (we left it). ("Don't leave - I wasn't done!" Yes, he really said that.) This was for a pair of Honda PCX 150s. We also looked at the Yamaha Zuma, the Genuine Buddy 125 (they didn't have a 170i), a couple Kymcos, and my wife was kinda taken with the looks of a Lance Cali-Classic (I think she liked the buckhorn bars :lol3)